We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ta Torri - Stunning Maltese Villa

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Sign in now
View of the gardens and pool from the tower
Pool with self contained apartment at foot of Tower

Overview
4 bedrooms
4 bathrooms
9 guests
7 nights minimum 
Villa
Formally a medieval hunting lodge, 'Ta Torri' is now a private villa, lovingly restored to provide simple accommodation surrounded by beautiful gardens. The colonnaded path down the garden is one of only three remaining on the island and is just one of the features that makes Ta Torri truly unique. Surrounded by high walls, the villa affords complete privacy for sunbathing, swimming and outdoor dining. The villa is situated on the outskirts of Mqabba, a quiet and beautiful Maltese village. It remains almost entirely free from tourists, unscarred from modern development, providing a ‘real’ Maltese experience.
House Rules
Pets not allowedKid friendlyNo smoking
Bedrooms
3 Fulls3 Twins
Bathrooms
2 Full baths2 Attached (ensuite)

Meet the host
Richard J
Hosting since March 2004
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 100%
Response Time: Within a few hours
Interaction with guestsOur friend and caretaker Robert is the best person to contact if you have any problems while staying at Ta Torri. Robert tends to the gardens and pool early in the morning each day. If there is anything you’d like him to take care of in relation to the property, please do ask. Alternatively you can call the owner (Margaret) directly if there are any issues. There is a house phone at Ta Torri available to take incoming calls only. Please answer if you hear it ringing – it will be Margaret calling to see if everything is OK!

Contribute
Reviews (41)
Trip520964
Trip520964
1 contribution
Amazing space
The outside space is out of this world. A great space for large families or groups of friends. The kitchen is well stocked and the house has everything you need. Also close to shops and buses. Uber also easy to use
Visited August 2023
Written August 24, 2023. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Claire T
Claire T
2 contributions
Perfect, literally perfect
We stayed for the 2nd time in August. We absolutely love Ta Torri. It's perfect. Such a special place. Our children loved the pool, table tennis and boules. It's so special with all the history of the property and feel all the hard work that's gone in to it to make it so incredible. The owner is exceptional! Always quick to respond and so friendly. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Malta. Highly, highly recommend
Visited August 2022
Written September 3, 2022. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

danihope
danihope
Keswick, United Kingdom17 contributions
Wonderful Ta Torri memories
This is my fourth stay at Ta Torri and I can't wait for the next visit already. The place has such amazing charm and a uniqueness like no other place. There's history in every nook and cranny. The facilities are great and I had such a great night sleep on the memory foam mattress in the main bedroom. The kitchen has been upgraded since our last stay which was great too. We always make so many memories when we visit Ta Torri and I look forward to staying there plenty more times in the future.
Visited May 2022
Written May 20, 2022. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Karen G
Karen G
Christchurch, United Kingdom3 contributions
Perfect medieval retreat within an extensive walled garden
We originally booked Ta Torri for April 2020 but had to carry it over for a 3rd time. However, the wait was worth it & our family of 6 adults, 2 children a baby had 11 nights in this wonderful place. We were unlucky with the weather as it was very windy & rather cold for half of our stay but Robert the caretaker provided duvets for us & we did get out nearly every day using the local buses, Valletta was about a 30 minute ride away. The couple of warm, sunny days we had were spent enjoying the tranquility of the extensive gardens, playing table tennis & a dip in the pool (it was cold but ok once in!) It would have been nice to enjoy more evenings outside in the lovely courtyard but it was early in the season & we did manage a couple of bbqs. Mqabba is a traditional Maltese town & we used the local supermarkets, pubs & Alfred the baker who was just around the corner & were made very welcome by all the locals. We loved all the history of Ta Torri, the privacy it affords & to be able to stay somewhere completely unique with it's magnificent walled & colonnaded garden. Have already recommended it to friends. Many thanks Richard.
Visited April 2022
Written May 8, 2022. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
FarAway760314
FarAway760314
Thank you for your wonderful review Karen. So pleased you enjoyed for stay at TaTorri and I think you're very brave to get in the pool so early in the year! Thank you for recommending us to your friends, we hope we can welcome them soon. Kind regards Richard
Written May 11, 2022. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ben Coakley
Ben Coakley
Dubai, United Arab Emirates1 contribution
Unique historical family villa oozing with character in private peaceful setting
Just returned from our first visit to Malta, and an amazing week at Ta Torri. It was the perfect base for our explorations around the island, and a great retreat to return back to at the end of each day. Villa was clean and comfortable, with the gardens relaxing to walk around and unwind. Kids loved discovering every nook and cranny of the property, playing all the games onsite, and jumping around in the pool. Plane noise was not an issue, and whilst there were some mosquitoes this was advised in advance and necessary precautions taken. Richard and Margaret were good with their communication when needed, but happy to leave us to enjoy our holiday. Would happily recommend (and might even visit again)
Visited August 2021
Written August 31, 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

