We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
146
96
22
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
146
96
22
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great view eden lodge salt water nosy be the main problem the managers mosquito net beautiful hotel low tide bay bleu cocktails pools sea massage luxury eco
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 276 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2019 via mobile

First time in Nosy Be, first time in Madagascar. Nobody to ask before. Open hearts, open minds, searching for nature and pitoresque. Internet- L heure bleu hotel - love at first sight. Best accomodation, paid in advance : no air condition, just a tired ventilator. Explanation - you can use the natural breeze...Not so because the humidity is about 90%, outside are at least one thousand musquitos ready to attack, temperature is about 30 degrees C. The beach : 30 meters from the hotel is the village dejection sewer right in the sea, 100 meters from hotel, every morning around 8 o clock, a zebu herd is taking the morning bath. Hotel restaurant food - a nice surprise. Tasty and good looking. First night - no electricity. Explanation : we have a generator but it happens....Second night - party on the beach for local teenegers - the bass is in my stomach till 1 o clock. Explanation : we contact the owner of the disco-bar but, you know, we can not force him, Madagascar is a corrupt country, bla,bla. The truth : L heure bleu hotel, needs your money. If after you make the payment, you show up, it is on your own big risk.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank alex352Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck F, Directeur at L'Heure Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2019
Google Translation

Bonjour Monsieur, je suis Franck le Directeur de l’établissement. Je vous réponds en français car la réception m’a informé que vous le parliez bien et traduirai cette réponse en anglais. Je suis très choqué par votre commentaire. J’étais en déplacement lors de votre venue mais je peux vous promettre que l’Heure Bleue est loin d’être un établissement vénal contrairement à vos violentes accusations. Nous sommes au contraire attachés à donner notre maximum au niveau du service et jamais nous ne sommes regardants lorsqu’il s’agit de vous faire plaisir.

Nous n’avons effectivement pas de climatisation car nos bungalows et lodges sont conçus en matériaux locaux, vous avez par contre un ventilateur au plafond doublé d’un ventilateur à pied. Il est précisé sur notre site et les différentes plateformes de réservation que nous ne proposons pas la climatisation !

Je tenais aussi à vous préciser qu’il n’y a pas de tout à l’égout à Nosy Be et que nous sommes en pleine saison des pluies. Par conséquent l’eau de pluie doit s’évacuer et il y a 3 buses sur la plage pour désengorger les terrains derrière les hôtels. Ces conduits d’eau ne sont visibles que de fin décembre à fin mars.

Tout le monde se fait un plaisir de voir le troupeau d’une quinzaine de zébus qui se baignent à plus de 300 mètres de l’hôtel. Malheureusement le spectacle n’est qu’hebdomadaire puisque le troupeau n’est emmené à la baignade seulement les dimanches. Chaque personne de l’hôtel y va de sa carte postale. L’océan est grand, à Nosy Be et ses environs nous avons la chance de jouir d’une des mers les moins polluées du monde. Pas d’industries, de bassins d’épuration, de produits toxiques ou chimiques rejetés dans la mer par les activités humaines. A quelques mètres de la plage les baleines, requins baleines, raies manta, espadons, tortues marines, coraux et des milliers de poissons sont là pour rappeler la pureté des eaux.

Par rapport à l’électricité, Nosy Be est un des seuls endroits de Madagascar où les coupures sont très rares. Et lorsqu’elles arrivent nous rétablissons le contact immédiatement grâce à notre groupe électrogène. Hors il y a eu une coupure pendant la nuit et à 3heures du matin le groupe nous a lâché ; le technicien arrivé sur les lieux à 5h30 a rétabli le contact à 7h00. Nous nous excusons vraiment pour cet incident qui est le premier depuis 4 ans que je gère l’établissement.

En ce qui concerne la musique sur la plage en effet, une fois par semaine, encore le dimanche, il y a une fête organisé pour les familles de Nosy Be et tous ceux qui veulent y participer. La musique y est certes forte mais elle n’est plus aussi bruyante qu’auparavant et c’est la seule fois de la semaine où il y a autant de personnes qui se baignent sur la plage au milieu d’une ambiance très locale. C’est vrai que le son est fort mais c’est la fête une fois par semaine et vous y êtes aussi convié.

