San Jose Convent

 

The San Jose Convent is located at Plaza de las Descalzas. The Carmelite Nuns of Santa Teresa founded this convent in 1632, while its church was built in 1734. The façade is Baroque and the architect was Tomas de Melgarejo. It has a rectangular form crowned with a pediment and has two parts. It is made of brick and the main doorway is topped with an arch and is between pilasters. The lower part is decorated with Greco-Roman motifs of sirens, tritons, winged horses, and masks. The upper part has a niche with the terracotta sculpture of San Jose. Beside this are coats of arms of the Jesuits. The church has the Latin cross design with only one nave and a crossing. The main altarpiece was made in the 18th century by Diego Marquez. A lateral chapel is that of Santa Teresa, with interesting sculptures. Another is that of San Jose. The figure of San Jose was hit by lightning and the head was reconstructed by Andres de Carvajal. There is a Rococo retable of the Virgen del Transito. There are important paintings in the church. Pedro Atanasio Bocanegra painted La Virgen con el Niño Adorados por San Miguel, San Gabriel, San Ildefonso y Santa Catalina. Other good paintings are those of the Virgen de Belen (18th century), and a San Jose and Inmaculada of the sculptor Nicolas Fumo from Naples.