reen83
reen83
Greater London, United Kingdom3 contributions
Historical, eccentric - and absolutely perfect
This was my second stay at Ta Torri, and it was even lovelier than I remember! This house has the best atmosphere of any house I've ever rented, I think - you can really tell that its restoration has been a generational family project done with love! So many different spaces, both social and quiet, so you never feel like you're living on top of each other if you're in a group. Spectacular gardens with really impressive planting and layout and a superb feel of seclusion about them. So many wonderful historical and architectural details to stumble on. The big table in the inner courtyard is a delight to gather around, and as well as the comfortable bedrooms there are lots of lovely nooks where one can take a little nap in the breeze from a fan... This year I stayed in the tower as I arrived with work to do, and it was the *perfect* writer's retreat - peaceful and quiet and cosy with the lovely garden to look out over - and yet, despite being some distance from the main house didn't feel at all isolated. By the way, the aircon in there is marvellous - I usually find aircon terribly harsh, but this was just lovely; cooling but not intrusive! It also has a ramp and a wet-room, so might well be a great solution for groups with a disabled member. That said, this may not be a house for everyone - but then, what house is? It's very old, and the hostorical layout might feel eccentric to some modern values - the kitchen (very well equipped, btw) being separate from the main house might not suit some people, for instance, and the original stone spiral staircase, while an amazing historical artefact, might scare the more timid. It's furnishings have clearly been amassed over years - which to me is a plus, but I guess if you're a matchy-matchy, everything-covered-in-marble, type of person, you probably wouldn't like it. But if you're looking for somewhere that's genuinely welcoming and comfortable with bags of character and tons of space, this is your place. We all came away feeling as though we'd been genuinely reset post-lockdown, and so grateful that places like this still exist. I only wish we'd had more than ten days! Will be back with a vengeance.
Visited July 2021
Written August 8, 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

jetty
jetty
10 contributions
Stunning Villa
We stayed here for the first time at the beginning of October . The villa is amazing and the pool and garden is spectacular . Our daughter was getting married and so we stayed here and she got ready at the villa . The pre wedding photos were absolutely gorgeous I can’t think of anywhere nicer we could have been . Thank you for all your help
Visited October 2019
Written November 8, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

melicooze
melicooze
1 contribution
In our own world, behind the walls!
It is hard to explain the beauty of ta Torri, from opening the doors for the first time the excitement of exploring ta Torri was immense. It’s hard initially to comprehend the size of this house. But once settled in it is a beautiful base. The local village is very friendly and you really feel like you are visiting a true Maltese village. There are a couple of things to note though, the mosquitoes are rampant and along with them are the sand mites (the local pharmacist explained these too us) they can get through the window panes and cause a lot of bites. Also, as you would expect with being rural, we saw a few rats around the villa, so be extremely mindful not to leave any food out and about, we were fastidious about cleaning yet we still had a rat in the kitchen, and also cockroaches. Unfortunately the dishwasher stopped working the first time we put it on and wasn’t fixed until the day before we were leaving so we were left of the smell of stagnant dirty disheslso. Robert did visit the villa to try and help with the cockroach and spray some killer around but unfortunately it did put a little dampener on our stay. That being said if we hadn’t encountered these problems we would be recommending to everyone as the house is just beautiful.
Visited September 2019
Written September 30, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
FarAway760314
FarAway760314
Dear Amelia, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed our beautiful family villa. We are sorry to hear that the dishwasher broke down. Always frustrating when things such as this occur and we apologise for the inconvenience caused. I am sure you will agree that Robert is very pro-active in fixing issues such as this as quickly as possible. We take your comment about the rat very seriously. This is the first time something like this has been brought to our attention, and we will be doing everything we can to prevent this from happening again. As you mention, the property is in a rural location and unfortunately it might not always be possible to stop vermin completely. Whilst we believe it is important for frank reviews on Trip Advisor, this does question the level of cleaning and hygiene we operate to. As commented by many guests in this forum, the property is maintained and cleaned to a very high standard. Nevertheless, we will look at what we can do to ensure vermin are discouraged from entering the property again in future. Kind regards, Richard and Margaret
Written October 30, 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brian M
Brian M
1 contribution
Ultimate family retreat, away from the crowds.
Ta Torri is so much more than a villa with a pool. It is an Arboretum, set in a magnificent historic walled garden with the main house having connections back to the 17th century. It is a sanctuary for birds and reptiles, and it is was the perfect backdrop for a family holiday to remember. We are a family that loves to cook, and the excellent kitchen and gas barbecue gave us the opportunity to cook some very enjoyable meals - the swordfish steaks from Marsaxlokk fish market was a family favourite. Scrumptious bread was sourced hot and fresh from Alfred's oven every morning. Mqabba is a quiet, friendly town. It has many small grocery shops, and was able to provide much of our needs. A special thank you to John, the butcher, for his Beef Olives; and to his dad for recommendations on how to cook them to perfection. Most meals were enjoyed around the magnificent stone table in the courtyard. Heads up: the mosquitoes and flies are busy during July afternoons and evenings. Mosquito coils, citronella candles, and body sprays will help. Covering food is essential. We still had a great time eating outside, despite the critters. The pool was a treat. It was especially nice in the afternoon to cool off after a morning excursion, and sitting in the garden with a cold G&T was very relaxing. The Double en-suite at the base of the tower has been recently refurbished to a very high standard. Those of our party that used it were extremely impressed. It even has it's own WiFi access point. Margaret and Richard keep the property maintained very well, with the help of Robert, and his wonderful family. Most of the time you are not even aware that they are maintaining the garden and pool, but if there are any issues; Robert will act very promptly. Thanks Robert. We hired cars (we were a group of up to 11 at times), and I would recommend this if you want to freely explore Malta. Just make sure you leave time to fully enjoy Ta Torri. It was a pleasure to stay there. After two weeks we were all left still wanting more of what it has to offer. It was a privilege to be there. Special thanks to Margaret and Richard
Visited July 2019
Written August 13, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
FarAway760314
FarAway760314
Thank you Brian for this wonderful review. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Written August 14, 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Colin M
Colin M
St. Andrews, United Kingdom1 contribution
Excellent
Second stay at this property. Magic, a great place if you have children. The owners are clearly investing in the property and we noticed several new touches. Local town is also very friendly and very close to airport. wait till you see the cleaning team that arrives, everyone is so nice and makes you feel very welcome.
Visited July 2019
Written July 16, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 41

