We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scionhill Gatelodge

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Sign in now
Master bedroom
Ensuite master bedroom

Overview
2 bedrooms
2 bathrooms
5 guests
Minimum stay varies 
The minimum stay for this property changes depending on the dates selected
Cottage
5 star Luxury Self Catering accommodation in a beautifully refurbished early victorian Gatelodge. Centrally located for the Mourne Mountains and Co Down coast, Titanic Centre, Belfast, Dublin, Fermanagh lakelands, Giants Causeway and the North Antrim coast. Golf, fishing, cycling, swimming, horse riding and cinema facilities are within a short drive. Many local pubs and restaurants close by. The historic georgian village of Hillsborough is a 10 minute drive away as well as best kept village Moira. For those who like to shop we are close to Belfast, Lisburn, Sprucefield and the Outlet at Banbridge. The rural location ensures a stress free and relaxing break. The accommodation has two large double bedrooms with superkingsize or single beds. The main bedroom has an ensuite wet room with sh...5 star Luxury Self Catering accommodation in a beautifully refurbished early victorian Gatelodge. Centrally located for the Mourne Mountains and Co Down coast, Titanic Centre, Belfast, Dublin, Fermanagh lakelands, Giants Causeway and the North Antrim coast. Golf, fishing, cycling, swimming, horse riding and cinema facilities are within a short drive. Many local pubs and restaurants close by. The historic georgian village of Hillsborough is a 10 minute drive away as well as best kept village Moira. For those who like to shop we are close to Belfast, Lisburn, Sprucefield and the Outlet at Banbridge. The rural location ensures a stress free and relaxing break. The accommodation has two large double bedrooms with superkingsize or single beds. The main bedroom has an ensuite wet room with shower and the other a private bathroom with bath and shower. There is a fully fitted kitchen and utility room with washer, dishwasher and tumble dryer. The large sitting room has comfortable sofas and a wood burning stove and TV and a selection of books and board games. All bedlinen and towels are supplied. A folding bed and cot can be supplied at no extra cost. The accommodation is all on one level so suitable for wheelchairs and disabled access.The doorways are wide. There is additional cost for coal, firewood and turf for the stove.
House Rules
Pet-friendlyKid friendlyNo smoking
Pets may be allowed in consultation with Esther. There will be an additional charge.
Bedrooms
1 King3 Twins
Bathrooms
1 Full bath1 Attached (ensuite)

Meet the host
Esther E
Hosting since August 2012
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 100%
Response Time: Within a few hours
Interaction with guestsI live down the avenue in front of the gate lodge, and am always available for information about local amenities and places of interest. I respect our guests privacy and respond to all guests as they want to be treated.

Contribute
Reviews (36)
Sara M
Sara M
1 contribution
Just perfect
We stayed here for 4 nights and didn’t want to leave so requested if we could stay an extra night. A beautiful house with everything you need. Beautiful location with lots of nearby attractions. Perfect for a bit of relaxation. Esther was lovely and made sure we had everything we needed. Thank you we’ll definitely be back.
Visited June 2020
Written June 22, 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
esther e
esther e
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our historic gate lodge. We would love to welcome you again. Esther
Written June 26, 2020. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Expedition666483
Expedition666483
Perfect peaceful getaway
House was beautiful & had everything we needed. Is in the peaceful countryside but still not too far from places to go. Would recommend & would definitely love to stay again some time.
Visited August 2019
Written August 11, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

