Interested in Lisbon?
We'll send you updates with the latest deals, reviews and articles for Lisbon each week.
Topics include Transportation, Portugal: For Foreign Visitors & more!
June to September: 10:30-11:00 am, 11:30-12 noon, Monday to Saturday.
October to May: 11:00-12 noon.
Closed Sundays and holidays.
Tours are guided.
The palace was built in 1670 by Joao Mascarenhas, the first Marquis of Fronteira. It was a hunting pavilion in the outskirts of Lisbon. The style was Italian Renaissance, with Portuguese touches. What is interesting about the palace and gardens is the amount of blue and white tile one can find in them. This palace is the only surviving suburban private house that still survives from the period when it was constructed. The 1755 earthquake destroyed the house of the Marquis in downtown Lisbon, so the Fifth Marquis built an extension to the present palace and the plasterwork was redone in the Rococo style.
The Room of Battles has a very large amount of the blue and white ceramic murals, explaining the battles the first Marquis experienced in the War of Restoration (1640-1668). The palace has period furniture and many important oil paintings, one of them an El Greco of the mother of one of the Marquises. This is a very good decorative arts museum. Today the 12th Marquis of Fronteira still lives in the palace.
The gardens are formal gardens with fountains, a large pool, and plenty of blue and white ceramics. There is a Gallery of the Liberal Arts, which shows many sculptures of classic themes. There is a Gallery of Kings, with sculptures of all of the kings of Portugal.
It is best to take a taxi to the palace. For a return to downtown Lisbon, there is a bus stop in front of the palace and leaves about 15 minutes before each hour, and drops one off at Sete Rios, where there is a metro stop.
Note: Photography is not allowed in the palace. One can take photos in the gardens.