As of October, 2007, New Mexico now has two area codes. The northwest region of the state, including Albuquerque and Santa Fe, still has the 505 area code.  The rest of the state now has the 575 area code.  The area code split affected all phone numbers in the state, including wireless numbers. During the "permissive dialing period" (from October 7, 2007 until October 6, 2008) the old 505 area code will still be usable in areas where the new 575 area code will be applied. Beginning October 7, 2008, the correct area code must be used. For complete info, including a list of telephone exchanges that will be affected, see this page.