The third smallest state in the Union, Connecticut was one of the original 13 colonies, and it was actually the fifth of the original 13 states. The first inhabitants were Paleo-Indians who likely settled in the region about 1,000 years before the Europeans arrived.

At the time of the British arrival in the 17th century the dominating tribe in the region were the Mohegan, and it is the state’s name likely comes from a tribal word that means “Long River Place.” British settlers from Massachusetts founded several new towns including Hartford and New Haven, and the colony’s charter was drafted in 1662.

The state was the scene of a few military encounters during the American Revolution, and following the war Connecticut became the fifth state to ratify the new Constitution of the United States of America.

In 1877 the very first telephone exchange in the world opened in the city of New Haven, Connecticut. And in 1900 the first United States Navy Submarine, the Holland was constructed by the Electric Boat Company and launched in the state.

Today Connecticut is often simply thought of as a suburb of New York City, but in fact this small state is rich with medium sized cities, plenty of small towns and vast treks of unspoiled land.