Church of Santa Maria 

 

The Church of Santa Maria is located at Carrer Doctor Callís, 15. This is the highest point of the old town. The old church was destroyed by the Turkish pirate Barbarrosa in 1543. The new church was built in the middle of the 16th century with the late Gothic style. The façade is painted white and it has a bell tower with a square base and the part above has an octagonal shape. The most important thing to see in the church is the 18th century Baroque altarpiece (School of Vic), which was designed by Jacint Moreto and made by the sculptors Pau Costa and Joan Torres. The altarpiece is 23 meters high and is the most important altarpiece in the area. There are nine other altarpieces that are smaller and made of gilded wood. The organ was made by Josep Bosca in 1691 and is one of the oldest organs in Catalunya. 

Entrance to the church is only allowed on mass days: Saturdays at 7.00pm, Sundays at 11.00am (times change depending on the season). It is closed the rest of the days, although the altarpiece can be seen from the outside from 10.30am to 12.45pm and from 4.00pm to 4.45pm.