We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,004)
Filter reviews
1,004 results
Traveler rating
781
167
34
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
781
167
34
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal beach cleaned every day wonderful hotel main restaurant nosy be perfect base top quality restaurants and bars big bathroom sea view air con english madagascar internet paradise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,004 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

We booked a week long trip to madagascar planning to stay here. We booked 3 months in advance through hotels.com and received multiple confirmations. After a 31 hour flight from San Francisco, we arrived to RB to find our reservation had changed to another hotel multiple miles away. Unclear if the fault lays with hotels.com or RB but what is clear is that we were treated with disrespect and apathy after flying across the freaking globe. Management offered us literally nothing as compensation. A drink, a meal, ANYTHING would have made us feel a bit better. Instead they sarcastically said they did all they could and sent us away. The lack of empathy was appalling and I'm still angry about it. Even if it was hotel.coms fault that they were over booked, I would excpect a real establishment to treat us with more respect and hospitality. We had to cancel multiple excursions and deal with commuting multiple miles for the week trip at the new hotel. Such a bummer.Silver lining: we stayed at the palm beach resort and the accommodations and people were much much nicer. Dont stay here.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Geraud G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoP18, Directeur général at Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Good Morning Mr Géraud,

We understand everything and we apologize about the inconvenience, but we do not accept what you have said about our staff and our hospitality that was impeccable, accompanied by the welcome drink with the subsequent communication of over booking at RB.

I remember you that about 2 months before your arrival many messages have been sent to inform you about the problem without ever having received any answer.

In the hotel where you were , to be precise same category , same treatment and 5 minuts from RB, you have been given the up-grade in bungalow instead of a standard room and discounts on excursions .

We are sorry for the inconvenience and we thank you for your understanding.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

My experience was exceptional on all levels at this hotel. It was a perfect base to have while in Nosy Be. A beautiful environment, great and friendly staff (English speaking), clean rooms, and a perfect location. A short walk down the beach will take you to many optional restaurants and bars. I really cannot fault this hotel at all for any reason. Just a beautiful experience overall, and as a solo traveller, I can also recommend to families and couples, as it caters to all needs. Thank you again so much for the amazing 8 days!!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank AdamT3507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

I do not know why this hotel ranks as luxury in any capacity. It’s dirty and poorly maintained. Furnitire is antiquated and not clean. The bathroom area is skimpy with the toilet area separate from the shower. Staff is not friendly nor helpful. The pool area is not great either. The breakfast in the hotel is good but otherwise I would highly recommend you stay elsewhere.

Date of stay: August 2018
2  Thank jerugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anto P, Directeur général at Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Good Morning,
it's really strange that you wrote the negative review on our hotel when we do not have American customers since June.

We kindly ask you to let us know, also in private, with which agency you have booked, which room you have occupied and how possible that in the same day you were in 3 differents hotels ( 2 in the united states and 1 in our hotel in Madagascar).

Sincerely we think that your review it 's FAKE or you were wrong hotel !

Waiting for your kindly reply, best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2018

5 Star hotel. Walking distance to restaurants and clubs. There are cheaper hotels nearby, however this is very nice comfort. Organized a fishing trip was awesome. I have been back there 3 times since 2014

Date of stay: July 2017
3  Thank Madagascar_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016

I have spent one week in nov 2016 in this village.

The village is great, not too large (about 75 rooms), with two swimming pools and a large spa. Very good quality/price ratio.

The beach is fine (nothing special).

The restaurant is very good, you have always different choices at the buffet. There is also a second restaurant with service, and usually in the package purchased by each person is allowed one dinner there. The upgrade to the lobster dinner is not worth for the 20€ or the full cost of 30€.

The entertainment is nice, and respectful. On the beach you should be anyway prepared to be involved in games. For those who do like not to be disturbed there is one area at the second swimming pool. The first morning we arrived at about 07:00 (the rooms were ready) and I did not appreciate that between 08:30 and 09:45 every 5 minutes there was loudly an announcement on the village presentation; one is very tired for the overnight flight and it was not possible to sleep at the beach.

The flight operated by Meridiana is very bad!
Milano Malpensa-Nosy Be 16:35-04:30(+1)
Nosy Be-Mauritius-Milano Malpensa 05:30-18:35
The flight lands in Nosy Be too early.
The flight takes off from Nosy Be too early and last few hours more.
THIS IS THE WEAK ASPECT OF THIS TRIP!

A special mention is due to the excursions. Around Nosy Be there are marvelous places to visit. The main question is if one does it with the hotel organization or with the "beach boys", i.e. local people they meet you on the public beach.
HOTEL ORGANIZATION
Advantages
It is easier and less stress to organize
The food is managed at the hotel
Disadvantages
The costs are usually high
The number of persons in each trip is rather high
The hotel organization is not flexible and they do not organize anything than they present
BEACH BOYS
Advantages
The beach boys are flexible and they can also organize a special tour like the one you like
The costs are usually low
The number of persons in each trip is rather low and in many cases the trips are organized alone for you
Disadvantages
It is not so easy and create some stress
The food is managed by local people

Room tip: The de luxe rooms are in the relax area, however no sea view.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Flauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews