The e-Visa will become compulsory on September 1st 2015. you will be denied boarding of your flight to Kenya or
denied entry to Kenya if you do not have your printed copy of your e-visa with you.

You are advised to apply for a visa 7 days in advance of your intended travel date, though approvals are usually granted within 2 to 3 days.

1. Click register on
2. Select Register as a Visitor.
3. Once Logged in, Select Deparment of Immigration services.
4. Select submit Appplication.
5. Select Kenyan Visa.
6. Select the type of Visa and read the Instructions Carefully.
7. Fill in the application form.
8. Pay Using visa card, Mastercard and other debit cards.
9. Await approval via email, then download and print the eVisa from your eCitizen account.
10. Present your printed eVisa to the immigration officer at the port of entry.

Things you will need to apply for the Kenyan eVisa

  1. A Digital Passport Photo of 500px x 500px max.
  2. Know the type of Visa you need.
  3. Scanned copy or photo of the biodata page on your passport (the page with your photo, name and biographical data).
  4. A credit card for online payment (Visa or MasterCard Credit or Debit card).
  5. Additional Documents e.g. Invitation letter, Hotel Booking or travel Itinerary.

Types of Visas for Visiting Kenya

The type of visa you must have is defined by the Kenyan and Visa Regulations, and relates to the purpose of your travel.

  1. Single Journey Visa: Issued for Single or Multiple entries to persons whose nationalities require visas to enter Kenya. Used for both business and tourism.
  2. Transit Visa: Issued for periods not exceeding three days to persons whose nationalities require visas to enter Kenya and who intend to transit through Kenya to a different destination.
  3. Diplomatic Visa: Issued for Single or Multiple entries to holders of Diplomatic passports who are on official duty.
  4. Courtesy / Official Visa: Issued to persons holding Official or Service passports on Official duty and to Ordinary passport holders who are not entitled to a Diplomatic visa; but where it is considered by the Director to be desirable on the grounds of international courtesy.
  5. East Africa Tourist Visa: This is a joint tourist visa that entitles holders to travel to and within the Republic of Kenya, Republic of Rwanda and Republic of Uganda for the purpose of tourism. Validity of East Africa Tourist Visa: 90 (Ninety days) Multiple Entry.

Costs of Kenyan Visas


Visa Type


Single entry visa (Business or Tourism)


Transit visa


East Africa Tourist Visa


Courtesy Visa