17cmf
17cmf
Manchester, United Kingdom14 contributions
Wonderful house and location!
The house is situated in beautiful countryside with magnificent views. It is a clever extension of an old gatehouse retaining nice features and an attractive interior and exterior. The house was the best equipped of any we have stayed at with large comfortable beds and great storage in all rooms. It was spotlessly clean and the owner was helpful but not intrusive. The garden space provided pleasant opportunities for outside meals and watching the beautiful Red Kites gliding gracefully across the sky. There was lots to do during our visit and the Montalto Estate near Ballynahinch was a favourite.
Visited August 2019
Written August 8, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
esther e
esther e
Thank you for your kind words about our beautiful gatelodge Catherine. We hope that you and your family visit us again. Esther
Written August 22, 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rowley84
Rowley84
Greater London, United Kingdom8 contributions
Superb cottage in beautiful rural location
Our stay here was excellent. A beautiful, spacious, cottage well equipped for all our needs and surrounded by fields. Fortunately the weather was glorious and the only sounds were of birds (including Red Kite) and of tractors going back and forth as the farm workers worked until dark getting the harvest in. A visit to Hillsborough Castle whilst here was a must but there are other interesting things to see and do and Esther kindly provides leaflets about these in the cottage. Our stay went too quickly but we will definitely return.
Visited June 2019
Written July 9, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
esther e
esther e
Thank you Caroline. Glad we were able to accommodate you and your family with a great location for your exploration and visits. Esther
Written July 14, 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Odyssey825994
Odyssey825994
1 contribution
Tranquil, peaceful and comfortable!
This is a family friendly cottage that is ideal to come home and relax in after a day exploring. Views are stunning and many of Northern Ireland’s most lovely attractions are a short drive away! Thank you Esther for your hospitality.
Visited June 2019
Written June 14, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
esther e
esther e
Thank you Rhonda. I enjoyed meeting you all. Please come again and give my regards to your lovely mum. I think of her during Songs of Praise.
Written June 26, 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jane H
Jane H
2 contributions
Lovely relaxing holiday
We had a fabulous time at Scionhill Gatelodge, the owner was very attentive and friendly, couldn't do enough for us. The location is stunning with lovely views over the neighbouring mountains. The Gatelodge was clean and comfortable with everything you need for a self catering holiday. We like to cook and found the kitchen really well equipped. Thanks again for a really lovely stay!
Visited May 2019
Written May 27, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
esther e
esther e
Thank you Jane. We keep the kitchen well equipped with a variety of utensils. Glad you found them useful. Please visit again. Esther
Written July 14, 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

dp1980
dp1980
Edinburgh, United Kingdom6 contributions
Poor owner ruined trip
Came here for a family break as well as attending a wedding. Place.is lovely as is location however this was spoiled by a horrible owner whom turns up unannounced to check up on you and drives her petrol driven lawnmower around the cottage on your departure day (before your departure time ) I would highly advise anywhere going there to take pictures immediately upon arrival of any faults or marks and report to tripadvisor within 24 hours. Please make sure to put everything back exactly where you found it. We were accused of several things including stealing a frying pan (left in the dishwasher) and tried to charge us £100 extra.. would not go back or recommend.
Visited March 2019
Written April 16, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
esther e
esther e
I am sorry you feel that your trip was spoiled Davina. I normally knock the door some time after guests arrive to ensure that they can manage heating controls, access internet and deal with any queries. Most welcome advice on local points of interest, shopping etc.and how to contact me if necessary. During out conversation just before you left, you told me how lovely the lodge was and how you had enjoyed your stay. My cleaner and I were disappointed to discover that permanent damage had occurred in the main bathroom. Namely dark stains on the floor, shower curtain and towel. You said they had been caused by hair dye and you had tried to clean up. The cords of a Roman blind in the entrance hall had come off. The supplier came to fix it. While I was mowing roadside grass after 10am.on the morning of your departure, you were packing your car, so I did start on the large garden. I was careful not to go near the lodge. We are proud of our 5 star historic lodge and have enjoyed sharing it with wonderful guests since 2012. We always respect their privacy and do our best to ensure they have a great stay. I am sorry this issue has ended in acrimony.
Written April 22, 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Navigate795439
Navigate795439
3 contributions
Terrible I DO NOT recommend
So me and my family came over here for a nice relaxing holiday we are the kind of family that love peace and quite when we go on holiday and nice country walks well let me tell you this if you are the same and want to enjoy your holiday then don’t come here on the first day we went we where already disappointed as shown in the photo it saids there is a welcome pack so we went to find it well the owner lied there is no welcome pack there is nothing but a carten of milk so that is false advertising. Next thing is the bathroom was dirty it needed a good clean and that was very disappointing to us.the next morning the owner came are door early morning to check us out now that’s ok but givie is a warning because we could of been out. Now don’t get me wrong the place is beautiful and In a nice area but that’s all there is to it . On the day we where going to leave we had to be out by a certain time and we planned on doing that but the owner showed up once again on our time cutting the grass right out side using a very noisy petrol driven lawnmower we are very annoyed we also saw the cleaners waiting around the Conner we where very agrey and annoyed. We ended up leaving very unhappy to make things worse the owner got back in touch say we broke her blind and stole her firing pan and a few other things first of all we didn’t come on holiday to steal a fringing pan we mabye missed place it is it in the cupboard dishwasher. Second the blind is an easy fix you don’t need to get some one professional To fix it for you. She the. Tried to charge us £100 pound we we refused to pay if she tried to complain to trip advisor. We are so disappointed that this has all happened I definitely do not recommend this to anyone will not be going back.
Visited March 2019
Written April 16, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
esther e
esther e
Nobody called Paris ever stayed in SCION HILL GATE LODGE. SORRY Who are you?
Written April 19, 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jane R
Jane R
Cheltenham, United Kingdom4 contributions
Near enough perfect
This stay was booked in a bit of a hurry when previous accommodation fell through - we had other accommodation and a ferry crossing booked, soma bit of a problem. However I can only be glad that happened as this was such a lovely place to stay. The lodge is beautifully presented, well maintained, and spotless. I didn’t find myself thinking ‘if only this room was a bit bigger’ or ‘an extra cupboard would be useful’, or similar, which I think is a first for holiday accommodation! We didn’t use the washer or dryer, but given the wet weather on a couple of days, and the outdoor activities we did, it was good to feel we had the option. In a separate utility room it wouldn’t have disturbed us if we’d used it either. The beds were comfortable, a real contrast with the ones we’d suffered for three nights in our Liverpool accommodation. We had a small crisis on our first full day - the roof sprung a leak. Note that a months worth of rain fell that day, so this was NOT normal weather or a normal occurrence! Esther responded to our call in no time at all, told us to get on with our day, and by the time we returned in the afternoon you wouldn’t have known anything had happened. Despite not being my usual kind of location (I like at least one food venue in walking distance) I’m so glad we stayed here, and thoroughly recommend it.
Visited July 2018
Written August 4, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

