We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other traveler has booked this property

The Cleeve

Save
The Cleeve
Very good
6 reviews
The Cleeve
Main reception room.
The Octagonal Lounge.
The Octagonal Lounge fire place!
The Octagonal Room decoration.
Relax in style.
Part of the main kitchen.
The Second kitchen, (yes, there's 2!).
The ground floor bedroom.
The Master bedroom.
End of the Octagonal bedroom.
Middle bedroom.
Bedroom 6 (of 8/9).
Bedroom 7 (of 8/9).
Bedroom 8 (of 8/9).
Top bedroom window seat.
There are 6 bath or shower rooms.
Footy game in progress over the quite lane.
Another kitchen view!
Entrance hallway at The Cleeve.
A garden path.
Second kitchen.
Welcome.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms , 6 Bathrooms , Sleeps 28
Porlock, Exmoor National Park, England
Interaction with guests
The housekeepers and owners are a phone call away. Unless needed we will normally keep out of your way for the duration of your stay.
Contact Owner See more properties
Listing #HL26200
Reviews from our community
Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michelle...
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The house was brilliant for our group of 22 (including 11 children from 1 yr - 8 yrs) Great location with lovely views, the children had a lovely time exploring the house and grounds, and it was a wonderful house to relax and catch up in. The kitchen was one of the best stocked of all the big houses we...

More
Management response:

Thank you for your kind words. It's always lovely to hear how people enjoy their stay at The Cleeve. We hope that you are able to return one day not too far away.

More

Report response as inappropriate
Timothy M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed for a long weekend with friends and their family, together with several other friends, in a group that ranged from young children to 70+ year old adults. There were 16 altogether and what a lovely, pleasant and memorable few days we spent in this characterful property. Set in secluded grounds overlooking Porlock yet within walking distance of the...

More
Management response:

Thank you for your lovely informative review. We will be delighted to welcome you back anytime.

More

Report response as inappropriate
vee2807
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 18 from 3 generations stayed at The Cleeve for a week. The bedrooms, reception rooms are nicely decorated, with lots of crockery, cutlery and pots and pans. Once we got the trick of using the commercial dishwasher it was fabulous. The week we stayed was sunny and hit, unfortunately the lack of garden furniture for a house...

More
Management response:

We are very sorry that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay. However, this is a country house in Exmoor that accommodates large groups who inevitably sometimes break things and not a 5 star hotel with on site staff, or indeed 5 star per night prices. Most guests who give us feedback appreciate this and will will temper...

