We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Miller Trout Farm Guest House

Old Miller Farm, view of Main house from across the U fish pond.
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
14 reviews
Old Miller Farm, view of Main house from across the U fish pond.
Main house to left, Guest house on the right!
Guest house. Two bedrooms, with ensuite 4 piece, upstairs. Full kitchen and lounge downstairs. WiFi
Guest house on right.
Guest house from across the Lily Pad pond
Kitchen Area
Sitting, lounge area. (Wireless Connectivity)
Twin beds in East Room
Double futon in East room.
Visitors
Another summer guest!
The Master of Pat's Pond
Another, (permanent), guest--Just lookin'.
George and the missus, coming or going.
Spring in Margaree
Fall colours
Winter trail to rock quarry
Makings of a great Meal from U fish pond
Marco, our Italian friend---Fishing hard....
Swimming above Doyle's Bridge
Fly fishing the Margaree
Whale Cove Beach, (1 of 4 beaches in area)
Margaree Harbour from Belle Cote, of an early morning.
Range Lights at Margaree Harbour beach
Your Hosts: Cape Breton Gothic, with apologies to G. Wood.
We get visitors. The day before St. Patrick's Day
Ms Moose came in to brouse the front yard. Was here before 7:30AM, stayed till after 6PM
Pruning the moutain ash, here, but had already done some apple trees further down.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Margaree Forks, Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
Experience the tranquility!

Our Canada Select Four Star cottage is nestled in a secluded valley at the end of Doyle's Road, just 2 km from the Cabot Trail and the Hamlet of Margaree Forks, The OLD MILLER GUEST HOUSE is an excellent location for exploring beautiful Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia or serving as a base for travelers to "get lost in the Margarees".

There are two bedrooms in the cottage, one with a queen sized bed, the other with twin beds and a double futon, (this room can sleep four). Each bedroom has a private 4 piece bath. The kitchen is fully equipped including a dishwasher, toaster oven, BBQ etc. In the large sitting room/lounge area Satellite TV and high speed wireless connectivity is available. Laundry facilities are provided.

All bedding and towels are supplied as well as towels as towels and suppli...
Read more
About the Owner, Pat S
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 105 days ago
Listed since : Apr 2011
Overall rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Based on 14 reviews and 1 property
Contact Owner | See more properties
Listing #FKN3806007 by: FlipKey
Reviews from our community
 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cwyllie
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The hosts were friendly and our kids enjoyed their time fishing but overall we felt taken in. The accommodations were dated, decorated with a cornucopia of person effects such that it felt like staying as house guests of the owners. There was a musty smell to the house mixed with cat litter. We felt we needed to work around their trout farm business as their fish cleaning area was attached to the guest house and...

More
Management response:

Oh, Cindy. We are so sorry to read this.....although, to be honest, we are really not terribly surprised to see this review since, with the amount of furniture and other things that, after you left, we found you had moved around in the Guest House, we sensed there were some issues or concerns. The comment on the cat letter is...

More

Report response as inappropriate
Jill S
Barrington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I spent a long weekend at Old Miller Trout Farm this spring. My hosts, Pat and John, were charming, knowledgeable and very helpful. They are well versed in “what to do in Cape Breton” and when to do it! And they love to chat. The guest cottage is very well equipped, spacious comfortable and clean. The trout interested me the most when I was not relaxing or discovering Cape Breton, because Old Miller is an...

More
Management response:

Thank you for you kind words, jill. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. We enjoyed it as well. Great conversations.

More

Report response as inappropriate
Trish W
Ashton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you want a perfect place to stay while visiting Cape Breton - Old Miller Trout Farm is the place to stay. The location is not too far from the Cabot Trail and Margaree Forks, where there is everything you need in a small town. Guests stay in a converted barn - which were perfect accommodations – comfortable, spotlessly clean, and fully equipped. We took advantage of the fact that this is a trout farm...

More
Management response:

Many thanks Trish and John, for your kind remarks and review. We MUST keep in touch. Pat and John

More

Report response as inappropriate
Amenities
  • Alarm Clock
  • Balcony or Terrace
  • Books
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Central Heating
  • Dishwasher
  • DVD Player
  • Fax
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Hairdryer
  • Internet Access
  • Iron
  • Kettle
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Guides/Maps
  • Microwave
  • Mountain Views
  • Paper Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Refrigerator
  • Satellite TV
  • Shared Yard
  • Soap/Shampoo Provided
  • Stereo System
  • Stove
  • Telephone
  • Toaster
  • Towels Provided
  • TV
  • VCR
  • Washer
Suitability
  • Pets Allowed:
    No
  • Smoking Allowed:
    No
  • Kid Friendly:
    Yes
Availability
Show Rates
Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Dates Min stay Weeknight Weekend night Per week
Default 2 nights
$150
CA$200
$150
CA$200
$902
CA$1,200
Please note: rates may have been converted from the original local currency to U.S. Dollars and are approximate rates that may change due to exchange rate fluctuation. Please contact the manager to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.
Additional Rate and Availability Information
The Harmonized Tax is a combined Federal and Provincial Consumption tax levied in the Atlantic Provinces.

Our facility is excellent for two couples or families traveling together. If there is availability, a single room may be rented for $115 a night. Kitchen and lounge area might be shared.

Reservation Policy: For reservations, a valid credit card and expiry date will be required at the time of booking to reserve your room. 25% of total price of stay will be accessed. (Refunds, on cancellation, also credited to that card except for administrative fee.)

Cancellation Policy: 2 week cancellation policy. There is a $50 administrative fee with any cancellation.

Check In Time: 4:30 PM
Check Out Time: 10:30 AM

Additional fees may apply:
- HST | 15% of rent | Combined Fed and Provincial tax
Hide Rates
Map
Access
Car recommended
How to get there
Airport: Sydney : 111.8 mi
Ferry: Sydney NS : 100.0 mi
Activities nearby
Nearest Beach: 9.9 mi.
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.
How can I contact the owner?
If the owner has provided contact information, you may contact him or her directly. If not, you can contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
You can send another message via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to check if the property is still available. If the owner has listed a phone number, you can also call to follow up. send inquiries to other properties. \n If you still don't hear from the owner, TripAdvisor recommends that you send inquiries to other properties.
How do I pay?
If the owner approves your stay, he or she will let you know which forms of payment are accepted. This owner does not currently accept payments via the TripAdvisor inbox. You can ask him or her to sign up; payments made via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox are covered by our Payment Protection.
Is my payment insured in any way?
If you would like payment protection, ask the owner to sign up to accept online payments on TripAdvisor. Payments made via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox are covered by our Payment Protection.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
from
$150
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.