We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cosy cottage with a view of Beer village and close to the beach!

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Sign in now
Fishing boats on Beer Beach!
The modern well equipped kitchen!
Fore Street Beer!x

Overview
3 bedrooms
1 bathroom
6 guests
3 nights minimum 
Cottage
Period Stone Cottage in a quiet elevated position with views over Beer Village. The Cottage will sleep 6 guests. Simply and stylishly furnished. Enclosed paved terraced garden. 4 minutes walk to the beach. Beer is an attractive historic fishing village. An ideal cosy cottage and resort for families. A clean safe beach. Enjoy the beach cafes and excellent walking along the coastal path. Sailing and riding close by. Many places to eat without taking the car : restaurants, pubs wine bar and cafes. Day to day shopping at local deli, corner shop, bakers and chemist. A wider choice of shops available at Seaton, Honiton, Sidmouth and Lyme Regis.
House Rules
Pet-friendlyKid friendlyNo smoking
The cottage is not suitable for singles! No smoking inside the cottage please! No pets upstairs please! A charge of £20.00 per dog. A maximum of 2 dogs at one time. Linen an extra charge £15.00 per set No towels provided
Bedrooms
2 Fulls1 Sofa
Bathrooms
1 Full bath

Meet the host
Carol S
Hosting since June 2014
Languages spoken: English
Response Time: Within a few hours
Interaction with guestsCan contact by mobile at any time

Contribute
Reviews (9)
Maps815705
Maps815705
Sunshine cottage at Beer
We had a wonderful break at Sunshine cottage. Very relaxing and really enjoyed the views across the town and distant hills from seated area in the garden and from lounge window. Cottage was great equipped with everything we needed for our stay. Beer is a truly pretty little town. Lother of good places to eat. The Anchor Inn had delicious food and a lovely beer garden overlooking the sea. Holiday lettings was a very efficient company that made booking the holiday very easy and straightforward. Thanks for a great holiday
Visited September 2018
Written September 16, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carol S
Carol S
Hi Gemma Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed Sunshine Cottage and the village of Beer. Please come and stay again. Best wishes Carol
Written September 21, 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

CraigMo79
CraigMo79
Raleigh, NC41 contributions
What a fantastic cottage!
We stayed at Sunshine cottage for 4 nights. Wish we could have stayed longer! It was the perfect location for a vacation in Beer. It was perched up a hill with an easy walk to downtown and the beach. We parked our rental car in the downtown paid parking and it was not that far. It had a nice outdoor picnic table that we ate most of our meals at. You can walk to Seaton on a coastal foot path that is highly recommended. Thank you Carol!
Visited July 2018
Written August 9, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carol S
Carol S
Hi Craig Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Sunshine Cottage. Best wishes Carol
Written August 11, 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Holly G
Holly G
A great place to stay
We had a lovely stay in Beer at Sunshine Cottage. It was very well equipped and in the heart of Beer itself. Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for a self catering stay by the sea. Only reasons for not being a 5 star review is that I think a hand rail for the stairs would be good, and also the garden was quite overgrown and needed a bit of attention.
Visited June 2018
Written June 12, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carol S
Carol S
Hi Holly Thank you for you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Sunshine Cottage. It is the first time that anyone has mentioned that there should be a handrails for the stairs. We will consider this. As far as the garden is concerned we have left the garden like that as we like the natural flowers that have grown up. Kind regards Carol
Written June 29, 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jomidd39
jomidd39
38 contributions
Beautiful escape
Lovely cottage , well maintained, everything you could wish for and need , highly recommend Can’t wait to go back
Visited December 2017
Written January 5, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carol S
Carol S
Hi Sorry I didn't answer the review earlier. Thank you so much for the review.
Written June 29, 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Raymond Keith S
Raymond Keith S
Exeter, United Kingdom21 contributions
Lovely cottage!
We were delighted with this cottage, very well equipped and clean throughout. Living room/diner is bigger than it looks in the photos and the bedrooms are a decent size too. There's also a large brick shed/store with ample room for bikes or kayaks etc if you have them. Very warm and cosy even in December!
Visited December 2016
Written January 2, 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carol S
Carol S
Thank so much for the review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Sunshine Cottage over the New Year. Carol and Reg Shanahan
Written January 5, 2017. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Texturising
Texturising
3 contributions
Lovely Cottage
This lovely Cottage was really delightful. It was equipped with everything you could ever need, really there was nothing it hadn't got that I wanted. Very clean. Very nice bedrooms. Sitting on Bench outside cottage and the little Garden was great. Only blip for me was TV a bit too small. Owner very helpful & accomadating. So glad I ignored previous bad review, as I was thrilled with this little cottage. Very clean & NO Dog hairs!
Visited September 2016
Written September 11, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carol S
Carol S
Thank you Marilyn for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Sunshine Cottage and hope that you come to stay again. Replacing the TV for a larger screen is on the agenda. Kind Regards Carol
Written September 13, 2016. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

