Built by the British in 1804, Fort George was part of a series of fortifications in the northwest area of the island of Trinidad overlooking the Gulf of Paria. It is a short drive up a hill from St. James and is about 20 minutes by taxi from Port of Spain. The original fortifications included ships and ramparts at the bottom of the hill in addition to the fort, all of which were intended to defend the island of Trinidad from pirates and invading countries who might try to take possession of the island.

Even though Fort George still has several of the original cannons bearing the Coat of Arms of the British Royalty of that time, the fort never saw any military action in its entire existence. During times of rumors of war or civil unrest on the island, merchants and wealthy plantation owners would use the fort to hide their records, cash and valuables from being looted or destroyed by the citizenry.

A signal station was also established at the same site in 1802, and the present-day Victorian styled Signal House was built about 1883, ceasing to operate as a signal house in 1964 when newer, modern signal towers were built atop a hill north of the fort. The building was restored in 1965.

The lockup that never housed any prisoners and was used to safekeep valuables is now used to store maintenance materials. The bars on the doors and windows of the lockup were made from old rifle barrels and are still in excellent condition.

Some of the original rock fortification walls still stand, and there are several picnic tables on the grounds for visitors to enjoy a meal or snack. The views of nearby Gulf of Paria with its many ships, Port of Spain, Westmoorings, West Mall, Bay Shore, Carenage and Point Gourde are stunning from the fort. On a clear day you can see all of Caroni Swamp and beyond as well as the hills of Venezuela to the southwest. There is no admission fee, and it's well worth the drive just for the views.