We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


3.5 of 5 bubbles
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cumbria, England
Smithy Cottage is a traditional Cumbrian cottage ideally located to explore Lake Ullswater. With beams and cosy open fire for cosy nights in and garden for summer relaxation the cottage is an all year round home from home. Keswick and Penrith are within a 20 minute drive and Ambleside is half an hour away.
Tirril is located mid way between Penrith and the bustling village of Pooley Bridge on the shores of Lake Ullswater. Nearby is Rheghed Visitor Centre and Lowther Castle with its restored gardens. Keswick is a 20 minute drive and a trip over Kirkstone Pass leads to Ambleside or Windermere. The market towns of Penrith and Keswick have shops, bars, restaurants, a cinema and swimming pool to amuse children on rainy days, or fell walks can be enjoyed straight from the door.
Smithy Cottage is a refurbished 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom cottage locate...
Read more
About the Manager, Cottage Holiday Group
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: Today
Listed since : Jul 2011
Overall rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Based on 2,203 reviews and 435 properties
Contact Manager See more properties
Listing #FKN2118168
Reviews from our community
 of 5 bubbles
3.5 of 5 bubbles Average - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Location and size of cottage is really good for exploring north lakes. The rest... The place feels tired dirty and a bit un cared for.the main bathroom with the bath was not cleaned so started our holiday cleaning that. We didn't use this bathroom cause it was obvious from the water marks on the floor that it would leak. The...

Management response:

Good afternoon Thank you for your review following your stay at Smithy Cottage, Tirril, Ullswater. We are disappointed to read you experienced problems during your stay. Our office is open Sundays from 11-7. We are sorry you were unable to reach us there or on the emergency number. Work is currently being carried out at the property addressing a few...


Report response as inappropriate
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
person found this review helpful

We had high hopes of Smithy Cottage and I had hoped to give it at least a 4 star rating. First the good points for us - spacious, 3 bedrooms, 3 bath/shower rooms, open fire, internet and the location (5 minutes from my mother in law). We stayed with our 2 grown up sons. However there were so many issues...

Management response:

Good afternoon We are disappointed to read that you experienced problems during your stay. As you aware from our Terms and Conditions which are clearly displayed on our website and sent to you with your holiday confirmation we do ask guests to call us with any problems during their stay in order that we can rectify issues and make their...


Report response as inappropriate
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were a party of 6 . Grandparents, two daughters, granddaughter (14 years) grandson( 6months) Plenty of space for us all. Village offered opportunity to meander with baby and young dog. Walked along small roads to Pooley bridge , we also walked back but could have caught the bus if we had wanted to.. Took the all day steamer to...

Management response:

Good evening Thank you for your review following your stay at Smithy Cottage, Tirril. We are delighted that you had a relaxing week and enjoyed the location. We are sorry to hear that you had a few minor issues, had you brought these to our attention during your stay we would have had an opportunity to address the issues. However,...


Report response as inappropriate
  • Suitable For Children Under 5
House rules
    Pets allowed
    Smoking not allowed
Show Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Dates Min stay Per night Per week
Default 3 nights
May 5, 2017 -
May 25, 2017
3 nights
May 26, 2017 -
Jun 1, 2017
6 nights
Jun 2, 2017 -
Jun 29, 2017
3 nights
View all periods
Please note: rates may have been converted from the original local currency to U.S. Dollars and are approximate rates that may change due to exchange rate fluctuation. Please contact the manager to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.
Hide Rates
Nearby cities
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Make Inquiry
Talk to the Manager
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.