We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lochead Chalet on Ellary Estate

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Sign in now
Living room window view
Chalets located just out the left of the photo
Living room
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Policies
Overview
2 bedrooms
1 bathroom
4 guests
7 nights minimum
Chalet
Our Lochead Chalets are situated at the head of Loch Caolisport, giving fantastic views out over the Loch. We have 3 in total (all can be booked separately or together), and each has 2 bedrooms (1 double, 1 bunk room - full sized single bunks), a living room with kitchenette off, and a shower room. There are large picture windows in the living rooms to make the most of the views from, and there are generous veranda's in front of each, to enjoy the summer sun. Argyll is located on the West Coast of Scotland, presenting what is often considered Scotland's most beautiful scenery. It is home to lots of small villages, and perfect for those who love the great outdoors. It is increasingly popular with photographers, with the sunsets regularly being spectacular. Ellary Estate lies between t...Our Lochead Chalets are situated at the head of Loch Caolisport, giving fantastic views out over the Loch. We have 3 in total (all can be booked separately or together), and each has 2 bedrooms (1 double, 1 bunk room - full sized single bunks), a living room with kitchenette off, and a shower room. There are large picture windows in the living rooms to make the most of the views from, and there are generous veranda's in front of each, to enjoy the summer sun. Argyll is located on the West Coast of Scotland, presenting what is often considered Scotland's most beautiful scenery. It is home to lots of small villages, and perfect for those who love the great outdoors. It is increasingly popular with photographers, with the sunsets regularly being spectacular. Ellary Estate lies between the shores of Loch Caolisport and Loch Sween. The cottages of Ellary are spread out along the edge of Loch Caolisport, and the caravan site is located around Castle Sween, on the Loch Sween shore. Ellary is about half an hour from Lochgilphead, an hour and a half from Oban. Tarbert (with ferries to the islands etc) is about 35-40 minutes away, and Inverary is about an hours drive. It really is the heart of Argyll. WILDLIFE - The unspoilt countryside of Ellary and Castle Sween makes it an ideal place to observe wildlife. There are large areas of oakwoods on the Loch Caolisport site and considerable areas of the Loch Sween site are wooded mainly with birch and alder. These areas are home to many of Scotland's native species, and it is not uncommon to see foxes, badgers, otters, roe deer, sika deer and red squirrels. ARCHAEOLOGY - The remains of ruined settlements, chapels, castles, forts and graveyards indicate that, long ago, this area was much more populated than it is in present times. HILL WALKING - As an occupier of accommodation at Ellary and Castle Sween, you are welcome to use the whole of the area of the estates which extend to approximately fifteen thousand acres. The enthusiastic hill walker will find all he could possibly wish for. Lochead Glen, for example, is one of the prettiest glens in Scotland, and from the heights of Corrbhan on a clear day, you can see as far as the Nevis range to the North, the head of Loch Fyne and Ben Arthur to the East, Kintyre and Northern Ireland to the South and the Isles of Jura, Scarba etc. to the West. At the same time, the less energetic, who may not feel the need for such exercise, can experience the same kind of adventure taking a comparatively easy stroll, for example the walk from Balimore down to Stronefield beach, or from Ellary down past the golf practise area to the Salmon Pool and beyond takes you into fascinating countryside, and there are many alternatives. Remember, you are free, when you are staying here, to go wherever you please. TOURING - The impression of being isolated, at Ellary and Castle Sween, is because not very many people visit this area. But in fact you are right in the middle of the most attractive part of Scotland's west coast. Day trips can include destinations as far as Fort William and beyond to the North, most of central Scotland to the East and as far as Glasgow to the South. To the West, take ferry trips to Arran, Gigha, Islay, Jura, Mull and Iona and these can all be accomplished in time to get back for tea leaving plenty of time to do or see whatever motivated the trip. Such excursions might be to visit some of Scotlands most famous gardens (Brodick, Achamore, Arduaine, Crarae etc.) a trip on the steam locomotive from Fort William to Mallaig, a game of golf or a visit to a distillery on Islay, a day skiing at Glencoe or Aonach Morr or one of the hundreds of other attractions which the West of Scotland has to offer. Or perhaps you prefer to just drive a bit to explore the area and enjoy the scenery. BOATING - Staying at Ellary and Castle Sween you are never far from the water. If you are a boat owner, you should certainly bring it, - there is a slipway at Castle Sween where it is possible to launch anything likely to be towed by a car. If you are staying on the Loch Caolisport side, assistance is available to launch any reasonable sized craft from the beach. The slipway at Castle Sween makes it very convenient to take boats in and out, and at Ellary there is a small harbour, if it is thought more convenient to leave it in. All of our cottages are let Saturday-Saturday, short breaks welcome outwith Peak and High season or at short notice - please contact us with your requirements. Dogs and children are always welcome - the first dog stays free of charge, and it is £15 per week for the second (maximum of 2 unless by prior arrangement). There are also various other cottages available on the estate - search Ellary. Electricity is not included in the price - it is metered and charged at the end of your stay, at cost price. Bed linen is not included, so you will need to bring sheets and towels (duvets, pillows and blankets provided).More
House Rules
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
We accept family groups only, for the purposes of holidays (no workmen unless by prior arrangement). Bed linen and towels are not included (duvets, pillows & blankets are provided - it is just the sheets/pillow cases/towels you need to bring). Electricity is metered and charged at cost for what you used at the end of your stay. Wifi is through EE, who charge a set amount for data packages(£15 for 6GB is most popular). The first dog stays free of charge - a second is £10 p/w, normally a max of 2.
Bathrooms
1 Shower
Show more
Meet the host
Stephanie G
Hosting since June 2010
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 100%
Response Time: Within a day
Interaction with guestsThere is somebody in the office (or available by phone) 24/7 in case of an emergency, and 9-5 for everything else. The payphone in the property will phone the office for free. Cots/highchairs are available but must be requested in advance, as we only have a limited number.
Contribute
Reviews (12)
Dawn M
Dawn M
Going Again
Grounds beautiful and well worth a scout around, support staff amazing, peace and quiet guaranteed. Definitely will visit again.
Visited October 2020
Written October 11, 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Roving820037
Roving820037
Chalet with an excellent view of the Loch
Lovely, well equiped Chalet, with a excellent view of the Loch. Very comfortable. Could not fault it. Shame that the sun did not shine little more as we could have taken advantage of the chairs on the verandah, but that is not something that would stop us going again.
Visited September 2018
Written September 30, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stephanie G
Stephanie G
Thank you for leaving us a review - we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Written October 15, 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

