We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A Sunny Apartment in Amsterdam Centre and a 2014 TripAdvisor Winner!!

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Sign in now
living room

Overview
2 bedrooms
1 bathroom
2 guests
5 nights minimum 
Condo/Apartment
SunShine is a sunny apartment situated on the second in a quiet street in Amsterdam Centre SUNSHINE - MAX. 2 GUESTS. SunShine consists of a large living room, bedroom with double bed (180 x 200 cm), fully equipped kitchen, bathroom with bath and shower, washing machine; WiFi. The kitchen is fully equipped with a oven, fridge, toaster, juice maker, kitchen machine, dishwasher and with basic foods such as olive oil, butter, sugar, salt, spices, coffee, tea, eggs, muesli, yoghurt and of course some fine Dutch cheese. Bed linen, bath towels and bathrobes are waiting for you to be used, the washing machine too. A children bed (120 cm) is available WiFi of course. The apartment is decorated in a style the Dutch call 'gezellig'. Cosy is the nearest English equivalent, but does not conve...SunShine is a sunny apartment situated on the second in a quiet street in Amsterdam Centre SUNSHINE - MAX. 2 GUESTS. SunShine consists of a large living room, bedroom with double bed (180 x 200 cm), fully equipped kitchen, bathroom with bath and shower, washing machine; WiFi. The kitchen is fully equipped with a oven, fridge, toaster, juice maker, kitchen machine, dishwasher and with basic foods such as olive oil, butter, sugar, salt, spices, coffee, tea, eggs, muesli, yoghurt and of course some fine Dutch cheese. Bed linen, bath towels and bathrobes are waiting for you to be used, the washing machine too. A children bed (120 cm) is available WiFi of course. The apartment is decorated in a style the Dutch call 'gezellig'. Cosy is the nearest English equivalent, but does not convey the full meaning of 'gezellig': a mixture of comfortable, warm, welcoming, pleasant, familiar, informal and you get what 'gezellig' means. Consequently no modern design, no empty walls, but a colorful home with stylish furniture is what you can expect. House rules Most important rules are respect and enjoy: respect the apartment, respect the neighbours and enjoy your holidays. And call us when you need help. Tourist License / Licencia de turismo N °: REGISTRATIENUMMER036333C3B9363911FC42
House Rules
Pets not allowedKid friendlyNo smoking
Bedrooms
1 King
Bathrooms
1 Full bath

Meet the host
simon c
Hosting since March 2012
Languages spoken: German, English, French, Dutch
Response Rate: 57%
Response Time: Within a few hours

Contribute
Reviews (51)
Guide62854686483
Guide62854686483
1 contribution
Cancelled on us after confirmed booking.
Got in touch with Simon and sent a couple of basic emails back and fourth to discuss letting the property to me and 2 other friends (average age of 30, we aren't here to party), expressed our interest in a place to spend night to sleep while we explored the city and it's great features during the day, we are absolutely not the party type and just wanted a place to sleep where we could cook a meal in the evenings. anyway after exchanging a couple of emails we was told our accommodation was fully booked in an to go ahead an book flights safe and secure in knowing the property was our for the dates, after we arranged our flights we emailed Simon again letting him know what time we would be arriving to which we was sent a reply emailing letting us know that Simon had changed his mind and cancelled the booking leaving us stuck in a mess, would not recommenced to anyone whom wants a secure booking.
Visited February 2020
Written February 11, 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SunFlowerAmsterdam
SunFlowerAmsterdam
I fully understand the disappointment of these guests. However from the email exchange after their booking I got the idea our family appartment was not the right place for their holidays. That's why we have made this unusual step.
Written February 16, 2020. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LuisaB
LuisaB
3 contributions
A typical Dutch house
Last week we stayed at Simon's home and it was nice to live in a real Dutch house with every comfort, we could use the washing machine and even the dishwasher as if we were at home. I often stay in hotels, but this time I wanted to stay in a place where I could spend more time with my friends, also eating together without extra restaurant costs, and all this was possible at Simon’s home. Thank you for your hospitability and for all the information and tips about the city and the neighbourhood. The house is in a beautiful location, near the Heineken Experience and we could walk to many touristic attractions like Leidseplein, Museumplein and to the city center, but it is also well connected with public transport such as tram and metro.
Visited July 2019
Written August 2, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SunFlowerAmsterdam
SunFlowerAmsterdam
Good to hear you fully enjoyed our apartment.
Written August 3, 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ELOCIN31
ELOCIN31
3 contributions
séjour parfait.
Appartement idéalement situé pour des visites d'Amsterdam à pieds ou avec transports en commun (tramway, métro et bus à moins de 200 m) ainsi qu'un ponton d'embarquement pour la visite des canaux. Appartement et quartier très calmes, à proximité du quartier des musées, du marché et des places animées : Rembrandtplein et Leidseplein Simon est très à l'écoute et nous l'en remercions. Ses conseils de visites nous ont été très utiles. Un seul inconvénient : l'accessibilité. Problème commun à biens des logements sur Amsterdam : ne convient pas du tout à des personnes à mobilité réduite.
Visited July 2019
Written July 28, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SunFlowerAmsterdam
SunFlowerAmsterdam
Thanks for your review. Gisele and I are 72 and 73 and we still go up and downstairs several times a day, as do all the other elderly people living in or near the centre of Amsterdam. Of course if one has mobility problems, climbing up and down stairs will exasperate them.
Written July 29, 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

OnAir41530168425
OnAir41530168425
1 contribution
Very nice place
I enjoyed my stay and the hospitality of Simon and Gisele at their apartment,and found the apartment very convenient for all facilities and sites in the City, I was a bit surprised about the review just posted by another guest, as I do not recognise the comments, as I found the place clean and completely safe. David
Visited July 2019
Written July 28, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SunFlowerAmsterdam
SunFlowerAmsterdam
Thanks for your review.
Written July 28, 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

auntsal67
auntsal67
14 contributions
Lovely quiet apartment.......but after being asked not to write a review
We booked this apartment for a week end break based on the reviews and pictures on trip advisor, the booking process was straight forward, with plenty of information provided prior to arrival. The apartment is in a lovely quiet area but within walking distance of the city centre, we were met at the property by the owners Simon and Gisele, from here it is best to approach the review with pro's and con's Pro's Location, location, location close to everything but lovely and quiet Comfortable beds with clean linen and towels Some quirky furnishings and original features, high decorative ceilings, steep and narrow stairs. Cons Dirty and dated stairway carpet to apartment, Stale and musty odour inside Kitchen flooring, stained, uneven and very squeaky, work surfaces cracked, damaged and stained, I have never seen a bread bin like it, rusty also with a bad smell Kitchen drawer with dirty utensils, rubber bands, old sweets, crumbs, couldn't touch it Poor security -the upstairs room had a basic padlock to secure the door, the apartment is open to the neighbour below, the door handles of this room where loose. The downstairs had a bath and shower, the shower head was disgusting, green and heavily scaled The upstairs bedroom had a shower unit just balanced on the floor it wobbled when standing in it, the shower floor was stained yellow with a rubber mat which didn't fit to cover it, there was no other word for it but grim No smoke alarms, fire escape was via a vertical ladder in the roof with no obvious means of escape Ceiling in front room, peeling paint very dilapidated, open wires coming out of the walls and over loaded plug sockets We received an email to ask us not to complete a review on here as the Amsterdam authorities are trying to cut back on privately rented accommodation However at £200 per night one would expect a certain level of cleanliness
Visited July 2019
Written July 16, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SunFlowerAmsterdam
SunFlowerAmsterdam
We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at our apartment. However, we would like to point out that your statements are contradictory to the many previous good reviews we have received.
Written July 17, 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

FuFamily
FuFamily
Kirkland, WA3 contributions
Sunny Apartment in a great location
We enjoyed our stay at Simon's Sunny Apartment. Great stocked kitchen. Plenty of room for 4. Convenient washing machine for travellers. The stairs were not luggage friendly. Good for those travelling very light. We were happy with Simon's written and personal guidance. Easy to reach all the top spots from this apartment. Located on a quiet street, with easy access to Tram and grocery store.
Visited June 2019
Written June 16, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SunFlowerAmsterdam
SunFlowerAmsterdam
Thanks for your review. Amsterdam staircases are narrow and steep. That’s why all AMSTERDAM houses in the city centre have hooks just below the roof. We move our furniture by hoisting via a rope on this hook and on this way all furniture goes through the middle window on the street side. That’s part of the amsterdam experience
Written June 17, 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tarli K
Tarli K
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions
Quaint Amsterdam apartment, quiet location, close to public transport, shops and Rijksmuseum.
Well-appointed, authentic Amsterdam apartment on two levels in a good location that made it easy to get around for seeing the city and its attractions. Well-equipped kitchen came with some extras to start cooking (oil, onions, garlic etc). Perfectly clean. Traditional staircases were amazing, kept you fit! Friendly, helpful owner sent lots of information prior to our arrival. Housekeeper met the family on arrival and provided some useful tips. Would definitely visit and stay here again!
Visited September 2018
Written October 6, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

