The history of McKinney is inextricably intertwined with the very beginning of Texas' history as a state. McKinney is the county seat for Collin County which was carved out of Fannin County in 1846.  The laws at that time required that a person be able to travel on horseback across a county within three days and the county seat was to be located within three miles of the geographic center of this area.  Further, the instructions said that in each county two sites were to be selected and a vote held to determine which site would become the official county seat. There were two or three established cities in Collin County at the time, one of which was within seven miles of the geographic center. Residents assumed that that city, Buckner, was close enough to qualify and so gave the legislation little thought. Two sites were selected, the present site of McKinney's town square and another site a short distance to the south.  The vote was held but due to inclement weather, the proponents of the southern site were unable to stem high waters to make their votes and the other side won the election, taking all ten of the votes cast. Little seemed to come of the vote as business operated as usual from the town of Buckner until one day in 1848 when John L. Lovejoy hitched a team of oxen to his dry goods store and had the building in its entirety drug deep into the dense bramble that is now the locaton of McKinney's courthouse square. Other settlers followed and McKinney, named after early settler and signer of the Texas Declaration of Indepence Collin McKinney, began to grow.