We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Turaida Medieval Castle was built in 1214 according to the Bishop
Albert’s directive. Gradual expansion and building continued until the
16TH century. The castle was one of the Riga Archbishops’ residencies.
After the collapse of Livonia states, Turaida castle became a private
property and a part of the manor. After the fire in 1776, it was not
renovated but the manor owners’ living house was built in the castle
yard. Romantic castle ruins attracted the tourists’ attention already
in the 18TH/19TH century. The sight area in the big round tower was
built in 1936 but its restoration was started in 1953. 1973 was the
start time for archeological excavations that lasted for more than 25
years followed up by restoration and reconstruction. Nowadays the
expositions about its history and epoch events are located in the
Turaida Medieval castle is part of Turaida Museum Reserve. Enjoy amazing view from main wachtower down to primeval valley of River Gauja, Dainu Hill with sculptures and Gauja National Park. In the territory is one of the oldest wooden churches in Latvia, built in 1750. Memorial grave place for Rose of Turaida. Legend tells about joung girl who secrified with her life in the name of love. Some 800 m down the main road is located Gutmana Cave - famous with inscriptions on the walls.