Lugo Cathedral

The Cathedral construction was began in 1129 under the direction of Maestro Raimundo, and the church is dedicated to St. Froilan, the patron saint of Lugo. The ground plan of the church is in the form of a Latin cross and the ceiling is a pointed barrel vault. The main facade (which is in the Neoclassic style) and towers date from 1769. There are elegant choir stalls carved by Francisco de Moure in 1624. There is a beautiful statue of Nosa Señora dos Ollos Grandes by Fernando de Casas Novoa in 1720 in one of the chapels. The Blessed Sacrament is perpetually exposed in the Cathedral.