St. Andrew's, also known as The Kirk, which has been a dominant feature on the skyline of St. Georges for over 170 years, suffered catastrophic damage during Hurricane Ivan in September of 2004. Only the tower and part of the Southern wall remain standing, as a mute testimony to the destructive power of a hurricane.  Entry to the ruins had been restricted for safety reasons but restoration of the interior of the tower, which contains a large turret bell and clock dating back to the 1830's, has been completed and it is hoped that it will be opened on a limited basis to the public in the near future.