We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable base near Ludlow”
Review of The Clive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clive
Ranked #1 of 1 Bromfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We chose The Clive for our first visit to Ludlow and the area because of the attractive 'chintz free' rooms.
As other reviewers have commented, the rooms are right next to the Food Centre which is a nice place for a mooch about.
Unfortuntely, when we stayed there - in the summer - it was extremely wet and so the scenic walk into Ludlow didn't really appeal. As a result, we were limited to tiny Bromfield for the evening which wasn't our Plan A. The Clive restaurant were good about accommodating us even though they were fully booked for a wedding and we enjoyed a good, well presented meal.
Breakfast was pretty good although the timing was a bit haphazard because I think the staff were stretched the weekend we stayed.
Initially, we were shown to a room which opened directly on to the car park which wasn't great but we were offered an alternative, twin room up in the eaves which was much more like the images on the website and really charming.
I think it you are after a restaurant with rooms then this fits the bill but if you want to hang out in Ludlow in the evening, or if you usually make use of the communal areas when staying in a hotel then maybe this isn't the best option.

Room Tip: Don't assume that all the rooms are on the courtyard illustrated on the website and if necessary...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fussyvegetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for The Clive
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 506 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed at The Clive for a family 40th. Behind the rather classic exterior lurks a rather utilitarian interior that could do with a bit of softening. There's not enough in the way of comfy sofas etc to fully relax but there are upsides. The bedrooms are spacious and beds comfortable. Could have done without the plastic under sheet however! That was soon removed. The high points of The Clive are the staff who all seem super friendly and efficient and the food. As befits somewhere close to Ludlow, the food was excellent. Quick service, great presentation and most importantly, really tasty. And a Brucey bonus for those who like fresh produce is the Ludlow Food Centre next door. All in all, a good place to stay and reasonable too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westofcenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by a local business. The didning room is very smart and contemporary, with welcoming staff. There was good ale available, service was quick and courteous. The food was locally sourced, excellent and well presented. there is a Food Centre next door.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COSTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We really enjoyed staying and eating at The Clive for a pre-Christmas meeting with friends.

The room we had was large, spotless and very comfortable; the main menu was intelligently crafted and leaned towards good, local, seasonal produce; the cooking and presentation was exemplary; the service very pleasant and competent; and the overall value for money - well very good indeed.

The Clive is out of Ludlow by a good 3 miles but is adjacent to the popular Ludlow Food Centre where we went on the Sunday after our stay. The Clive is by a main road but we didn’t find it at all noisy as it is well set back and the rooms are in an enclosed courtyard area. It was a cold night outside, but despite our room being very large it was comfortably warm and cosy too.

Spending time in the town is a must on any visit, but The Clive is perfect as a restaurant with rooms where you can relax with friends, prepare leisurely for the evening in a nice room and bathroom, have a fab dinner and drinks from an affordable wine list, and don’t worry about paying up till the morning! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Clive is a little way outside of Ludlow, just off the A49, next to the Food Centre. The good thing about the Clive is that in busy times in Ludlow, a room can very nearly always be found here at the last minute.
Although new, my room had beams, and was tasteful. Crisp cotton bedlinen. Lovely bathroom. It was clean and comfortable, quiet. Prices-£90 for a single. £120 for a double.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed here, separated by 5 or so years. The rooms remain very pleasant, well-furnished and quiet. What was truly exceptional was the quality of the food (and reasonably priced). All six of us were very pleased with our choices. The meal was elegantly presented, but more important to me was the careful attention to detail in all the courses. Don't be put off by the location, it's not inconvenient - but watch out for the limited Ludlow taxi service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night as we were going to the Ludlow Medevil Christmas Fayre. Accommodation was clean and comfortable, even though we were really hot all night, took warm PJ"s after previous reviews about the rooms being cold, ours definitely wasn't cold, although cosy we did have to open the velum windows in the night. We booked a meal in the restaurant which was lovely, well recommended and the the wine was reasonable to. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the weather was awful when we arrived, so it was nice to see some friendly faces. Breakfast was good, cooked to order and really tasty. I would definitely recommend the Clive to eat and stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromfield
1.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
454 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
457 reviews
3.7 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
1.7 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 49 in Ludlow
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clive

Address: Bromfield, Ludlow SY8 2JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow > Bromfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bromfield
Price Range: $147 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Clive 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 En-suite bedrooms situated in period outbuildings tastefully converted to provide contemporary accommodation. Bedrooms are very well equipped and some suitable for families. With an emphasis on fresh local produce the Clive Restaurant is renowned for locally sourced food, two AA Rosettes and entries in the Good Food and Michelin Guide. The Bar offers less formal dining and lighter menu. Located in Bromfield just 2 miles north of Ludlow with ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clive Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Bromfield
The Clive Ludlow/Bromfield, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing