We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travelers have booked this property

Candlelight Cottage, Stamford

Save
Candlelight Cottage
Very good
15 reviews
Candlelight Cottage
The cottage
Living & kitchen areas
Living area
Our stained glass window
Upstairs king-size bedroom
Upstairs king-size bedroom
Burghley House, Stamford (10 mins)
Nearby River Nene (1/2 mile)
Rutland Water (15 mins)
Stamford (10 mins)
Peterborough Cathedral (15 mins)
Lincoln
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stamford, Lincolnshire, England
Built in 1840 as the village chapel, Candlelight Cottage was converted in 2010 to provide 2 bedroom accommodation for up to 4 guests. .<BR><BR>Located in one of the driest regions in the country, the cottage is a 2-bedroom self catering stone chapel set in the grounds of the owners property in a quiet Nene valley village. Ideally located for visiting the historic stone market towns of Stamford (10 mins), Oakham (20 mins) and Oundle (10 mins), Burghley House (10 mins), Rutland Water (15 mins), East of England showground (5 mins). <BR><BR>Accomodation consists of 6mx4.3 m (20'x14') double height open plan living/dining/oak kitchen area with widescreen TV/Freesat/DVD, downstairs twin bedroom with full-size single beds, bathroom with 5' wide electric shower, upstairs bedroom with king-size bed, fenced pa... Read more
About the Owner, Paul D
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 9 days ago
Listed since : Mar 2013
Overall rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Based on 15 reviews and 1 property
Contact Owner See more properties
Listing #HL351691
Reviews from our community
 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Cottage was well situated for the places we wanted to visit and OK for a disabled person with reduced mobility. However the outside pictures are very out of date. The fence is now a high dark hedge. The outside facilities were damaged, dirty and dingy. The bathroom had no hot water supply to the tap. The owner explained that...

More
Management response:

I'm very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and that you did not feel able to raise any of your concerns with us even though we live next door and stressed we were available to help. If I may take your points in order: Since the photos were taken the trellis fencing is now covered in fragrant honeysuckle,...

More

Report response as inappropriate
Veronica...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Yes very good the cottage was well positioned for us to explore the arerer we were interested in. Nice and peacfull, the family were very helpfull, and all three of us had a bery enjoyable holiday

More
Armin S
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

It was a bit difficult to come to the Cottage because we had to walk throug the garden from the owner. The Cottage was very clean except the pans.

More
Amenities
  • Balcony or Terrace
  • Central Heating
  • Cots:(1)
  • Dining Seats (4)
  • Dishwasher
  • Dryer
  • DVD Player
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Hairdryer
  • Highchair
  • Internet Access
  • Iron
  • Kettle
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room Seats (4)
  • Microwave
  • Parking
  • Private Yard
  • Queen Beds:(1)
  • Refrigerator
  • Satellite TV
  • Single Beds:(2)
  • Stove
  • Suitable For Children Under 5
  • Toaster
  • Towels Provided
  • TV
  • Wi-Fi
House rules
    Kid-friendly
    Pets allowed
    Smoking not allowed
Availability
Show Rates
Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Dates Min stay Per night Per week
Default 2 nights
$129
£100
$592
£460
Sep 5, 2017 -
Oct 13, 2017
Mid
3 nights
$135
£105
$605
£470
Oct 14, 2017 -
Oct 29, 2017
Half Term
3 nights
$161
£125
$708
£550
Oct 30, 2017 -
Dec 17, 2017
Low
3 nights
$135
£105
$579
£450
View all periods
Please note: rates may have been converted from the original local currency to U.S. Dollars and are approximate rates that may change due to exchange rate fluctuation. Please contact the manager to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.
Additional Rate and Availability Information
Up to 2 dogs may stay for £15 each regardless of the length of stay.
Hide Rates
Map
Access
Car advised
How to get there
Airport: London Stansted: 49.7 mi
Railway: Stamford: 5.0 mi
Activities nearby
Fishing Nearby, There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive, Watersports Nearby, Nearest Beach: 8.1 mi.
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.
How can I contact the owner?
Initially, you may contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.
How will the owner contact me?
This owner will contact you via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox.
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
You can send another message via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.
How do I pay?
For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.
Is my payment insured in any way?
Yes. Payments made via the TripAdvisor inbox are covered by our Payment Protection.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$129
/
Night
Week
Book Now
42 travelers
viewed this property in the past week
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.