We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
davidhughtaylor

Since Jun 2008

50-64 year old male

Melbourne, Australia

I just turned 50 and last few years I have started taking 3-4 months off a year and like to independent back-packer and car tour travel around to cover a lot of variety, rather than 'flop & drop' in one spot. As a geologist I tend to visit plate tectonic margins to see mountains, glaciers and volcanoes in the outdoors and scuba dive on coral reef (see my travel map). Shopping is a chore and I eat because I'm hungry so no handy hints from me on these activities! I tend to travel at top of budget and - where necessary for amenity - pay for middle of the range but I do prefer to spend my money on the travel rather than the sleeping and eating. I am cursed with being a light sleeper so I do a bit of research to find somewhere quiet to stay. I also get to do a fair bit of travel in my home State (Victoria) and occasionally to large interstate cities of Australia with my work.
Travel Style
Nature Lover
Thrifty Traveler
Family Vacationer
davidhughtaylor's TripCollective Progress
Total Points
34,279
Level 6 Contributor
Readership
275,000 Readers
2015 Travelers' Choice Attraction Reviewer
2 Reviews
Helpful Reviewer
100 Votes
Top Contributor
50 Reviews
Passport
166 Cities
Total Points 34,279

davidhughtaylor's Contributions

Filter by

  • All
  • Hotels (177)
  • Restaurants (18)
  • Attractions (130)
Rating
Helpful Votes
Points
What kind of traveler are you?
Select 3 or more tags to include on your member profile
1
2
3
Done
Cancel