We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly. We support the following browsers:
The modern history of Camden dates back to 1605, when it was first discovered by Captain George Weymouth, who sailed the Archangel up Penobscot Bay and anchored there on June 15th. He particularly took note of the Camden Hills in the backdrop of the landscape. Over the next 150 years, many ships sailed past and always mentioned the hills.
However, even with the knowledge of where the area of Camden was for more than a century and a half, the first settlements were not made until James Richards arrived in 1769.
After the American Revolution ended, in 1791 the town received its current name. During the following century, Camden grew in both population and industrial worth (mainly as a result of ship building). By 1870, the population had reached more then 4,500 people.
In 1892, a devastating fire wiped out the business area of the city of Camden . In response to this disaster, the town’s people rebuilt the buildings, this time using brick instead of wood.
At the beginning of the 20th century, Camden was finally being recognized for its natural beauty, and soon wealthy tourists began coming to the area.
For more information, check out this detailed history of Camden .