Basilica of San Vicente Ferrer

The Basilica of San Vicente Ferrer is located at Calle Cirilo Amoros, 54. The church is part of the Dominican  Real Convento de Predicadores. San Vicente Ferrer was a saint born in Valencia, but he died  in Vannes, France, and was buried in its Cathedral. The church was started in 1906 in the Neogothic style and the architects who worked on it were Francisco Estruch, Joaquin Maria Arnau Miramon, and Francisco Almenar Quinza. The church was finished in 1919. The church has a Latin cross ground plan with five naves. The two exterior naves have the chapels. The stained glass windows were made by Maumejean of Madrid and show scenes in the life of San Vicente Ferrer in the main nave, while showing the mysteries of the Rosary in the crossing and presbytery. During the Spanish Civil War, the church was heavily damaged. In 1951 Pope Pius XII gave it the title of minor basilica.

The central nave has pointed arches and has pilasters and columns that have Corinthian capitals. The facade has two towers that are topped with needle like spires and there is a rose window on top of the main doorway. The towers each measure 39 meters. The cupola has an octagonal shape and has a height of 45 meters, having eight windows that bring in light and have stained glass that uses Bohemian crystal. The main altar has a canopy and it has the image of San Vicente Ferrer. On a side chapel of San Jose, there is this altarpiece dedicated to the Virgin, called the Altar del Rosario, made from wood and alabaster. It was the work of Jose Justo Villalba.