More

Report response as inappropriate
Amenities
  • Balcony or Terrace
  • Bunk Beds:(4)
  • Cable/satellite TV
  • Central Heating
  • Cots:(2)
  • Dining Seats (28)
  • Dishwasher
  • Double Beds:(7)
  • Dryer
  • DVD Player
  • En Suite Rooms (3)
  • Fireplace
  • Freezer
  • Full Baths (2)
  • Grill
  • Highchair
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Iron
  • Kettle
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room Seats (28)
  • Microwave
  • Ocean Views
  • Parking
  • Patio
  • Private Yard
  • Queen Beds:(1)
  • Refrigerator
  • Shared Tennis Court
  • Shower Rooms (1)
  • Single Beds:(4)
  • Stereo System
  • Stove
  • Suitable For Children Under 5
  • Toaster
  • Towels Provided
  • TV
  • VCR
  • Washer
  • Wheelchair Accessible
  • Wi-Fi
Additional amenities & feature info
* Dining for 28. Space for all to banquet together.
* 8+ comfy bedrooms. Sleeping from 2 to 5 mostly en-suite plus another bedroom off room 3.
* 6 stylish bath/shower rooms. A mixture of baths, Jacuzzi bath and/or power showers, (some double size). Refreshing
* Huge lounge/dining room with great views of the hills. Comfy seating, open fire, big flat screen TV, DVD player, games console etc.
* Second lounge and it's octagonal! Big open fire, window seats, comfy seats, TV, DVD player, games console etc.
* Main kitchen. A great place to cook, eat or chat. Complete with a lovely large AGA oven.
* Second kitchen. We know what it's like when everyone in a group wants to cook at the same time so we've provided a second kitchen with conventional oven and hob.
* Libraries. We have libra...
more
House rules
    Kid-friendly
    Pets not allowed
    Smoking not allowed
Maximum 20 adults. Maximum 28 people including children (minimum 1 adult per child). We're located in valley and sound travels around it so no loud noise outside after...
More
Bathrooms
    2 Full baths
    1 Shower
    3 Attached (ensuite)
Bedrooms
    1 Queen
    7 Fulls
    4 Twins
    4 Bunks
    2 Cribs
Availability
Show Rates
Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Dates Min stay Weeknight Weekend night Per week Per month
Default 7 nights -- --
$6,007
£4,295
--
Feb 9, 2018 -
Feb 22, 2018
Feb 9 - 22nd 2018
3 nights
$871
£623
$1,116
£798
$3,490
£2,495
--
Feb 23, 2018 -
Mar 29, 2018
Feb 23rd - March 29th 2018
3 nights
$731
£523
$930
£665
$2,930
£2,095
--
Apr 9, 2018 -
Apr 19, 2018
Apr 6 - Apr 19th 2018
3 nights
$1,396
£998
$1,676
£1,198
$5,588
£3,995
--
View all periods
Please note: rates may have been converted from the original local currency to U.S. Dollars and are approximate rates that may change due to exchange rate fluctuation. Please contact the manager to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.
Fees
  • Damage Deposit: $3,497 / stay - Deposit
Additional Rate and Availability Information
We are flexible on most change over days and extending booking where we can be, (not Summer). Prices include include all the usual things like heating, bedding (except for cot(s)), towels (except for beach use), wireless internet and Sky TV (except pay per view etc.). Preferred payment is via internet banking or alternatively cheque (drawn on UK sterling GBP bank). In all cases contact us directly for correct payment details please. See our web site for the latest prices, information and other details.
There is also a cautionary deposit in addition to the holiday price, as with most places. Ours is £1500 which is payable 6 week prior to arrival and is normally refunded around a week after departure.
Hide Rates
Map
About the neighborhood
Porlock is a beautiful coastal village in South West England, situated in a deep hollow on Exmoor. It adjoins a Porlock Ridge and Saltmarsh nature reserve which has now been designated as a Site of Special Scientific Interest.
A picturesque, wooded combe called Hawkcombe leads about three miles from the village up to high open moorland. The stream from Hawkcombe runs past The Cleeve.
The South West Coast Path goes through Porlock.
There is also a Coleridge Way walk.
Culbone church is said to be the smallest church in England.
There is an ancient stone circle on the hill.The area has links with several Romantic poets, and R. D. Blackmore the author of Lorna Doone.
Getting around
Most people can probably park the car and leave it there for the whole holiday as there's loads to do within walking distance. Hopping in the car will massively expand the possibilities. We're still finding new things all the time, 10 years later!
Access
Car advised
How to get there
Airport: Exeter: 33.6 mi
Railway: Minehead: 5.0 mi
We will send you directions but, in case it helps to know now:
Heading through Porlock on the main road you'll notice the church with its flat topped spire. Off the main road by the church is Parsons Street. Go up there, keep going and you'll see The Cleeve on your right up above you. Carry on until you find a road bridge over the stream with a tight right turn. This is only suitable for normal size cars (but bigger vehicles can use free public parking on Parsons Street, perhaps by our private bridge for easy access). This takes you onto Mill Lane, head up there, go right at the fork and you'll see The Cleeve.
Activities nearby
Fishing Nearby, There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive, Horse Riding Nearby, There Are Tennis Courts Nearby, Watersports Nearby, Nearest Beach: 1.2 mi.
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.
How can I contact the owner?
Initially, you may contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.
How will the owner contact me?
This owner will contact you via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox.
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
You can send another message via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.
How do I pay?
For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.
Is my payment insured in any way?
Yes. Payments made via the TripAdvisor inbox are covered by our Payment Protection.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#HL26200
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$731
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.