carnegie67
carnegie67
4 contributions
Breathtaking scenery in tranquil surroundings
The drive along the single track road gave a hint that we would be staying in very special place & we were not disappointed. On arrival at the chalet we where greeted by the resident roe deer buck. The chalet although basic, provided everything that we required for our weeks stay & the views of the loch and mountains from the living room window are breathtaking. For those seeking added home comforts the cottages are exemplary. The owner came to check that we had settled in and advised if we required any assistance to call the main house & they would be happy to assist. We saw Red squirrels, Badgers, Red, Sika & Roe deer, Golden & White tailed sea eagles, woodpeckers, Otters. Although the Pine marten eluded us this time there was evidence that they are still present. In short if your ideal holiday is peace & tranquility surrounded by beautiful scenery & wildlife then Ellary is the place for you. If you require a little less remoteness, then Castle Sween caravan park is the place for you. A huge thank you to all the staff at Ellary & we hope to be back in the autumn.
Visited May 2018
Written May 22, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stephanie G
Stephanie G
Glad you enjoyed your stay and got to experience some of the wildlife we have here at Ellary, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Written July 30, 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sarah H
Sarah H
Birmingham, United Kingdom5 contributions
Beautiful location
The Lodge we stayed at was right on the shore of Loch Caolisport, perfect for casting a line in the hope of a catch any time of day. The first night we stayed the sky was perfectly clear, with a lovely view of the Milky Way arching across the whole sky. Other nights we stayed the weather was changeable, and we visited Lochgilphead and visited the cafe, fishmongers (fantastic scallops), and tackle shop. Another day we drove to Oban, which made a great day out. We found the whole holiday very relaxing and would love to return at some point.
Visited September 2017
Written September 27, 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stephanie G
Stephanie G
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Written October 16, 2017. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DavidJanetMonty
DavidJanetMonty
Nympsfield, United Kingdom153 contributions
Oh dear, where to start...
...without sounding as if we had a terrible time! Positives: fantastic location, loved the private drive across the estate, really enjoyed sitting on the decking watching the tide roll in and out of the loch, a very relaxing break. Negatives: not terribly clean, old damp smelling quilts, blankets and pillows, incredibly uncomfortable mattress. Very overpriced for smelly, dirty and outdated accommodation.
Visited September 2017
Written September 24, 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stephanie G
Stephanie G
Sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay at Ellary. We do find that in certain weather conditions at this time of year, the chalets are bad for condensation, and as such advise people to leave vents etc open. All duvets etc have also been recently replaced also for this reason - however if there was a problem, we always keep new ones in the office and would happily have replaced them for you had you let us know. Thanks for your comments regarding the mattress - it is something we were not aware of as we never actually sleep in the beds ourselves, so your feedback is much appreciated and the mattress will be replaced appropriately. The chalets are not our most modern properties, however the photos accurately reflect the decoration/interior/exterior - I would suggest that you may be more suited our Turbine House cottage, should you wish to return.
Written October 16, 2017. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Fiona17Stewart
Fiona17Stewart
1 contribution
Total tranquility
Beautiful scenery, peaceful location ideal for getting away from it all. Lots of walks and good fishing. Staff couldn't have been friendlier. Will definitely be back.
Visited August 2016
Written September 2, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