PAUL W
PAUL W
Birmingham, United Kingdom8 contributions
Couldn't have been better for us
We wanted a high quality place that provided us with much needed rest and relaxation but was still located conveniently for travelling to Belfast and the surrounding area. Scionhill Gatelodge was a perfect choice. Esther was a great host and was only a 'phone call away if we needed anything. Esther also very kindly allowed our dog to stay. We intend to visit Northern Ireland as frequently as we can and won't hesitate in making Scionhill Gatelodge our first choice. We have already recommended it to relatives who are visiting Northern Ireland.
Visited July 2018
Written July 19, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
esther e
esther e
Thank you Paul. Please visit "drumlin country" again!
Written July 21, 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 36

What this rental offers
Living spaces
  • Highchair
Parking
  • Parking available
Nearby
  • Hiking areas
  • Countryside area
Entertainment
  • DVD player
  • Television
Location info
  • Kid friendly
Kitchen and dining
  • Grill
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Refrigerator
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Things to do
  • Cycling areas
Bathroom and laundry
  • Dryer
  • Iron
  • Linens provided
  • Towels provided
  • Washer
Indoor amenities
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Internet access
Wi-fi and internet
  • Wi-fi
Outdoor amenities
  • Balcony
  • Deck
  • Private yard
  • Terrace

Availability
S
M
T
W
T
F
S

September 2023

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

October 2023

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4

Map
About the neighborhood
The GateLodge is set in a private garden with a plantation of mature trees. Views of green fields, drumlins and the Mourne mountains ensure a peaceful and interesting location for a restorative holiday.
Getting around
A car is necessary if guests want to explore the various places of interest.
Access
Car required
How to get there
Our location close to the A1 duel carriageway and M1gives our guests opportunities to reach all locations easily and quickly by car.

Things to know
Check in / out timings
Check in after 2 PM Check out by 11 AM
Cancellation policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 100% refund* if you cancel at least 2 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available if you cancel thereafter

*Booking fee is excluded from refund amount

Notes from owner
Prices may be reduced for 1 or 2 persons. Contact the owner. A refundable damages deposit of £100 is required.

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.

This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.

For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.

Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Payment Protection.


Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Earn extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Manage booking easily
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to checkout, even while you’re on the go.
Be trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.

This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/HL_Supplier_Logo_2021.png   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #HL222259331

Frequently Asked Questions about Scionhill Gatelodge

Scionhill Gatelodge is able to accommodate up to 5 guests. See all property details.

Scionhill Gatelodge has 2 bathrooms available. See all property details.

Scionhill Gatelodge has 2 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Scionhill Gatelodge UPDATED 2023: 2 Bedroom Cottage in Hillsborough with Terrace and Private Yard - Tripadvisor