We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travelers have booked this property

Black Sand Beach Rental - Newly Remodeled!

Upgraded brand new Full Size front load washer and dryer!  No need to walk down to the laundry room!
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
24 reviews
Upgraded brand new Full Size front load washer and dryer!  No need to walk down to the laundry room!
We welcome you into our newly remodeled home in Hawaii.
Updated Kitchen boasts brand new Stainless Steel appliances and ample room!
We added a built in desk area to do work, check emails, or write letters home!
Turtles frequent the Punalu'u Black Sand Beach
Historic Black Sand Beach, the first landfall  of Polynesian colonists
Living room features a Queen size Johnathan Louis sleeper sofa, TV with a Wii & video games!
New King size platform bed with storage underneath if you plan to stay a while!
New bathroom with natural Slate floors and a large walk in shower
Linens & towels provided. Each cleaning will provide you with eco-friendly guest amenities.
Natural Slate walk-in shower
Watch the sky turn colors at sunrise from the lanai
'peek a boo' ocean view from the lanai
We have ample seating on the lanai, a small bar table and a full size patio table for all to enjoy!
Hawaii Green Geckos are a frequent visitor on the lanai
Sea Mountain at Colony 1 from the lower road to the golf course at sunrise!
the entire complex overlooks the golf course out to the ocean
Salt water swimming pool is refreshing in the middle of the day
lava hot tub overlooks the ocean
sign from the highway at sunrise
...just sit back, relax, and take in the beauty of Hawaii
The 'Ninole Loop Road' is a 3 mile 'loop' that is great for a morning run
mountain view walking back up from beach.  Golf Course up on hill.
Colony 1 grounds
Golf Course features 6,416 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 72
Play a round of golf at the course which surrounds Colony 1
Punalu'u Black Sand Beach is a short walk from the condo
take a walk to the Punalu'u Black Sand Beach
Historical pond at Punalu'u
relax on the beach during your stay
Black Sand beach across from golf course 'Koloa Bay'
Offering at the ancient Heiau 'Kaieie', near Colony One
from the highway
local Punaluu Bake shop offers pastries, ice cream, coffee, lunch and the most amazing bread
Hawaiian sweet bread baked locally at Punaluu Bake Shop
Local bands play every day at the Punaluu Bakery!!  Sit back, Sip coffee and enjoy a malasada!
South Point is a popular spot for cliff diving when the seas are calm
South Point, the most southern point in the USA.  A great spot to sit and watch the sunset!!
Hana Hou, local grind - Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner & Desserts!
Wind turbins at South Point
Green Sand beach
Scuba dive & Snorkel at Place of Refuge (approx. 45 min. drive)
Place of Refuge diving
Overlooking the land towards Punaluu Black Sand Beach from Naalehu.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pahala, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Contact Owner See more properties
Listing #FKN3716388 by: FlipKey
Reviews from our community
 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kelcee j
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was the most amazing place! About 45 minutes from both Hilo and Kona and only 10 minutes from the amazing bakery. My husband and I decided to cook a few nights and the condo was the best place for this! The kitchen and bathroom were beautiful and I have zero complaints! Definitely going to stay here again!

Management response:

Mahalo for your review. We always love to hear feedback, and glad to know you enjoyed our condo! Look forward to having you again. We give discounts for repeat visitors, so please be sure to contact us!


Report response as inappropriate
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The location was great, we were able to walk to the black sands beach, it was less than a 10 minute walk and every time there was at least one turtle on the beach, one time we saw 6!! The only down side is that the beach is not really for swimming, there are too many lava rocks right there...

Management response:

Mahalo for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay at our place! Thank you for letting us know about our screens! We will get someone to repair those. we had not been to the Kalapana farmers market yet, and will have to check it out! Local produce & coffee is the best! Thanks for the info!


Report response as inappropriate
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The unit is nice, bed downstairs was comfortable but the sofa bed was very uncomfortable. This unit would be good for a single person or a couple, not great for a family. The living room curtains are sheer so anyone on the sofa bed is woken up at sunrise. The pool is gorgeous and so is the hot tub and...

Management response:

Mahalo for the review, and our apologies about the sleeper sofa. We do try to make our home as comfortable as possible for our guests, and we value feedback so we can make it the best we can for others to enjoy! We try to suit everyone's needs, a best as we can, as we use the home for our...


Report response as inappropriate
  • Alarm Clock
  • Balcony or Terrace
  • Blender
  • Books
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Dining Seats (4)
  • Dishwasher
  • Dryer
  • DVD Player
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Hairdryer
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Iron
  • King Beds:(1)
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Guides/Maps
  • Microwave
  • Mountain Views
  • Ocean Views
  • Outdoor Dining Area
  • Paper Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Refrigerator
  • Safe
  • Satellite TV
  • Shared Outdoor Pool (Unheated)
  • Shared Tennis Court
  • Soap/Shampoo Provided
  • Sofa Beds:(1)
  • Stereo System
  • Stove
  • Suitable For Children Under 5
  • Telephone
  • Toaster
  • Towels Provided
  • TV
  • Washer
  • Waterfront
  • Water Views
  • Wi-Fi
  • Pets Allowed:
  • Smoking Allowed:
  • Kid Friendly:
Show Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Dates Min stay Per night Per week Per month
Default 2 nights
  • Cleaning fee: $85 / stay - Fee
Additional Rate and Availability Information
Long term rental available for $1400 per month, utilities included.
Hide Rates
Car recommended
How to get there
Airport: Hilo Airport: 52.2 mi
From Kona: head south on Hwy. 11 to mile marker 57. Watch for the big green sign for Punaluu Black Sand Beach. Turn right . Turn right again when you see the sign: Colony One at Sea Mountain Condos.

From Hilo: head south on Hwy. 11 to mile marker 56. Go slow in order to watch for the sign Punaluu Black Sand Beach. Turn left, and then right at the sign for Colony One at Sea Mountain Condos.
Activities nearby
Fishing Nearby, Golf Course Is On Site Or Within 15 Mins Walk, There Are Tennis Courts Nearby, Watersports Nearby, Nearest Beach: 0.1 mi.
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.
How can I contact the owner?
If the owner has provided contact information, you may contact him or her directly. If not, you can contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner
How will the owner contact me?
This owner may contact you via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox, your personal email, or phone.
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
You can send another message via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to check if the property is still available. If the owner has listed a phone number, you can also call to follow up. If you still don't hear from the owner, TripAdvisor recommends that you send inquiries to other properties.
How do I pay?
For this property, you may use a credit card to pay via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox; the owner may also offer other payment options. \n You must pay via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox if you want to be covered by our Payment Protection. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.
Is my payment insured in any way?
If you pay online via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox, your payment will be covered by our Payment Protection.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book Now
30 travelers
viewed this property in the past week
this property has payment protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.