Tout ça pour vous dire mon cher Monsieur que vos accusations inadmissibles qui nous traitent de profiteurs voire de voleurs ne sonnent pas juste à mon oreille et il serait honnête de votre part de supprimer les insultes de votre dernière phrase…

Bonne journée

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

We spent 11 beautiful days in the hotel. It is all natural, still a bit luxury, with its breathtaking garden and view to the ocean. The two swimming pool is really good too.
The staff, including the managers are very very friendly helpful and kind. If you go to Nosy-Be you should stay in the L'heure Bleue!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 677p_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018

We were only at the hotel for one day/night. This hotel has a relationship with the Eden Lodge, where we had just spent five lovely nights. Because our plane back to Tana left at an ungodly hour in the morning, we were moved to this hotel to avoid a boat transfer in the dark.

We loved our room. Spacious, a GREAT shower, and a view of the beach. There is also a great sea water pool where we could swim, overlooking the beach below. As many have mentioned, if you are there when low tide is during the day, there is not much of a beach. Great view, but not great for beaching. It did, however, give us a chance to get into Helville and get some postcards. (There is not much else to do in Helville!).

The restaurant was great and the staff very welcoming. And when our early morning flight got canceled, they had no problems with us staying in our room until our later departure. Their flexibility and helpfulness really make this a special hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jcrane66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2018

L'Heure Bleue is a very attractive property set in sloping gardens facing a beach. I'd be careful about selecting what type of bungalow. Ours were spacious and comfortable with a balcony over the water where we spent hours just watching the beautiful scenery. But some other types of bungalow looked a bit cramped. Others are larger but up the hill in the garden without sea views.
Nights are warm but our room had a strong ceiling fan.
When you arrive from frigid Europe, the beach looks lovely. But after spending time on islands and hotels further afield, it's actually not that an amazing a beach for Madagascar. At low tide, you have to walk some ways down the beach or out to sea to have a proper swim. Apparently a recent cyclone reduced the size of the beach so this situation may improve over time. Still, it's an attractive spot and we did long walks along the beach to check out other hotels and rental villas.
There are two pools at the hotel, one saltwater and one fresh, but the main problem here is that after mid-afternoon they are in the shade,.
There are some walks you can do from the hotel in colorful countryside.
The common areas of the hotel are very pleasant with couches and chairs spread around an attractive covered patio with plenty of chess-sets and other games. There's no real wildlife near the hotel but they do have tortoises in the garden, and there are geckos about. And the food is fantastic, some of the best we ate in Madagascar. They have some pure Malgache dishes, and lots of French-inspired dishes using local flavors.
The staff were very friendly. You can also have an excellent massage.
One minor complaint I'd have is that they should provide guests with some free bottled water given the heat.
All in all, this a very pleasant place to stay but I wouldn't make it the main hotel for a stay in the Nosy Be area. There are much more beautiful beaches elsewhere, such as at their sister property Eden Lodge. But given that because of logistics and flight times, a stay on the main island of Nosy Be is often needed, this is an excellent place to begin or end a trip.

Room tip: be very sure about sort of bungalow you are getting - they vary and not all have sea views
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank marcopolo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2018 via mobile

Located about 45 minutes away from the airport and we passed by Hellville along the way to stay in this guarded Ecolodge that has a room facing the Sea. There is a salt water and a freshwater pool within the development. A restaurant overlooking the bay serves some good selection of traditional and French fares.

Room is big and clean. Comes with a fridge and also a safe. Note that it is without air conditioning but comes with a mosquito net. Walk out to a deck with a lounger and a hammock or be seated at the high counter and bench with a cocktail during sunset would be cool. However, during low tide, people walk pass below these decks with little privacy.

During the stay, WiFi was working intermittently one of the nights and there was no hot shower.

Overall a no frills stay. It should be considered good compared to the living standards of Madagascar.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 3Xaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews