Stone Bridge


The Puente de Piedra (Stone Bridge) is located at Paseo Echegaray y Caballero. The bridge is the oldest bridge that crosses the Ebro River. The bridge was built between 1401 and 1440 by Gil de Menestral in the Gothic style. There was a flood in 1643 that destroyed two central bridge spans and in 1659 the architect Felipe de Busignac restored them. In 1789 the architect Agustin Sanz strengthened the Ebro River coast so protect the bridge from further flooding. The bridge is also called the Bridge of Lions because there are four lions that are on the pillars on both sides of the bridge. The lions are the symbol of the city.