When one walks in the park in Malaga, it is interesting to understand all the monuments and sculptures in the park.

A. Starting from the Plaza de la Marina going to the Plaza de Torrijos fountain, using the sidewalk to the right:

1. Monument to Salvador Rueda, 1931.

Sculptor: Francisco Palma Garcia. Adrián Risueño added the eagle.

This monument has an obelisk, eagle, and the face of Salvador Rueda. Salvador Rueda was a famous poet and journalist who was born in the small Malaga town of Machariaviaya and lived between 1857 and 1933.

2. Fuente de los Niños, 1967.

Artist: Juan Ruiz de Luna.

This fountain at the Paseo de las Curas has ceramic figures of 8 baby boys (they could be cherubs). Juan Ruiz de Luna was one of Spain's most famous ceramists who made this in Talavera de la Reina. Malaga is planning a museum for him.

3. Platero (The Donkey), 1968.

Sculptor: Jaime Pimentel.

The poet Juan Ramon Jimenez wrote the poem "Platero y Yo" in 1914, and the donkey was named Platero. This poem became a favorite with Spanish children and their parents.

4. El Fiestero, 1998.

Sculptor: Miguel Garcia Navas.

This sculpture is that of a man in costume enjoying a party ,holding a tambourine in his hand.

5. Fuente de la Ninfa con Cantaro (Fountain of the Nymph with a Large Pitcher), 1877

Workshop of A. Durenne

The bronze statue of the nymph shows her pouring water from a large pitcher to the fountain. The base of the fountain is octagonal and faced with tile from Sevilla.

6. Fuente de la Ninfa con Caracola (Fountain of the Nymph with a Seashell), 1877

Workshop of A. Durenne

The bronze statue of the nymph shows her pouring water from a large seashell to the fountain. The base of the fountain is octagonal and faced with tile from Sevilla.

7. Bust of Muñoz Degrain, 1923.

Sculptor: Diego Garcia Carreras.

Antonio Muñoz Degrain was a famous painter who lived between 1840 and 1924. While he was born in Valencia, later he lived in Malaga and produced much of his work in this city.

8. Recinto musical Eduardo Ocon, 1950's.

This small auditorium has aluminum seagulls by Jaime Pimentel, from 1962.

Eduardo Ocon was born in Malaga and lived between 1834 and 1901 and became a famous pianist and composer. He wrote a lot of religious music.

9. Statues of Summer and Winter, 19th century.

The statue of the young woman represents summer and the old man represents winter.

10. Glorieta del Dr. Modesto Laza Palacio, 20th century.

Dr. Modesto Laza Palacio was born in Velez-Malaga in 1901 and lived until 1981 and was famous for being a botanist with many publications.

11. Monument to Bernardo Ferrandiz, 1913.

Artist: Diego Garcia Carreras.

Bernardo Ferrandiz Badenes was a famous Spanish painter, born near Valencia in 1835 and lived to 1885. He was considered one of the best artists from Valencia, together with Sorolla and Degrain. Degrain influenced him to move to Malaga and the Malaga Bellas Artes Museum has 13 of his paintings.

12. Monument to Ruben Dario, 20th century.

Artist: Jose Planes

Ruben Dario was a Nicaraguan poet who lived between 1867 and 1916. He started the Spanish American literary movement known as modernism. He was also a diplomat and Ambassador to Madrid. He was one of the greatest poets who wrote in Spanish.

13. Monument to Antonio Canovas del Castillo, 1975.

Sculptor: Jesus Martinez Labrador

Antonio Canovas del Castillo was born in Malaga and lived between 1828 and 1897. He was a very important Spanish politician, prime minister and historian. He supported the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy to the Spanish throne, but he was assassinated by an Italian anarchist at a spa in Mondragon, Guipuzcoa..

14. Plaza de Torrijos

Fountain of the Three Graces, 1879.

Sculptor: J. Vasquez

The Three Graces in classic mythology were protectors of sweet water. Jose Maria de Torrijos was a famous military man who lived between 1791 and 1831. He fought in the War of Independence against Napoleon's forces. He became Minister of War in 1823. When the king was restored in Spain, he fled to England and organized expeditionary forces against the Spanish king. In 1831 he was captured by the forces of the king and was shot by them on a beach in Malaga.

B. Returning to the Plaza de la Marina

15. El Biznaguero.

Sculptor: Jaime Pimentel.

A biznaguero is a person who sells jasmine flowers that have been arranged on a stalk. This flower arrangement is common to Malaga.

16. Monument to Narciso Diaz de Escovar, 20th century.

Narciso Diaz de Escovar was born in Malaga and became a famous writer, lawyer, poet, journalist, and writer of dramas. The bust is done in bronze.

17. Monument to Comandante Benitez, 1926.

Sculptor: Julio Gonzalez Pola.

Comandante Benitez was Julio Benitez Benitez, a famous military man born in El Burgo in 1878. He distinguished himself in the war in Cuba and later was transferred to Melilla in Africa. He was assigned to defend Igueriben in 1921 and fought the troops of Abd-ed-Krim. Benitez was the hero of this war, but was killed by enemy forces. He said, "Those of Igueriben die, but never surrender". The monument to him remembers his heroism and bravery. Only 4 Spanish soldiers survived, out of 300.

18. Monument to Carlos Larios y Martinez, 1907.

Sculptor: Mateu Fernandez de Soto.

Carlos Larios y Martinez de Tejada was the Marques de Guadiaro, and receive his title from King Alfonso XII in 1875. He was the nephew of Martin Larios Herreros, the first Marques de Larios. The Larios Family was the richest family in Malaga in the 19th century and were industrialists who started the iron industry in Malaga. They were owners of large tracts of land and had many businesses.

19. Monument to Arturo Reyes.

Sculptor: Adrian Risueño.

Arturo Reyes was born in Malaga in 1864 and lived until 1913. He became a famous poet and novelist in Spain.

Reference: Guia Historico-Artistica de Malaga by Rosario Camacho. Rosario Camacho is a professor of art history at the University of Malaga and is the best authority about the history of Malaga. Her book is the best reference about Malaga.