We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and rooms”
Review of The Clive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clive
Ranked #1 of 1 Bromfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We arrived at The Clive in the pouring rain having been to a wedding rehearsal to be met with my very angry BM seething that her room had been cancelled without her permission. The staff were a little dismissive of the issue initially, scuttling to and from the Office and not really saying much and i was shocked at their lack of an apology as they apportioned blame to the wedding party having changed a few times however, they eventually rectified the issue by switching us all around - not ideal and would have liked the courtesy of an apology but never mind. I would argue that this is a faulton the part of the office staff and not the desk staff who bore the forfront of a very tired soggy gaggle of girls!
Myself, the Videogropher and a BM shared a family room following being switched round. It was spacious and contemporary with big beams in both rooms. There were lots of treats in the fridge though these were a little pricey and cheaper in the food Centre opposite. The bathroom had underfloor heating and there were two seperate rooms one twin and one double linked by the corridor to the bathroom. Althought the room was nice, boy was it hot, it was so hot on the night that it was unbearable and we were unable to sleep. The service was good, if you rang reception the lady who answered was prompt and polite. The breckfast menu was lovely and extensive making sure that all tastes were catered for and there were lots of the usual nice littel complimeentry touches such as broillies to use and shower gels etc. Overall. I would stay there again!!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahKBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theclive1, Manager at The Clive, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2010

We were disappointed to read your review and feel compelled to respond to the complaint about accommodation as we feel that the Clive has been unjustifiably criticised.

The original booking for rooms was made by the bride but we subsequently received several changes to the accommodation requirements from different members of the group. One of the calls we received was from the bridesmaid from which we understood that she wished to cancel her room and consequently a cancellation number was given to her during the telephone conversation. However, when the bridesmaid arrived here, although we firmly believed that the Clive was not at fault, we were very sympathetic to the problem and did everything we could to secure alternative accommodation at another hotel which we did succeed in doing. However, this proved to be unacceptable and after a lot of switching rooms, we were able to arrange a sharing arrangement with her friends.

Whilst having to accept your comments, we would like to point out that although one of the guests cancelled a second night’s accommodation on arrival and 3 rooms had late check-outs, no additional charges were levied by us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 531 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2010

The room was too hot to be comfortable day or night.when windows were left open the rooms filled with flies.
We arranged for dinner each night of our stay at 8pm,only to be asked to have our meal early due to large parties having been arranged,and the staff not being able to cope.2nd night of our stay we were shown to a table,only to be asked to move after having settled.3rd night a private buffet filled the bar area leaving no seats for resident guests to have a pre dinner drink,resulting in us again being asked to go into the dining room early for our dinner.
having paid for 4 night stay we decided that after 3nights we had had enough and left early.
On complaining to the assistant manager he stated that it was always like that and could see no problem.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tea59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed here for two nights in June. Because we have two children, we booked the family suite which consisted of two bedrooms and a separate bathroom. The price for this was £170 per night. When we arrived we were disappointed as the rooms were extremely hot and, as we were on the ground floor, it was not really feasible to open the windows. They had a fan in each bedroom which we kept running permanently, even when we were out, to make the rooms bearable when we returned. There are very few power points in each bedroom so we had to unplug the fridge to put on the kettle. The people were friendly and the breakfasts were freshly cooked to order but I would not recommend this hotel as it is over priced.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaureenHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed here with another couple for a long weekend. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious, bathrooms were immaculate. The service in the restaurant was excellent, as was the food. Although outside the town it was only a 10 minute drive or a short taxi ride away.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancesPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Old farm buildings restored superbly to create modern eating & sleeping environment.
On the main roadside but unaware of any vehicle noise, particularly as spacious en-suite rooms are in a separate restored building at the rear. The staff were very friendly & the restaurant menu was varied. The cost of the meal we had reflected the quality of the food & represented good value for money. We will certainly stay again when we return to explore more of this beautiful historic area.
The only query with "The Clive" is whether the rooms may be humid in summer, as ventilation appears limited. The Management seem to be aware of this as the rooms we saw had fans provided.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carnevale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit and found The Clive to be very good value for money. We were very impressed by the high specification of the accommodation and found the peace and quiet of Shropshire to be a most welcome contrast to the constant noise of London. Our evening meal was of extremely high quality and absolutely delicious. The wine list was comprehensive and reasonably prices. The staff were friendly, welcoming and attentive. We could not have asked for more.

All in all, with hindsight, we wish we’d booked for two nights instead of one.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lol85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

The accomodation is fabulous and breakfast and service were excellent. HOWEVER.....the heating made the stay very uncomfortable. We had to sleep with the windows wide open (it was -3 degrees outside) to get the inside temperature down to a reasonable level. The hotel said it was because the boiler is located in room 104. Also, there was no hot water for baths the following morning. Again, the hotel said the system could not cope with the number of guests. Not very good and a real shame - I wanted to love this place and make many return visits in future.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thewestbromfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromfield
1.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
479 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
935 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
477 reviews
3.7 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#5 of 48 in Ludlow
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clive

Address: Bromfield, Ludlow SY8 2JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow > Bromfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bromfield
Price Range: $108 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Clive 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 En-suite bedrooms situated in period outbuildings tastefully converted to provide contemporary accommodation. Bedrooms are very well equipped and some suitable for families. With an emphasis on fresh local produce the Clive Restaurant is renowned for locally sourced food, two AA Rosettes and entries in the Good Food and Michelin Guide. The Bar offers less formal dining and lighter menu. Located in Bromfield just 2 miles north of Ludlow with ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clive Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Bromfield
The Clive Ludlow/Bromfield, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing