St. Anne’s Church

 

 

St. Anne's Church (Annakirche) is located at Annagasse 3B. The church was built in 1518 using the Gothic style. The Poor Clare Sisters took care of the church. Later the Jesuits took over and in 1634 the Jesuits transformed it into a Baroque church. After a fire in 1747, Christoph Tausch transformed it into late Baroque. The ceiling frescos were created by Daniel Gran in 1751. The first one is the Glory of St. Anne. The next fresco is the Glory of the Virgin Mary. The last is the Glory of the New Born Christ. In 1906 the Oblates of St. Francis took over the church.