We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing holiday mansion!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Yockenthwaite, Buckden, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suzanne M
2 reviews
“Amazing holiday mansion! ”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We've just arrived home after spending a fantastic week at Oughtershaw Hall. 14 guests consisted of 2 grandparents, 6 parents and 6 children ranging from 11 years to 6 weeks old! On arrival at the hall we were amazed at how beautiful the property was. We were lucky with the weather which enabled us to have lots of days out and come home to a swim in the indoor pool. The adults loved the luxury of having our own sauna and the kids loved having their own private pool for the week! Ben was on hand to check everything was ok and the highlight of the week for the 5 oldest children was being invited to his farm to have a ride in the tractor and on the quad bike and meet Daisy the puppy! It was a week of virtually no technology as no one had any signal on their phones but it was definitely a week of fun! Whilst we could have quite happily whiled away the days at the hall either in the pool or hosting our own sports day, we took advantage of the good weather and the local attractions, visiting Wensleydale creamery in Hawes, Aysgarth Falls and the Kettlewell scarecrow festival. Relaxing in the evening was surprisingly easy in the very comfortable sitting rooms. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook enough food for everyone and with all modern gadgets and 2 dishwashers keeping the kitchen clean was very easy to do! Considering there were 16 of us, you could quite easily walk around the house and get lost whilst looking for someone, which the children thought was great fun! If you are lucky enough to stay here, you definitely won't be disappointed. My 6 year old is already asking when we can visit the mansion again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this incredible review, we are absolutely delighted that you and all the family had a great holiday at Oughtershaw Hall. Your holiday sounds like perfection from start to finish, and with happy children, adults enjoying the luxury and great weather to boot, we aren't surprised! We certainly hope you return for another wonderful break very very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family celebration”
Reviewed April 15, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Wow, what a place. The photos on the website didn't do it justice. From the friendly welcome from Ben on arrival, the roaring fires that greeted us, the fabulous accommodation, the excellent swimming pool and the amazing location this place has it all. Yes it's in the middle of nowhere with no phone signal, but that's part of the attraction. We had a fantastic week, making as much noise as we liked while playing family games to the small hours, enjoying swimming at midnight, discovering it was further to walk to the pub than we thought and a trip to see the lambs at Bens farm. If you're looking for somewhere special Oughtershaw Hall is the place to go. A brilliant family week, thanks to Ben and the Sykes team for making it so special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The weather!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2016
We couldn't be happier that you had such a wonderful family celebration at Oughtershaw Hall, thank you for taking the time to share this incredible review with us. What a unique experience to have the freedom to have as much fun as you liked without having to worry about noise, and really enjoy your quality family time together! Playing games into the night sounds like the perfect way to spend your holiday! We certainly hope that you will be back to enjoy it all over again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Family 70th birthday celebration”
Reviewed March 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were a family party of 7 adults and 5 children for a weekend birthday celebration. The whole experience exceeded our expectations. Local farmer Ben who managed the property provided excellent service and entertained the children on a wonderful farm visit. Magnificent countryside and walks by the river.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2016
We are over the moon that you enjoyed your time at Oughtershaw Hall, and that the property was even better than expected! What a treat for the children to have a tour of the farm, and the walks by the river sound like something for everyone to enjoy! We certainly hope that you return for another stay very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieRobi...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oughtershaw hall for my 50th birthday ”
Reviewed February 27, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had my 50th birthday at oughtershaw hall , couldn't of picked a nicer place to spend my birthday with my family . It's in a lovely secluded area , so clean and well equipped for large groups . The pool and games room was loved by not just the kids in our group but all of us . The bedrooms and bathrooms are luxurious and was lovely sitting in front of the log burners at night . If u want a extra special place to go then I would highly recommend Oughtershaw hall , will definitely go back ..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review, we are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your time at Oughtershaw Hall. It is wonderful to hear that the property was such a great venue your special birthday celebrations! It sounds like it had something to keep the whole family happy what with the pool and games room, as well as that touch of luxury for such a special occasion! We certainly hope that you will be back in the very near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cazzyann...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas in Beautiful settings”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a brilliant Christmas with family at the house. It is a stunning location and the house is like something out of a movie. The decor is excellent, luxurious and wonderfully clean. I must also mention every bed in the house was very comfortable, which is a great bonus on holiday. The children enjoyed the days in the swimming pool and the adults enjoyed the evenings in the main lounge area in front of an open fire,which was a wonder!
We would especially like to mention Ben the local rep who really went above and beyond during our stay. We took a trip to his local farm and he allowed the children to feed the animals. It was a real highlight for them and one they won't forget. An overall unforgettable trip. Thanks Sykes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2016
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share this thoroughly lovely feedback with us, we are over the moon that you had such a great Christmas stay at Oughtershaw Hall! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed all of the facilities on offer and that there was something special for both the adults and the children in the party - the pool and the open fire sound wonderful! We certainly hope that you join us for another holiday very soon, we'd love to have you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Bash”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

OMG the pictures do not do it justice. We had the most amazing time, was like being royality for a week! The walks, views and pubs were amazing, along with with swimming pool and sauna!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of room, so could get away and find a wee space all to yourself if required.
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2015
It is fantastic to hear that the property exceeded your expectations and we are ecstatic that we were able to help make your celebration special. The next time you'd like to be kings & queens for the week we'd be more than happy to make that happen!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia G
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Completely amazing. A house right out of a magazine”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed recently with extended family. The house has just been released as a holiday house and it's absolutely wonderful. Every room has been beautifully decorated and expensively furnished with gorgeous furniture and beautiful artwork. The kitchen and eating area is huge and there is a massive island for socialising at. The en suite bathrooms are very luxurious. The on site swimming pool is a wonderful bonus. Many of the rooms overlook a beautiful river and waterfalls. There are many lovely walks from the front door. There are three lovely lounges and excellent wifi. Our children loved the basement games room which was well equipped with a great range of games. To be honest we just couldn't fault this lovely house. It really is very special and we feel so delighted to have been one of the first families to use it. If you can afford it book it. You won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing