We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

South Hill Farmhouse, Cotswolds great house for large get together, Stow on Wold

Save
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England
South Hill Farmhouse is a substantial holiday property located on the edge of the popular market town of Stow on the Wold. The house, which was once a local farmhouse, is situated just off the Fosseway, offers vast accommodation for 17 people spread across three floors, with almost all bedrooms with an Ensuite bathroom! The huge dining room is just perfect for a huge dinner, while the multiple living rooms, plus a games room make it comfortable and ideal for a great entertaining event.

Add to this the convenience of a 5 minute walk into the centre of Stow and you have the ingredients for an excellent choice for a memorable get-together.

ACCOMMODATION
Entrance through to large lobby with space for coats, boots etc
Kitchen (one of two kitchens) with large Aga, two hot plates and four ovens, four ring electric hob with oven and grill, mic...
Read more
About the Manager, Chris Grimes (Property Manager Manor Cottages)
Languages spoken: English
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Listed since : May 2009
Overall rating: 4.7 / 5.0
Based on 300 reviews and 197 properties
Contact Manager See more properties
Listing #HL490664
Reviews from our community
 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ScottishD...
Cle Elum, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I have to agree that the representation of the property does not quite match the description and pictures that are offered online. We were very disappointed in the property. We showed up at the property after a very long and tiring day to find out that several of the bedroom doors were locked with no way to get into them....

More
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback and we are upset to hear that your experience was not a positive one. We do agree that there was an administrative mistake about the number of bedrooms that you booked and as it turned out you had only paid for 8 bedrooms and not 11. However as soon as we heard that you thought...

More

Report response as inappropriate
Brookers7...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Unfortunately this cottage ruined a wedding week and stopped families, some who had traveled from Austrialia being together. The cottages is old and tired and needs some serious updating as it doesn't look or feel like the pictures on the website. The location is on a very busy road which is dangerous for children if unsupervised. During our stay we...

More
Management response:

We have already responded to the same complaint earlier but are happy to do so again although it seems a little unfair to get 2 reviews for the same booking. Most importantly it was not lice at the property it was woodlice which is totally different. It is a misrepresentation to call them lice. On hearing about the complaint we...

More

Report response as inappropriate
Anne B
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Although this is a large house which suits a large family it is not ideal for the elderly or the very young. It is on a very busy main road with a steep drive making it hard to cross the road in a car. During our stay we were unable to use the rooms on the top floor as there...

More
Management response:

We are sorry that the guests did not enjoy their stay at South Hill Farmhouse. We knew they were staying for a family wedding, and appreciating the importance of the occasion, made sure all the crockery, cutlery and glasses were top quality by buying in new ones. We did respond immediately to their complaint about the woodlice within 5 minutes...

More

Report response as inappropriate
Amenities
  • Central Heating
  • Cots:(1)
  • Dining Seats (22)
  • Dishwasher
  • Dryer
  • DVD Player
  • En Suite Rooms (5)
  • Fireplace
  • Freezer
  • Game Room
  • Grill
  • Hairdryer
  • Highchair
  • Internet Access
  • Iron
  • Kettle
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room Seats (22)
  • Microwave
  • Parking
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Private Yard
  • Queen Beds:(5)
  • Refrigerator
  • Satellite TV
  • Single Beds:(6)
  • Stereo System
  • Stove
  • Suitable For Children Under 5
  • Toaster
  • Towels Provided
  • TV
  • Washer
  • Wi-Fi
House rules
    Kid-friendly
    Pets not allowed
    Smoking not allowed
Availability
Show Rates
Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Dates Min stay Per night Per week
Default 3 nights
$942
£725
--
Jul 14, 2017 -
Aug 31, 2017
E
3 nights
$1,430
£1,100
$5,601
£4,310
Sep 1, 2017 -
Oct 19, 2017
C
3 nights
$997
£767
$4,030
£3,101
Oct 20, 2017 -
Oct 26, 2017
D
3 nights
$1,085
£835
$4,290
£3,301
View all periods
Please note: rates may have been converted from the original local currency to U.S. Dollars and are approximate rates that may change due to exchange rate fluctuation. Please contact the manager to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.
Fees
  • Security Deposit : $650 / stay - Fee
Additional Rate and Availability Information
Short Breaks are available in the majority of our Cottages, however there are restrictions:

In summer & other peak dates (see below) Short Breaks will only be accepted within 4 weeks of the start date. At other times of the year, October to end of March, most owners are more flexible and in most cases will be happy to accept a short break booking. We do not restrict you from making an online Short Break booking request, however please do not be offended if we have to offer you alternative accommodation. Please note that holidays extending beyond 7 nights, up to 14 nights, will require confirmation by MC before booking.

The exceptions in the quieter months are:

Bank Holidays
Christmas and New Year
Easter (including School Holidays)
Half Term Weeks
Cheltenham Race Week

Charges

Short Break prices (excluding the booking fee) are set at a proportion of the listed weekly price, are below.

2 nights 75%
3 nights 75%
4 nights 85%
5 nights o...
more
Hide Rates
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.
How can I contact the owner?
Initially, you may contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.
How will the owner contact me?
This owner will contact you via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox.
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
You can send another message via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.
How do I pay?
For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.
Is my payment insured in any way?
Yes. Payments made via the TripAdvisor inbox are covered by our Payment Protection.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$942
/
Night
Week
Book Now
12 travelers
viewed this property in the past week
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.