kyraferguson
kyraferguson
Glasgow, United Kingdom1 contribution
Absolutely Incredible!
We stayed here for three nights and if you're looking for somewhere to relax, appreciate the scenery, go for walks and have fun then this is the place. The chalet has an incredible view of the sea and a river; there's a rocky section which we spent a few hours on when it was sunny. A short drive away (or a 15 minute walk) there is a small beach where we saw two seals lying on rocks. Honestly can't get over how beautiful it was. We had an issue with the TV when we arrived and even though it was quite late; a lady (I assume the owner) came round to help us and was extremely pleasant and helpful. The accommodation is slightly dated however it has everything you need, the kitchen is fully equipped with everything you'd need. We are already planning on going back!
Visited May 2016 Traveled as a couple
Written May 19, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

pjwitunes
pjwitunes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom5 contributions
PERFECT BREAK
Ideal break for the workaholics (aka my husband) with no mobile and very poor wifi, I would not pay for wifi, like we did, as it was very slow and very limited - not the fault of the owners. You definitely would need a car as it is in the middle of nowhere, but with every road you took there was breathtaking views in particular when we took the "short cut" through the estate to Castle Sween. Cabin was basic but really you needed nothing else, as really all it was was a base for all the beautiful areas and towns you had to visit round about the chalet.
Visited August 2015
Written August 26, 2015. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Journey2there2
Journey2there2
17 contributions
Fantastic tranquil holiday
The location of the chalet was beautiful and tranquil. I would recommend it to anyone who would love a quiet space, a very scenic location. The staff was very approachable. The chalet itself was very basic. Would have loved a stronger shower though. It is very comfortable for a summer stay and I would think twice about a winter stay.
Visited June 2015 Traveled with family
Written July 7, 2015. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Spencer
Spencer
London, United Kingdom50 contributions
A Dream Place
Me and the Mrs stayed here for one week for a relaxing holiday. And all I can say is WOW if you need to unwind this is the place for you. No need to comment on the location as it is just a Dream of a place to walk ,Fish and play. The chalet its self was just perfect. Had everything you need and more. Please note to take your own Bedsheets and own Towels. Also DO NOT FORGET your Pound Coins for the electric. We Used about £13.00 for one week. Note that your mobile will be no use to you here but to be honest that’s not a bad thing. The Chalet has a Pay phone which was handy. Lots of heaters in the chalet to keep you all warm. Very good shower and very friendly staff to make sure you are all ok. Thanks again!
Visited May 2015 Traveled as a couple
Written June 9, 2015. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 12
What this rental offers
  • DVD Player
  • Balcony
  • Grill
  • Deck
  • Freezer
  • Refrigerator
  • Highchair
  • Internet Access
  • Iron
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Ocean Views
  • Parking
  • Stove
  • Terrace
  • Toaster
  • TV
  • Water Views
  • Waterfront
  • Wi-Fi
  • Fishing Nearby
  • There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
  • Golf Course Is On Site Or Within 15 Mins Walk
  • Beach Or Lakeside Relaxation
  • Cycling Trips
  • Hiking Trips
  • Rural/Countryside Retreats
Availability
S
M
T
W
T
F
S

March 2023

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
26
27
28
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1

April 2023

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
Map
About the neighborhood
The distance from Glasgow to Ellary is about 100 miles and it will take around two and a half hours. Although the journey can be accomplished faster than this, it is a beautiful drive and well worth the time. Take the M8 through Glasgow and cross the Clyde on the Erskine Bridge. This takes you straight on to the A82 wich at that point is a fast dual carriageway which takes you past the suburbs of Glasgow. Immediately when you leave the dual carriageway you are suddenly in the Highlands. What were the promise of some mountains in the distance, are suddenly all around you. Look across the water at the steep steep sides of Ben Lomond, and soak up the views of Ben Lui, Ben Vorlich and many others. You are in the heart of 'Ben' country.
Getting around
There is no public transport here, so a car is necessary. We are not far from Tarbert (about 30 minutes), and the ferries to the islands. Similarly, Inverary is about 50 minutes away, and Oban just over an hour.
Access
Car required
How to get there
Leave Lochgilphead on the A83 in the direction of Campbeltown, turn right two miles after Ardrishaig onto the B8024 signposted Kilberry, turn right, about five miles later onto the unclassified road signposted to Ellary. The Lochead Chalets are at the head of Loch Caolisport, about 2 miles down this road.
Activities nearby
Fishing NearbyThere Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins DriveGolf Course Is On Site Or Within 15 Mins Walk
Cancellation Policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available if you cancel thereafter

Enter your trip dates to see an exact cancellation policy.

*Booking fee is excluded from refund amount

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.

This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.

For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.

Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Payment Protection.

Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Earn extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Manage booking easily
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to checkout, even while you’re on the go.
Be trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/HL_Supplier_Logo_2021.png   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #HL222131881
Frequently Asked Questions about Lochead Chalet on Ellary Estate

Lochead Chalet on Ellary Estate is able to accommodate up to 4 guests. See all property details.

Lochead Chalet on Ellary Estate has one bathroom available. See all property details.

Lochead Chalet on Ellary Estate has 2 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at Lochead Chalet on Ellary Estate must last at least 7 nights. See all property details.