Ste. Anne de Détroit was part of the French Settlement, Fort Ponchartrain du Détroit, which was established by French officer Antoine Laumet de La Mothe, sieur de Cadillac in 1701. The parish of Saint Anne is the second oldest Catholic parish with a continuous record in the United States. The Church's history is closely associated with the history of Detroit, and its records, beginning in 1704, are a valuable source of information, especially on the French residents of Detroit. Although the original Ste. Anne no longer stands, the current Ste. Anne was completed on October 27, 1887; The Complex consists of five buildings: church, rectory, school, convent, and parish hall. The church, designed in a basic cruciform plan by Leon Coquard, is built in the style of Gothic Revival , and contains the twin spires design common in northern French churches. The thirty-five foot altar is a entirely gothic design with spires, pinnacles, turrets and flying buttresses. Below the steps of the main altar lies the crypt containing the tomb of Father Gabriel Richard (1767-1832), a figure who looms large in the Church's history. From 1823-1825, Father Richard was the first priest to serve in Congress. He was also one of the founders of the University of Michigan.