Royal Gardens (Jardines del Real), in 1560, was called Jardines de Viveros (Nursery Gardens) and Felipe II ordered four thousand plants from it to adorn his Palace of Aranjuez. Within the gardens there was a Palacio Real, but this was removed in 1810 during the Spanish War of Independence for strategic reasons. This Palacio Real was the residence of the kings, viceroys, and captain generals. In 1814 after the war, the captain general of Valencia, Francisco Javier Elio, had the remains of the palace worked to make the present park. Today the large garden has many trees, benches, fountains, and a small artificial lake that has ducks and a waterfall. The park also has many sculptures.