We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best restaurant....”

Kalamaki Restaurant Beach Bar
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Kalamaki
Price range: $3 - $28
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Kalamaki beach we hope you enjoy your stay. Kalamaki has been around for an odd 40 years subsequently the whole area getting the name of the seaside taverna where we offer fresh local food made according to traditional recipes. Kalamaki derives from the word kalami meaning fine bamboo straw which once covered the area and beach. If there is anything in our power to do for you we would be happy to help out! Cretan hospitality is in our blood. Relax ... Indulge ... Once again welcome.
Reviewed June 22, 2018

The owners are still here and serve and taking care of the customers like professionals - staff are still the same and they take there jobs seriously and with care.
I had most of my lunches and dinners here and I was never unhappy.
I can highly recommend this restaurant any time of the the day.

7 stars out of 5 :)

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StefanS6110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 315 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Like others on the local area, will deliver on location, quality of food and service. As long as you can embrace the Greek way of life, this one will do.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018

Nice evening at Kalamaki restaurant, got some appetizer - kolokitokeftedes, fresh fish - sea bass and sardine - and tasted some Greek beers - Lyra (brewed in Crete - Kissamos by Mediterranean Micorbrewery) and Noctua (brewed in Athens) suggested by the waiter. Good choice, especially Lyra. Ended with baklavas end chocolate sweets, really appreciated.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mauro_ts_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018 via mobile

My girl friend and I checked into the hotel attached to this beautiful beachside establishment around 3 o’clock in the morning to find out the son of the owner Nick, was waiting for us to arrive to check us in graciously . When we woke up early the following morning with early plans we rushed into the restaurant to find the owner. He was more than helpful when we told him we had 15 min to grab food and be on our way. “No problem what do you want?, eggs sausage, bacon? “ we said all the above and had 2 plates of their kalamaki breakfast, cup of FRESH SQUEEZED OJ and a latte packed and ready to go in 10 min! Talk about haste! We were very surprised and gracious! We ate breakfast every morning we were there and dinner and cocktails as well. The staff was very helpful with not only the menu but with suggestions for things to see and do on the island including other restaurants they recommended. Steven and Nick who work there are the sons of the owners and they made us feel like family. We truly will miss there service and company. One more thing, Nick makes one mean dark Mojito. Highly recommended ! Love this place. If we ever come back this will be top of our list just because of the staff alone!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

Nick, his brother, and father will make you feel like family. Breakfast is on point, American style eggs and crispy bacon! One morning we were in a rush and they whipped it up in under 15 minutes togo. We also had lunch and dinner, the the Kleftiko lamb with tomatoes and cheese was perfect and the tzatziki and grilled pita bread is heaven! You have to try Nick’s special dark Mojito ! Oh and the fresh squeezed OJ is a must!!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalamaki Restaurant Beach Bar also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Kalamaki, Chania Town
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Kalamaki, Chania Town
 
Kato Daratso, Chania Prefecture
Agii Apostoli, Chania Town
 

Been to Kalamaki Restaurant Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing