We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Church of San Gines is located on Calle Arenal, 13, downtown, near the Puerta del Sol. The facade is quite plain, but what characterizes this church is the loggia in front, which is like a covered porch. The architect was Juan Ruiz and it was built in 1645. There was a terrible fire in 1824 that destroyed much of the church, but between 1870 and 1872, the architect Jose Maria Aguilar reconstructed the church. The main altar has a copy of The Martyrdom of San Gines, the original having been destroyed in the 1824 fire. There are impressive green marble columns at the main altar. The Santisimo Cristo Chapel has a crucifix of ivory done by Alonso Cano, as well as the painting of Cristo de la Humildad. There is a painting by El Greco, Expulsion de los Mercaderes del Templo. Lucas Jordan painted La Presentacion de Nuestra Señora. There are also four angels done in bronze by Pompeyo Leoni, and these were gilded by Juan Ortiz. All in all, San Gines is a beautiful church.