We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms in a good location”
Review of The Clive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clive
Ranked #1 of 1 Bromfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms in a good location”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel (or restaurant with rooms) is well located, about 2 miles out of Ludlow, near to the ludlow food centre. The main feature are the superb sized rooms which are on offer. Compared to other hotels in Ludlow the price is reasonable and is good value for money. The best part is the walk into Ludlow on a well surfaced bridal path (easy walking even in ordinary shoes, a bit up and down but you get some great views), which takes about an hour or so and brings you out at Dinham close to the cafe. it is also very quiet another plus, though The Clive is also a pub so bear this in mind.

The downside - well not many we thought, but the full english breakfast (when we had it) had too much fat for our taste (it was in fact a good old fashioned fry-up with local ingredients - so from that point of view very good).. the next day we had poached eggs and an omelette - both very good. the breakfast room can also be a little airless, especially in warmer weather.

Definitely a great place to stay - this is probably our 5th visit!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    160
    62
    24
    8
See reviews for
83
254
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Met up with friends for a special reunion. Greeted warmly. Very good service and food was delicious. Given plenty of time to chat between courses. A lovely place for a relaxing treat. Look forward to a return visit.

Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank se262014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A brilliant place to explore historic Shropshire and the foodie capital of England, Ludlow. A fantastic restaurant with first class service and food and great accommodation too. The rooms are in a courtyard to the rear. They are large, clean, modern and well equipped. reflecting the Ludlow Food Centre next door, all the drinks and food in the mini bar were sourced locally.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianlomas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were large and comfortable. Stayed in the family suite. Breakfast was amazing and really enjoyed the fresh croissants, brilliant produce and variety in hot menu. Recommend this stay highly.

For the actual restaurant I would recommend the chef change the very bland amuse bouche as it was a poor start to the meal. The meal itself demonstrated good tasting local produce and was solid cooking.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayCLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward799, General Manager at The Clive, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for this kind review. We have recently improved our breakfast with croissants, home made granola and fruit compôte, our own freshly baked bread and rare breed Gloucester Old Spot bacon, sausages and black pudding from the Ludlow Food Centre. I am sorry that the amuse bouche was bland and will of course pass this on to our chef.
I hope that you were able to take some happy memories back to Australia!
Edward Berry
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I have just returned from a 3 night stay here. There were 22 of us in the group that I stayed with and I cannot find fault with anything at all to do with our stay. The accommodation, food and staff were excellent and would definitely recommend The Clive to other people and would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were not disappointed with our stay at this venue. The restaurant/rooms adjoin the Ludlow Food Centre and there is also a handy village shop/post office next door. The staff are mainly young, friendly, helpful and polite. The food was very good and the soups deserve special praise. Only very minor downside was a "corked" bottle of wine which was replaced without any fuss. The rooms are in blocks at the rear so you avoid noise, smells etc. Very comfortable and spotlessly clean. This is an excellent location for discovering South Shropshire.

Room Tip: 213 has a side door with steps leading down to the shop - handy for your morning paper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Booked a Family Room which to our delight turned out to be one large twin room with a large Double room, interconnected with a hall way and large bathroom. Beautifully appointed with 2 mini bars stocking local beers, ciders and fruit juices (which is good to promote), fresh coffee and enough choice. The double room was a little stuffy as no opening window but left the bathroom window open to let air through. Pillows a little hard and 3 person to have a shower had a cold one, but then its hard to please everyone, so we were ok. Very friendly service from being shown to our room and its amenities, to the service at evening dinner.
Very accommodating to children and we were all made to feel welcome.
Evening meal in the restaurant was good and again very friendly service.
Breakfast ok, but could have done with being a little bit more choice of uncooked food, but nice juices and fresh bread.
Overall nice stay and excellent location for visiting Ludlow and Leominster. Would recommend for families wanting room, space for parents and children to have privacy and lovely welcoming staff.

Room Tip: Room 104 and 105 excellent, quiet and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward799, General Manager at The Clive, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. I am sorry that you found the pillows hard. We hope that you will visit again as we are replacing all pillows and mattresses!
Edward Berry
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromfield
1.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
878 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
435 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
433 reviews
3.7 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
1.7 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 47 in Ludlow
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clive

Property: The Clive
Address: Bromfield, Ludlow SY8 2JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow > Bromfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bromfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Clive 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 En-suite bedrooms situated in period outbuildings tastefully converted to provide contemporary accommodation. Bedrooms are very well equipped and some suitable for families. With an emphasis on fresh local produce the Clive Restaurant is renowned for locally sourced food, two AA Rosettes and entries in the Good Food and Michelin Guide. The Bar offers less formal dining and lighter menu. Located in Bromfield just 2 miles north of Ludlow with ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clive Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Bromfield
The Clive Ludlow/Bromfield, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing