Construction on this Wat began in 1369 on the site of the cremation of King Ramathibodi.  However the prang, the most imposing and recognizable feature, was not built for another 100 years, The prang  has some decorative details that have survived into the present day such as the garudas, nagas and walking Buddha images.  Located within the Wat Pra Ram park it overlooks a small lake and some lily ponds and is considered one of the most photogenic wats in Ayutthaya.