We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hoo Cottage

Save
Exquisit thatch cottage with open fire, private garden, parking also pet friendly
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Average
6 reviews
Exquisit thatch cottage with open fire, private garden, parking also pet friendly
Hoo Cottage
Hoo Cottage from the garden
Roses on Gable Wall, Hoo Cottage
Hoo Cottage Sitting Room
Hoo Cottage Sitting Room and Dining Area
Hoo Cottage Kitchen
Hoo Cottage Bedroom One with King Size (5ft) bed
Hoo Cottage Bedroom Two with single (3ft) bed
Hoo Cottage Stairs
Hoo Cottage Bathroom with Shower over Bath
Hoo Cottage Sitting Room
Hoo Cottage
High Street, Chipping Campden
High Street, Chipping Campden
Coat of Arms, High Street, Chipping Campden
Dovers Hill (NT) Chipping Campden
Market Hall (NT) Chipping Campden
Almshouses, Chipping Campden
St James Church & Lodge, Chipping Campden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds, England
Hoo Cottage is the quintessential Cotswold stone, thatched cottage. Its first registered owners took occupation in 1639 just a few years after the death of William Shakespeare when King Charles I was on the throne and the English Civil War was still three years hence. Almost 400 years later it is Grade II listed and tucked away in a quiet residential area of Chipping Campden. To enter the cottage is to take a step back in time but without the discomforts of 17th century life. Its low ceilings, exposed beams, flagstone floors, log fire and uneven walls are all redolent of times past but the fittings and furnishings make it a most comfortable holiday home. The cottage garden with its flower and shrub borders provide a secluded haven from the outside world.<BR><BR>The cottage is ideally located a short walk from Chipping Cam... Read more
About the Manager, Beverley Needham (Property Manager Campden Cottages Ltd)
Languages spoken: English
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Listed since : Jun 2011
Overall rating: 3.9 / 5.0
Based on 29 reviews and 11 properties
Contact Manager See more properties
Listing #HL192930
Reviews from our community
 of 5 bubbles
3 of 5 bubbles Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pat G
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

No good working electricity, date of inspection pased, seats not clean dog hear and terrable smell, spiders everywere and ants in the closset.No contact from responsable with mail ore emergency number after two days a negatieve response also this house is for sale. Driveway full of crap broken gate and broken windows with no lock just with a rope. Dont...

More
Management response:

Guest contacted me from the Cottage on arrival and I explained they had arrived very early hence the Cottage not being prepared for them. Housekeepers transferred from another job to clean. We had several phone calls during the stay all of which were responded to Housekeepers attended and could not get access. Reference to electricity this is very inaccurate, all...

More

Report response as inappropriate
Spogee53
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here as part of our very first holiday in the UK. Cottage was absolutely charming. Stairs to bedroom extremely steep, but well worth the effort. Bed most comfortable, bathroom spotless ... shower took a little getting used to, but we found that all showers in the UK were 'unique' compared to what we are used to back home :)...

More
bk22
Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The cottage was very charming. Chipping Campden was a great little town and a good home base for exploring the Cotswald's. Dover Hill was a nice local hike right up the road from the cottage. The kitchen was small but functional. We picked up some groceries at the co-op and local produce store mostly for breakfast. A small complaint the...

More
Amenities
  • Central Heating
  • Cots:(1)
  • Dining Seats (4)
  • Dishwasher
  • Double Beds:(1)
  • Dryer
  • DVD Player
  • Fireplace
  • Freezer
  • Hairdryer
  • Highchair
  • Internet Access
  • Iron
  • Kettle
  • Living Room Seats (4)
  • Microwave
  • Private Yard
  • Refrigerator
  • Satellite TV
  • Single Beds:(1)
  • Stove
  • Suitable For Children Under 5
  • Telephone
  • Toaster
  • Washer
  • Wi-Fi
Additional amenities & feature info
Enter through the front door into the small hallway with flagstone floor.<BR><BR>KITCHEN<BR>Small, newly renovated kitchen with wooden cupboards, granite worksurfaces and quarry tiled floor. Washer/dryer. Dishwasher. Ceramic hob with electric oven. Fridge. Microwave. Cafetiere. Large fridge freezer in shed in garden.<BR><BR>SITTING ROOM WITH DINING AREA<BR>Comfortable sofa and two armchairs - large enough to curl up in and read a good book or browse through a magazine or newspaper or just sit and gaze at the flames from the log fire. Flat screen TV with Sky. DVD player. Ipod dock.<BR><BR>The dining area is at one end of the sitting room and has a polished wood dining table and four chairs.<BR><BR>Stairs lead from the hallw... more
House rules
    Kid-friendly
    Pets allowed
    Smoking not allowed
Availability
Show Rates
Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Dates Min stay Weeknight Weekend night Per week
Default 3 nights
$150
£120
$712
£570
--
Mar 19, 2017 -
Apr 13, 2017
Default
3 nights
$225
£180
--
$799
£640
Apr 14, 2017 -
Apr 21, 2017
Easter
7 nights -- --
$907
£726
Apr 22, 2017 -
May 25, 2017
Easter
3 nights
$150
£120
--
$849
£680
View all periods
Please note: rates may have been converted from the original local currency to U.S. Dollars and are approximate rates that may change due to exchange rate fluctuation. Please contact the manager to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.
Fees
  • Cleaning : $50 / stay - Fee
  • Dog: $50 / stay - Fee
  • Holiday Planning Service: $50 / stay - Fee
Additional Rate and Availability Information
Prices include all fuel (including logs), linen and towels, fresh flowers and welcome tea tray with home-made cake.

Price for 2 or 3 nights 75% of weekly rate
Price for 4 nights 80% of weekly rate
Price for 5 nights 90% of weekly rate
Price for 6 nights at weekly rate

For Christmas and New Year bookings there is a refundable cleaning/damage deposit of £150.

Payment can be made by cheque, bank transfer (any bank charges must be paid by the customer), Visa or Mastercard. If by card there is a 2% card handling charge except for UK debit cards where there is no handling charge.
Hide Rates
Map
About the neighborhood
Chipping Campden is a small market town built largely by medieval merchants from wealth gained from the wool trade. When coming from the A44 you have an outstanding view and, upon entering the town, you are welcomed by many thatched cottages. <BR><BR>One of the most charming and unspoilt of the Cotswold towns, it is often described as having the most perfect High Street in England, with it’s beautiful honey coloured stone buildings dating from the 14th to the 17th centuries. The Market Hall (now in the care of the National Trust) is an imposing open sided stone arched building, erected in 1627 to provide shelter for the local produce market.<BR><BR>Visitors are welcome in the Old Silk Mill and the workshop of Harts (Gold and Silversmiths) who are descendants of C... more
Access
Car advised
How to get there
Airport: Birmingham: 41.0 mi
Railway: Moreton-in-Marsh: 8.7 mi
Contact the advertiser for further details on the best way to reach this property.
Activities nearby
Fishing Nearby, There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive, Horse Riding Nearby, There Are Tennis Courts Nearby.
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.
How can I contact the owner?
Initially, you may contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.
How will the owner contact me?
This owner will contact you via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox.
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
You can send another message via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.
How do I pay?
For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.
Is my payment insured in any way?
Yes. Payments made via the TripAdvisor inbox are covered by our Payment Protection.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$125
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by manager
Book Now
74 travelers
viewed this property in the past week
this property has payment protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.