We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Welch's Riverview Retreat Waterfront Lake Views! MQT Munising Snowmobile Ski

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Sign in now
Kitchen/Dining Area Fireplace
Dining Room Table with Lake/River View
Welch's Riverview Retreat aerial view.
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Policies
Overview
4 bedrooms
3 bathrooms
8 guests
3 nights minimum
Rental Home
Enjoy your next vacation at this beautiful riverfront property. With stunning Lake Superior views, it's the ideal place to unwind and get away from it all. Located on the banks of Sand River in Northern Michigan's pristine Upper Peninsula, where clean air, water, wildlife & beautiful scenery abound. The property is open year-round. Welch's Riverview Retreat is a 3000 sq. ft. home on a 1.8-acre riverfront, Lake Superior view lot. Decks offer a stunning Lake Superior and Sand River view. The home also features unobstructed views of the Sand River Bridge, which is on the National Register of Historic Places. This is a great space for family and friends, with plenty of room to play. If you're seeking a sleek, modern space, this may not be for you. We are in a non-urban reg...Enjoy your next vacation at this beautiful riverfront property. With stunning Lake Superior views, it's the ideal place to unwind and get away from it all. Located on the banks of Sand River in Northern Michigan's pristine Upper Peninsula, where clean air, water, wildlife & beautiful scenery abound. The property is open year-round. Welch's Riverview Retreat is a 3000 sq. ft. home on a 1.8-acre riverfront, Lake Superior view lot. Decks offer a stunning Lake Superior and Sand River view. The home also features unobstructed views of the Sand River Bridge, which is on the National Register of Historic Places. This is a great space for family and friends, with plenty of room to play. If you're seeking a sleek, modern space, this may not be for you. We are in a non-urban region, and as such, the home has more of a country feel to it. The water in this area has a high iron content which adds a slightly amber color. It also discolors tubs, showers, toilets, etc. We have a high-end filtration system in the basement, however, you may still see evidence of the iron, which would be much worse without the system. It is nothing to be alarmed by and is completely safe. Those familiar with the area know that the bay in Marquette was once referred to as "Iron Bay" because of the huge presence of iron in the area. In addition, this is not a city water system and water pressure is impacted if multiple people are showering or laundry is being done at the same time. We recommend staggering showers for best results. Thank you for understanding, it's one of those things that go along with being outside of town. Property Features 1st Level: Bar area/game room, bathroom, sauna & laundry room 2nd Level: Kitchen/dining area with gas fireplace, living room, bathroom & 3 bedrooms (2 full beds and a queen bed) 3rd Level: Master suite (queen bed) with gorgeous views and a separate bathroom with tub & shower. Beds: 2 queen beds, 1 double bed, 2 twin beds. An inflatable double mattress is also available upon request. Cookware: Dishes, pots, pans & utensils provided. Fridge, Electric stove, microwave, coffee maker, coffee grinder, toaster, blender & popcorn popper provided. Towels & sheets provided. Hair-dryers in each bathroom. Irons & ironing boards. 24 x 30 Bar/Game room with a 15-foot bar. Slate pool table (children must be supervised at all times, charges will apply if the felt is damaged) Dartboard 6 person electric cedar sauna w/shower Sand volleyball/badminton court, horseshoe pits, picnic area, corn hole game and bocce ball set. Charcoal grill Old Town Tripper canoe and paddles Upper & lower decks Washer & Dryer Wifi Yamaha MusicCast wireless speaker (Yamaha MusicCast controller app required for use) Landline telephone for free calls within the US. Flat Screen TV's in the living room, master bedroom & bar area. Dish Network satellite, DVD/VHS player in Living Room. Rate Notes: We have periods where we require a minimum of longer than 3 days. A $100 cleaning fee will also be added to these bookings. A fee of $10 per person, over 7 people. Pets accepted, upon approval. One-time fee of $50 per pet. Cleaning Fee $100 per stay. Tourist License / Licencia de turismo N °: 81-3388521More
House Rules
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Please remove outdoor shoes when on carpeted areas. No smoking in the house. Please clean any spills that you are responsible for on the carpets to avoid damage/cleaning fees (check under the sink for carpet cleaner) Pets are an additional $50 per pet, per stay.
Bathrooms
2 Full baths, 1 Shower
Show more
About the Owner
Molly Laurich J
Languages spoken:English
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:June 2011
Interaction with guests
Our manager Molly is your contact person and can answer any questions you may have regarding the property. She will also assist you with check-in.
Contribute
Reviews (45)
mruble
mruble
Cedar Rapids, IA7 contributions
The location of this rental was perfect! The view of Lake Superior is beautiful! Easy kayak access both up the Sand River and to Lake Superior. Sandy beaches. This area has so much to offer being between Marquette and Munising! Highly recommend Dead River Falls for hiking and Au Train River for a slow river float. We even kayaked out to Au Train Island! Got in some rock hounding as well. The home is comfortable and the only thing down side was the traffic noise, but even that is not enough to say we wouldn't stay here again! All the positives offset that one thing. Jenny (the owner) was very responsive to all of our questions and very pleasant to work with.
Visited August 2021
Written August 20, 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Welch's R
Welch's R
Thank you so much for the great review. We're glad you had a great time and enjoyed so many of the beautiful outdoor activities. Please come see us again!!
Written October 7, 2021. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

evans2kk
evans2kk
Saint Clair Shores, MI1 contribution
The house was awesome. Plenty of space and great views. Beautiful location. We loved it and will definitely rent again in the future.
Visited July 2021
Written July 22, 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Welch's R
Welch's R
We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We'd love to have you come back.
Written August 22, 2021. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kala E
Kala E
Rovaniemi, Finland3 contributions
We were so fortunate as to get a week at Welch's Riverview Retreat when the weather was in the 70s in November! A Lake Superior beach is just across the road where the river that runs past the house empties into the lake and walking there was delightful. This is a repeat stay for us. The house was very clean and looked freshly painted. Even the pool table had new felt! Mornings were the best though. I never tire of watching dawn break over Lake Superior while sipping the house provided Hawaiian coffee. This is a wonderful place to safely get away and relax.
Visited November 2020
Written November 16, 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Welch's R
Welch's R
Thanks for leaving the wonderful review! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you return.
Written August 22, 2021. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Wade M
Wade M
1 contribution
Welch's Resort really fit our needs, we just wish we had more time to use the amenities. We were having a family reunion in the area & had several places rented. We were off site most of the time. We really wanted to use our kayak's right from the yard out into Lake Superior, but didn't make it. It was nice to have laundry available (most places don't). Molly was very pleasant & accommodating to work with!! We will definitely consider staying there again. What a beautiful view too!
Visited July 2020
Written August 4, 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Welch's R
Welch's R
We are so happy to hear that you had a great time. Thank you for being such amazing guests. Please come see us again and hopefully you'll have a chance to go kayaking!
Written August 27, 2020. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

wade m
wade m
1 contribution
We were having a family reunion in the Marquette/Harvey/Deerton area. There were about 40 of us, so we had several places rented. We didn’t get to spend as much time at the Welch’s Resort as we wanted, but it fit our needs perfectly. The view from the upstairs bedroom is amazing. It is so easy to kayak out to the mouth of the river, into Lake Superior. Being able to do laundry there was definitely a bonus. Many places don’t offer that. We would definitely book there again. Thank you Molly!
Visited July 2020
Written August 2, 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Welch's R
Welch's R
We are so happy to hear that you had a great time. Thank you for being such amazing guests. Please come see us again!
Written August 27, 2020. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

wulpi1
wulpi1
Fort Wayne, IN5 contributions
Things did not go well from the time we first got to the Welch’s Riverside Retreat at 4:17pm - on our agreed-on date. Chech-in time was 4:00.The key was not where Molly said it would be (frustration #1). We tried contacting her, but had to leave a voice mail message.(frustration #2). Since we could not get into our unit, we headed into Marquette to bide our time and ultimately eat dinner. We finally got a return call from Molly saying that she apologized, but her mother ( the cleaning lady) had not cleaned that property yet, so that was why the key was not where it was supposed to be. (Hmmm!). Molly told us that her mother should be finished cleaning and ready for us in about 2 hours.(ok). We ate dinner and poked around Marquette a bit, then headed back out to Welch’s Riverside Retreat. It was dark by then. Upon arriving we saw lights on inside the house, but thought nothing of it, since we were expected. However, as we pulled into the driveway, we saw 3 cars, then saw a group of people inside the house (another Hmmm!). We tried calling Molly again from our car, but again got voicemail. We went to the door, opened it and announced our presence. The people in the house came and told us that they had reservation for this same property - booked back in March -and that they had been coming to that same place for a few years. So, we were out of luck. The place had been double- booked! (Ultimate frustration!!) Now, since we were homeless in the UP, we had to scramble to find a motel room on short notice. Most motels in the Munising area were sold out. We ultimately got THE last room in one of them. It was a very frustrating night. One of the worst aspects was always getting voicemail message when trying to contact Molly, and not being able to get response when we needed it most.
Visited August 2019
Written August 28, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Welch's Riverview
Welch's Riverview
Dear Wulpi1, First, I want to thank you for your feedback. While I wish, you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it’s apparent in this case, we fell very short. I am sorry for the issues you encountered. What you have explained should not have occurred and I am investigating what happened. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, we will offer you a discount and I can assure you that Welch's Riverview Retreat will be ready for you. I would be happy to make your reservation personally and and see to it that you enjoy the experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. All the best, Jennifer Welch, Owner
Written September 28, 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

froggycamp
froggycamp
14 contributions
This home is in a convenient location - we took “day trips” to Pictured Rocks, Porcupine Mountains, Isle Presque and more! The home has a lovely view across the road - Lake Superior! We enjoyed our stay - - - as some have mentioned, housekeeping could be improved (maybe Spring Cleaning ....the oven, the clutter in cabinets/closets, a good scrubbing of pots & pans...). We did not use the downstairs area at all...I’m not certain how the lights worked in the sauna area...but I’m sure if you had a big group, the pool table and darts board would be enjoyable. Also, they had a canoe in the garage! So that would be fun in warmer months. I would also add that it would be reassuring if the Manager responded more promptly to questions, especially about checking in - I didn’t know if I would have to meet her at a specific time or what, since there was no lockbox with a key...... but that got sorted out in the end and all was absolutely fine. We enjoyed the Fall leaves and the beauty found in the UP - all in all, a nice visit here!
Visited October 2018
Written October 29, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

catmulvo
catmulvo
Bloomington-Normal, IL12 contributions
Welch's Riverview Retreat did not disappoint. Our family of 8 stayed for a week. We loved the location, the views, the private beach, eagles, campfires and the canoe. We made multiple trips to the beach (up river and around the lake) and loved it!. We had plenty of room to spread out. The master bed and bath were luxurious. It's upstairs by itself, not exactly a loft but no door. Still, private enough with two balconies and 2 ceiling fans- neither one of which we had to use despite having a few days in the mid 80s. The only complaint about the first floor is that the bunkroom had no screen on it's only window (opened into the garage) so it was stuffy. There are fans available and we appreciated that. The two other baths were fine. The basement is set up nicely for rainy days and nights so it got little use since the weather was great and we preferred the outdoors. The kitchen had some spices, coffee/filters and adequate pots, pans, and knives. Supplies like soap, garbage bags, tin foil and paper products were well stocked! Molly was easy to deal with. I informed her that housekeeping needs to improve and that 2/4 outdoor chairs needed replacement.
Visited August 2018
Written August 28, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Mike S
Mike S
Martin, MI2 contributions
It was surprisingly comfortable. Great view of both the Sand River and Lake Superior. Master Suite with whirlpool was a nice comfort after a long day hiking. Kitchen is small and difficult for two people to work at the same time. Housekeeping prior to our arrival could have been better and there was dog hair in the carpet and sand in the sheets. We otherwise enjoyed it and will certainly consider it again for a vacation rental! Good location between Munising and Marquette.
Visited July 2018
Written July 25, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Kate K
Kate K
2 contributions
Very pleased with the house and amenities...sleeping arrangements, pool table for entertainment, sauna...everything was wonderful! The view is absolutely breathtaking!! We were here in February for a snowmobile trip and it was at a wonderful location, right down the street from the trail! Molly the manager was wonderful and extremely helpful with anything we asked for or needed! Wonderful experience!!
Visited February 2018
Written March 8, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 45
Amenities
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
DVD Player
Balcony
Grill
Ceiling Fans
Central Heating
Deck
Dryer
Fireplace
Freezer
Refrigerator
Game Room
Internet Access
Business Travel
Kettle
Business Travel
Microwave
Parking
Patio
Pool Table
Private Yard
Cable/satellite TV
Sauna
Stove
Terrace
Toaster
Towels Provided
TV
Washer
Water Views
Waterfront
Wi-Fi
Fishing Nearby
There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
Watersports Nearby
Beach Or Lakeside Relaxation
Cycling Trips
Hiking Trips
Rural/Countryside Retreats
See more amenities
Availability
S
M
T
W
T
F
S

December 2022

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

January 2023

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Map
+
About the neighborhood
The river is great for canoeing, fishing, kayaking and other water sports and has great access to beautiful Lake Superior and sand beaches. Home is under a mile from the Mangum Rd. entrance to the North Country Hiking Trail, also near biking, skiing, snowmobiling (we're located right on DNR designated trail 417) & snowshoeing trails, casino, hunting and many other outdoor activities. The spectacular Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore in Munising is also a reasonably short drive from the cottage, as well as two casinos, one under 7 miles away and the other just over 20. Chocolay Downs Golf Course is located 8.5 miles away. The location is 17 miles east of the city of Marquette, which was recently designated as one of America's Most Livable Communities. In October 2010, Forbes announced thei...
Getting around
We recommend having a vehicle at this location. There is countywide bus service, but it's not ideal for this area.
More
Cancellation Policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available if you cancel thereafter

Enter your trip dates to see an exact cancellation policy.

*Booking fee is excluded from refund amount

About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#FKN2224904330
Frequently Asked Questions about Welch's Riverview Retreat Waterfront Lake Views! MQT Munising Snowmobile Ski

Welch's Riverview Retreat Waterfront Lake Views! MQT Munising Snowmobile Ski is able to accommodate up to 8 guests. See all property details.

Welch's Riverview Retreat Waterfront Lake Views! MQT Munising Snowmobile Ski has 3 bathrooms available. See all property details.

Welch's Riverview Retreat Waterfront Lake Views! MQT Munising Snowmobile Ski has 4 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at Welch's Riverview Retreat Waterfront Lake Views! MQT Munising Snowmobile Ski must last at least 3 nights. See all property details.