Built between 1804 and 1837 by James Barton, The Upper Mill still retains an operating water wheel which is accessible to the public through a free self-guided tour. Run for many years by the Rowe Brothers, The Upper Mill originally served as a hub to local tradesmen containing wood and metal shops, a black smith and grist mill; today it is home to boutiques, a café/bakery and bar. It is currently listed on the National Register of Historic Places and serves well as a lively jocund glimpse into a bygone staple of American life.