We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The Clive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clive
Ranked #1 of 1 Bromfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed December 31, 2006

Very good two night stay with my partner just before new year. Very large spacious rooms in converted barns that are separate from the restaurant/bar area, good breakfast in the mornings, ample parking and very efficient and friendly service from the lady who runs the place. It is only 2 miles from ludlow village, 5 pounds in a cab which the hotel will sort out for you. Only thing I could possibly fault it for was the boys who served breakfast could have been a little more charming, they were quite stiff, and the restaurant area is characterless which is why we didn't eat there - though the food is apparently excellent. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Liked — spacious rooms
  • Disliked — lack of sky/internet etc
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NATALIECheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    161
    62
    24
    8
See reviews for
87
257
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2006

Wish this was one of a chain of similar delightful places to stay! Having inspected some really dismal drab hotels in this area we finally chanced upon the Clive (5 minutes drive outside Ludlow, on the road to Shrewsbury) and had a super stay in a lovely spacious stylish room with a sparkling bathroom. The food at dinner was delicious and the service relaxed and friendly. The whole experience left us feeling really good about the Clive. It is good value for money (£70 bed and sumptuous breakfast) and I would heartily recommend it.
miaaclark@aol.com

  • Liked — stylish, well planned, spacious. Excellent bathroom
  • Disliked — Not within walking distance of Ludlow
  • Tips/Secrets — Breakfast finishes promptly at 9.30, its really good, so don't miss it!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mialanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2006

Unfortunately we were unable to make time during our recent stay to enjoy the food offered but from what we saw it looked marvellous and we are intending to make sure we have enough time to take advantage of it on our next visit

We were very impressed with the rooms - this is no ordinary B&B offering instead boutique hotel style rooms with fabulous bathrooms and plenty of space. There was not a piece of chintz in sight instead lots of neutrals which looked great

We are definitely intending to use the Clive on our next visit to the area

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The_White_Rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2006

We stayed at The Clive in March 2006, we went for a nice relaxing weekend, and it was the perfect location. Our room was in the converted barns - it was huge, spacious, clean and had everything you could need, very comfy bed, two wardrobes, sofa and chairs and a spotless bathroom! The food at The Clive is wonderful, we didn't bother going elsewhere to eat both nights we stayed. Breakfast was delicious, a combination of help yourself and from the menu. Everthing was perfectly cooked, even my other half's scrambled eggs, and he's fussy! I thoroughly recommend The Clive, we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Esskay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 16, 2006

Spent a lovely weekend at the Clive to do some Christmas shopping in Ludlow and to celebrate a birthday.
Lots of parking, lovely large room separated from main bar/restaurant area so lovely and quiet.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and had the £25 meal, it was delicious but very filling.
We ate in the cafe/bar on the Saturday night and had a wonderful meal.
The breakfasts were great, they do smoked haddock with a poached egg which is a lovely light option.
To summarise - a delightful venue for a visit to Ludlow.
I am going again in February.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2005

Having just returned from a family Party, could not fault this Hotel for getting 1st class service. The rooms are beautiful and spacious,very clean and comfortable. The meals were excellent and the restaurant meal was one of the best our party of 12 had for some time. The staff were excellent and dealt with all our request, would not hesitate to return,soon I hope.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JudyxxxPunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2005

Really impressed by the Clive. The rooms are in a converted barn and are spacious and modern. The bathroom was fresh and stylish.

Food is available next door in the Bistro.

A short drive out of Ludlow.

Would have no hesitation in either staying here again or recommending it to others.

All in all, excellent value for money!

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Roseybud73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromfield
1.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
445 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
438 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 48 in Ludlow
219 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#4 of 48 in Ludlow
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clive

Property: The Clive
Address: Bromfield, Ludlow SY8 2JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow > Bromfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bromfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Clive 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 En-suite bedrooms situated in period outbuildings tastefully converted to provide contemporary accommodation. Bedrooms are very well equipped and some suitable for families. With an emphasis on fresh local produce the Clive Restaurant is renowned for locally sourced food, two AA Rosettes and entries in the Good Food and Michelin Guide. The Bar offers less formal dining and lighter menu. Located in Bromfield just 2 miles north of Ludlow with ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clive Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Bromfield
The Clive Ludlow/Bromfield, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing