We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ol y Don

6 reviews
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Overview
2 bedrooms
2 bathrooms
6 guests
3 nights minimum
Rental Home
Ol-y-Don, is a fantastic, tasteful cottage renovation only 50 yards from the Estuary tucked away on a no through road in the popular seaside village of Newport. The open plan kitchen/diner with granite worktops and wooden floorboards is just the start, the sitting room beckons with a large, curved sofa and a real woodburner. The unusual lighthouse style slate-stepped spiral staircase leads to 3 lovely bedrooms (one twin is accessed through the other) with a spacious master bedroom with a brass bed and views over the lawn. There is a timber decked covered veranda and a large slated patio for enjoying the sun into the evening. The large lawn and pony paddock beyond are for guests use and the 1.5 acre grounds are surrounded by hedges and tall trees for privacy. The village pubs, tennis courts...Ol-y-Don, is a fantastic, tasteful cottage renovation only 50 yards from the Estuary tucked away on a no through road in the popular seaside village of Newport. The open plan kitchen/diner with granite worktops and wooden floorboards is just the start, the sitting room beckons with a large, curved sofa and a real woodburner. The unusual lighthouse style slate-stepped spiral staircase leads to 3 lovely bedrooms (one twin is accessed through the other) with a spacious master bedroom with a brass bed and views over the lawn. There is a timber decked covered veranda and a large slated patio for enjoying the sun into the evening. The large lawn and pony paddock beyond are for guests use and the 1.5 acre grounds are surrounded by hedges and tall trees for privacy. The village pubs, tennis courts, shops and restaurants are only a stroll up the hill and the water in the other direction - a fabulous place to stay all year round.Arrival time is 4pm.More
House Rules
Bathrooms
About the Manager
Coastal Cottages
Languages spoken:English
Response Rate:45%
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:March 2011
Write a ReviewReviews (6)

1 - 5 of 6 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2018

We have been visiting Ol Y Don for several years now so felt it time to write a review! Our last stay was in February 2018 for a week. The cottage is dog friendly with a fabulous outside space of over an acre in size....More

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank CotswoldFi
Reviewed October 6, 2014

Stayed at this cottage in September with friends and my little white Westie, Weather was great all week but cottage was a big let down ! Apart from it not being clean inside while I was travelling back in the car from our holiday I...More

Date of stay: September 2014
Thank christinetarry
CoastalCottagesPembs, VR Owner at Ol y Don, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Although we have no booking under the name Mrs Caddy at this cottage, please be assured as a matter of precaution the cottage has been thoroughly checked and no evidence of fleas have been found within the property. Unfortunately fleas can be picked up from...More

See more reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2014

This cottage has a great location,but it needs a good spring clean especially inside,we found equipment not very clean and stained, some needed replacing completely, when opening fridge, bottom area on floor had dog hairs and fluff that had not been touched for months !...More

Date of stay: September 2014
Thank deedi200
CoastalCottagesPembs, VR Owner at Ol y Don, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback, we are so sorry you were disappointed by some aspects, please be assured we have passed it on to the owner and they have addressed the points you raised. We do ask if you experience a problem during...More

Reviewed July 29, 2014

We booked at the beginning of the year on the basis it was 5 star accommodation. We were after all paying 5 star prices for July. A few months down the line, country cottages told us the place had been downgraded but there was no...More

Date of stay: July 2014
2  Thank Travevller
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed here for the first time in October 2013 and already looking forward to visiting again in 2014 (already booked!!!) 3 double bedrooms and family bathroom upstairs with bath no shower. Please note that bedroom 3 is reached by walking through bedroom 2. Shower is...More

Date of stay: October 2013
Thank CotswoldFi
Amenities
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Ask
Availability
April 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
May 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
June 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
July 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
August 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
September 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
View all months
See more rates and fees
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Still can't find what you're looking for?
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#FKN2222420325