Interested in Segovia?
We'll send you updates with the latest deals, reviews and articles for Segovia each week.
Topics include Transportation, Spain: For Foreign Visitors & more!
SUMMER (April-September) - From 10:00 a.m. to 19:00 p.m..
WINTER (October-March)- From 10:00 a.m. to 18:00 p.m
October: Friday, Saturday : Summer opening hours.
Rest of the week: Winter opening hours.
The Segovia Castle was first built during Roman times at the confluence of the Eresma and Clamores Rivers. The first documented record is from the 12th century, when the Moors were there. Alfonso VI of Castile captured Segovia from the Moors around 1122. The Alcazar was rebuilt several times because it was the favorite castle of the kings of Castilla and it was considered impregnable. It looks like the bow of a ship today. In the 13th century it took a Gothic look. The fortress was always important in the control of Castile. This was the place where Isabella was proclaimed queen and where she later married Ferdinand. King John II built the New Tower and was the king who made the most modifications to the castle. Later King Felipe II made more modifications to the castle and added the sharp slate spires that were in style in Central Europe. Later the castle served as a prison and later as a military college. In 1862 a big fire destroyed the roofs of the building, but reconstruction started immediately and this continued through the 1940s. The Alcazar Trust was created in 1953 and this trust is in charge of the museum toay.
The important rooms are the Hall of Ajimeces, the Throne Hall and the Hall of Kings, which has a frieze that shows 52 images of the Spanish Kings and Queens of Asturias, Leon and Castile. The castle has works of art and also a display of knights' armor. There are 156 steep steps to go up a spiral staircase to the upper part of the Juan II Tower, and one can get a good view of the city from there. There is a Sala de las Piñas, which is decorated with wood paneling that contains 92 golden pineapples. The chapel has two beautiful altarpieces. One was made in the 16th century and made by Viana de Cega. The other is dedicated to the apostle St. James and has the painting Adoration of the Kings that was made by the artist Bartolome Carducho in 1600.