We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Our Lady of the Mountains Parish: Shrine of SS. Peter and Paul. 125 Fayette St., Cumberland, MD 21502
Founded by Bishop John Neumann, the first American male to become a Saint in 1977. Construction began in 1848. The parish is currently served by The Capuchin Franciscan Friars, since 1875. The style is Gothic with pointed arches throughout the structure to symbolize folded hands in prayer. Some of the high points include the wooden doors crafted by Amish furniture makers, the three bells weighing 1000, 600 and 300 pounds that have been electrified and still ring, the 24 stained glass windows were created in Innsbruck Austria and delivered in 1902 at a cost then of $5,280.84. There are symbolic medallions and symbols everywhere in the church. The cushions on the chairs were designed and completed in needlepoint by a parishioner, Thomas C Cumiskey. The organ was installed in 1948 and is the largest of its kind in this part of the country. The writing on all the windows is in German.