anonymous
anonymous
1 contribution
Great location, awesome hospitality and conveniences of home.
Sunshine Apartment is in an excellent location, well within walking distance to the center of Amsterdam, but also has convenient access to public transportation if needed. Short walk to the Albert Cuypymarkt, lots of restaurants, stores and parks. Our host, Simon, was very helpful, making sure we were comfortable and had all the information we needed to enjoy our stay. Also enjoyed the bikes available. On our second visit we felt like we were home again! Thank you Simon and Giselle, we will visit again!
Visited September 2018
Written October 5, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Beatrix S
Beatrix S
Mainz, Germany1 contribution
Schönes, zentral gelegenes Appartement
Wir hatten beide Etagen gemietet. Die Räume sind hell, geräumig (für Amsterdam sehr geräumig) und komfortabel. Das untere Appartement im zweiten Stock hatten wir für uns, das obere im dritten Stock für unsere 14-jährige Nichte mit Freundin. Die Appartements haben einen ganz eigenen, bezaubernden Stil - es gibt total viele, schön anzusehende Dinge (Lampen, Kacheln, Bilder,...). Wir und die beiden Mädchen haben uns auf Anhieb sehr wohl gefühlt. Wir wurden von Simon sehr freundlich empfangen mit einem vorgefüllten Kühlschrank (Eier, Butter, Käse, Joghurt, Milch). Simon nahm sich viel Zeil, um uns verschiedene Tipps und Anregungen unseren Interessen entsprechend zu geben. Was wir davon ausprobiert haben, war sehr gut. Die Treppen sind sehr steil und eng - wie üblich in Amsterdam. In den Appartements ist alles da, was man braucht. Die Waschmaschine ist auf dem neuesten Stand, und es gibt einen gut ausreichenden Wäscheständer zum Trocknen. Die Lage der Wohnung ist in einer ruhigen Seitenstraße, trotzdem sehr verkehrsgünstig gelegen. Die Straßenbahnhaltestellen Stadhouderskade (Tram 4, verkehrt zwischen Amsterdam Centraal = Hauptbahnhof und Station RAI = Messegelände durch die ganze Innenstadt) sowie Frederiksplein (Tram 1, 7, 19 - zwei Haltestellen bis zur Spiegelgracht -> Museumplein mit Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Stedelijk, Moco Museum, drei Haltestellen bis zum Leidseplein -> Vergnügungsviertel mit Theatern, Konzerthallen, Restaurants und dem nahen Vondelpark; mit der Linie 7 und 19 sind es drei Haltestellen in die andere Richtung bis zum Alexanderplein -> Tropenmuseum) liegen in ungefähr 200 m Entfernung, der berühmte Albert Cuyp Markt in 300 m Entfernung. Der nächste Supermarkt (Albert Heijn, AH) liegt auf der anderen Seite der nahen Singelgracht in 350 m Entfernung. Zwei Biomärkte sind ebenfalls in der Nähe (Marqt, Ekoplaza).
Visited August 2018
Written September 2, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SunFlowerAmsterdam
SunFlowerAmsterdam
Thanks for all your compliments
Written September 3, 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

766Chris
766Chris
Mansons Landing, Canada6 contributions
Awesome Location
We were a group of four (two couples). Simon and Gisele's place fit our needs to a tie. The location was great and we felt at home in this very comfortable home. It was a bit funky and in some cases dated, but this was part of the comfort and charm in staying here. Simon and Gisele were exceptional in ensuring our planning needs were taken care of leading up to our visit with regular contact and local information for our use. When we arrived they made arrangements for Wilma to greet us. She was lovely and again provided us with great information and advise. Our five days in Amsterdam were the last of a six week trip in Europe and was definitely a highlight and a reason to return.
Visited September 2017
Written October 2, 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 51

What this rental offers
Bathroom and laundry
  • Dryer
  • Iron
  • Linens provided
  • Towels provided
  • Washer
Location info
  • City getaway
Living spaces
  • Highchair
Additional amenities
  • Boat available
Entertainment
  • DVD player
  • Stereo system
  • Television
Kitchen and dining
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Refrigerator
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Wi-fi and internet
  • Wi-fi
Indoor amenities
  • Fireplace
  • Internet access
  • Cable television

Availability
S
M
T
W
T
F
S

December 2023

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6

January 2024

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
31
1
2
3

Map
About the neighborhood
For your daily food needs (also attractive clothes boutiques), the famous and local Albert Cuyp Market is around the corner. 
Several Organic food stores are at 500 meters distance, and every monday morning -at 300 meters away- you can visit a flower market known and visited only by locals. Our homely apartment is located in between the main museums (Stedelijk Museum, Van Gogh, Hermitage and Rijksmuseum). The Rembrandtsplein, Leidseplein, the theaters and the historic canal area, all is within walking distance. Public Transport is at the end of our street (trams no 1, 4, 7, 19).
Access
Car not needed

Things to know
Check in / out timings
Check in after 2 PM Check out by 11 AM
Cancellation policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 100% refund* if you cancel at least 2 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available once booking is confirmed

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.

This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.

For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.

Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Payment Protection.



Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Earn extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Manage booking easily
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to checkout, even while you’re on the go.
Be trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.

This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/FK_Supplier_Logo.png   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #FKN2222321934

Frequently Asked Questions about A Sunny Apartment in Amsterdam Centre and a 2014 TripAdvisor Winner!!

A Sunny Apartment in Amsterdam Centre and a 2014 TripAdvisor Winner!! is able to accommodate up to 2 guests. See all property details.

A Sunny Apartment in Amsterdam Centre and a 2014 TripAdvisor Winner!! has one bathroom available. See all property details.

A Sunny Apartment in Amsterdam Centre and a 2014 TripAdvisor Winner!! has 2 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at A Sunny Apartment in Amsterdam Centre and a 2014 TripAdvisor Winner!! must last at least 5 nights. See all property details.

A Sunny Apartment in Amsterdam Centre and a 2014 TripAdvisor Winner!! UPDATED 2023 - Tripadvisor - Amsterdam Vacation Rental