What this rental offers
Property features
  • Ceiling Fans
Wi-fi and internet
  • Wi-fi
Bathroom and laundry
  • Iron
  • Linens provided
  • Towels provided
  • Washer
Kitchen and dining
  • Grill
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Refrigerator
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Indoor amenities
  • Air conditioning
  • Internet access
Parking
  • Parking available
Nearby
  • Golf course (within 30 mins drive)
  • Horse riding facilities
  • Countryside area
Entertainment
  • DVD player
  • Ping Pong table
  • Stereo system
  • Television
Things to do
  • Watersports
Living spaces
  • Highchair
Outdoor amenities
  • Balcony
  • Private outdoor pool (unheated)
  • Private yard
  • Terrace

Availability
S
M
T
W
T
F
S

September 2023

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

October 2023

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4

Map
About the neighborhood
Mqabba is a quiet and beautiful Maltese village. It remains almost entirely free from tourists, unscarred from modern development, providing a ‘real’ Maltese experience. Spending a night at the local Remissa bar chatting to locals and savoring the hospitality is a lovely way to while away an evening. Mqabba is a far cry from the tourist hotspots like St Julians and Sliema. The deli, greengrocers and butchers in the village can cater for most of your food and drink needs. Bread from Alfred has been sustaining us ever since we first started coming to Malta - it is wonderful! His bakery is just around the corner from Ta Torri, less than a minutes’ walk door to door. If you order your bread the day before it will usually be ready at
Getting around
We would advise hiring a car for getting around the island, depending on how much exploring you plan on doing. The local buses are much improved and run a reliable service to the coast (to visit the blue grotto) or to the capital Valetta.
Access
Car advised
How to get there
The address is Ta Torri, Triq It-Torrivincenti, Mqabba, Malta. From the Airport, follow the exit signs out of the airport onto the main road and take the first exit at the roundabout. Get in the right-hand lane. Continue through the tunnel under the runway (it is compulsory to put your lights on even during the day). Take a right at the roundabout (signed for Mqabba), and straight on at the next roundabout (also signed for Mqabba). As you approach Mqabba village, ignore the turn to the left signposted for ‘Mqabba Centre’ and keep going straight ahead. The road then becomes very narrow between the houses, please take care as this is a two-way road but there’s only room for one car to pass. Take a sharp right hand turn and follow the road around a left-hand bend. You have arrived! Ta Torri is the first main door on the left (with a nameplate TA TORRI SPERO). The total journey is less than 10 minutes.
Activities nearby
Golf course (within 30 mins drive)Horse riding facilitiesWatersports

Things to know
Check in / out timings
Check in after 4 PM Check out by 11 AM
Cancellation policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available if you cancel thereafter

*Booking fee is excluded from refund amount

Notes from owner
Ta Torri is not available for Winter letting. TaTorri is not available for Christmas, New Year or wedding functions. These rates are for a maximum of 9 persons (not including children under the age of 2).

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.

This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.

For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.

Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Payment Protection.


Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Earn extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Manage booking easily
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to checkout, even while you’re on the go.
Be trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.

This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/HL_Supplier_Logo_2021.png   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #HL2223292

Frequently Asked Questions about Ta Torri - Stunning Maltese Villa

Ta Torri - Stunning Maltese Villa is able to accommodate up to 9 guests. See all property details.

Ta Torri - Stunning Maltese Villa has 4 bathrooms available. See all property details.

Ta Torri - Stunning Maltese Villa has 4 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at Ta Torri - Stunning Maltese Villa must last at least 7 nights. See all property details.

Ta Torri - Stunning Maltese Villa Has Terrace and Internet Access - UPDATED 2023 - Tripadvisor - Mqabba Vacation Rental