littlemissredshoes
littlemissredshoes
Suffolk, United Kingdom1 contribution
Would'nt stay again..
Our trip didn't begin very well as we had not been given directions to the cottage neither had the owner explained just how difficult access was. I was travelling alone with 2 children and a baby, we were unable to park any where near the cottage and unloading was extremely difficult. parking was £15 for 3 nights at the local car park. We were then very disappointed with the standard of accommodation itself, the furniture, particularly the sofas are very old, tired and grubby. The beds were not made up and pubic hairs were found on the mattresses. The crockery and cutlery needed to be cleaned before we could use it, and every conceivable surface was covered in black pet hair. I did ask the owner for a refund for the last 2 nights of our 3 night stay so we could find alternative accommodation. The owner responded by saying she would re-send the cleaner, however this didn't happen. Beer is a beautiful location and the cottage is in a very peaceful spot, however it really needs updating and prospective holiday makers need to be made fully aware of the difficulties involved with access.
Visited June 2016
Written June 28, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carol S
Carol S
I find the comments utterly staggering. Our cleaner had cleaned the cottage on Tuesday morning and we had inspected the cottage in Tuesday afternoon ready for our regular guests to arrive on Saturday. I received an enquiry from Kerry on Tuesday and she booked late on Tuesday. I was able to text her details of where to collect the key and the full address of the property. I emailed her further details on the Wednesday. I believe Kerry arrived about 6pm on Wednesday but I did not know that Kerry was unhappy until the afternoon of Thursday. I did ring our cleaner but she was unable to return. However she was equally staggered with the comments. The sofas are not old, tired and grubby. I had checked the cutlery myself and they were not dirty. The beds were not made up as linen was not supplied and I had explained that to Kerry. I had also checked the mattress covers as I have spare covers always available. I definitely dispute the black hairs everywhere. I am sorry that the cottage did not meet your expectations. The majority of our guests visit every year and are extremely happy. I have never received one negative comment.
Written June 29, 2016. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

nancy2003lamb
nancy2003lamb
Bristol, United Kingdom39 contributions
fantastic cottage
Excellent facilities here- very well equipped. Clean, tidy and comfortable. Would definitely return. Access could be a problem for anyone with limited mobility as its up a steep hill, but in the heart of everything
Visited May 2016 Traveled with family
Written June 1, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carol S
Carol S
Thank you very much for the excellent view. I hope you visit again
Written June 2, 2016. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

celeste23
celeste23
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom30 contributions
Short break away
Just returning from a lovely weekend away in Beer. Stayed in Sunshine cottage, which was lovely and peaceful. The cottage is on a very quiet terrace next to the church. It has two double bedrooms and one single all which are spacious and a family bathroom. The kitchen is very well equipped with everything you could need. The little garden out the front was a lovely place to sit and take in the view over the village. There is no parking due to the location of the terrace but a small bay at the end of the terrace where you can park for 2 hrs or after 6pm you could park till 9am the next day. The main car park in the village was also very reasonable and a secure place to park. It is in a great location for all the shops and pubs and the beach is a 4 min walk away. Overall a lovely spacious cottage in a great village would recommend
Visited September 2015
Written September 21, 2015. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carol S
Carol S
Thank you for your comments.
Written June 2, 2016. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-9 of 9

What this rental offers
  • DVD player
  • Grill
  • Central heating
  • Dishwasher
  • Dryer
  • Freezer
  • Refrigerator
  • Highchair
  • Internet access
  • Iron
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Patio
  • Private yard
  • Stereo system
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Television
  • Washer
  • Wi-fi
  • Fishing spots available
  • Golf course (within 30 mins drive)
  • Golf course (within 15 min walk)
  • Horse riding facilities
  • Tennis court
  • Watersports
  • Beachfront/Lakeside
  • Cycling areas
  • Hiking areas
  • Countryside area

Availability
S
M
T
W
T
F
S

May 2023

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3

June 2023

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1

Map
Access
Car advised
Activities nearby
Fishing spots availableGolf course (within 30 mins drive)Golf course (within 15 min walk)Horse riding facilitiesTennis courtWatersports


About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.

This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.

For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.

Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Payment Protection.


Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Earn extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Manage booking easily
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to checkout, even while you’re on the go.
Be trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.

This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/HL_Supplier_Logo_2021.png   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #HL2224610016

Frequently Asked Questions about Cosy cottage with a view of Beer village and close to the beach!

Cosy cottage with a view of Beer village and close to the beach! is able to accommodate up to 6 guests. See all property details.

Cosy cottage with a view of Beer village and close to the beach! has one bathroom available. See all property details.

Cosy cottage with a view of Beer village and close to the beach! has 3 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at Cosy cottage with a view of Beer village and close to the beach! must last at least 3 nights. See all property details.

Cosy cottage with a view of Beer village and close to the beach! UPDATED 2023 - Tripadvisor - Beer Vacation Rental