Interested in Granada?
We'll send you updates with the latest deals, reviews and articles for Granada each week.
Topics include Transportation, Spain: For Foreign Visitors & more!
Santuario de Nuestra Señora del Perpetuo Socorro
Location: Calle San Jerónimo, 35
Monday to Saturday: 8:00, 13:15, 19:00, 20:00h
Sunday: 9:00, 11:00, 12;00, 13:00, 19:00, 20:00, 21:00
The Religiosos Filipenses built the convent in 1671, and this was called San Felipe Neri. In 1835 the Spanish Government expropriated all church property in Spain and the convent was closed. The convent was acquired by the Redentorist Order in 1912 and renamed the Santuario de Nuestra Señora del Perpetuo Socorro. The architect of the original convent was Melchor de Aguirre, who also worked on the Cathedral. The plan follows the Latin Cross. The façade has two parts. The lower part has the main doorway between double Roman columns and above the door there is an icon of the Perpetuo Socorro carved in stone. The second part of the façade has a Gothic rose window. There are three naves in the interior and the naves are separated by large Corinthian pilasters. At the crossing there is a cupola that is austere, and without decoration. The sanctuary has three large retables made by Francisco Romero. The main retable is dedicated to Santa Maria del Perpetuo Socorro. At the left side is a retable dedicated to San Alfonso Maria de Ligorio, founder of the Orden Redentorista and the one on the right side is dedicated to the Sacred Heart of Jesus.