We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely room and fabulous food”
Review of The Clive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clive
Ranked #1 of 1 Bromfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely room and fabulous food”
Reviewed January 18, 2008

The Clive was recommended to me by a friend and I was really pleased that I listened to him. The room in the barn conversion was lovely - amazingly spacious and with a lovely bathroom - which had a powerful shower above the bath. If I have to gripe about anything then it would be that the large TV on the desk/dressing table area takes up a lot of space which was a problem when I was trying to use my laptop and have numerous files out at the same time. (A nice sleek flat screen on the wall above would be far cooler!). However, all is forgiven as there was free wireless connection. Although the place is really convenient for the main A49 road there was no traffic noise that I could hear.
And then the restaurant ....the food was absolutely fabulous - really, really good. I would recommend the venison with parsnip chunky chips to anyone! Restaurant staff were friendly and pleasant - and attentive without being a pain.
Next door to the site (across the car park) is the Ludlow Food Centre which is well worth a visit for any foodie wanting to stock up on good ingredients.

  • Liked — the room and the free wireless connection - Oh! and the food
  • Disliked — television taking up too much room on desk space
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Yblodyntatws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    158
    62
    24
    6
See reviews for
82
245
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2007

I have stayed there three times in three seperate rooms and they all superb. Nice bathroom fully tiled with shower and bath. Telephone in the room. Breakfast is very nice and cooked to order. Evening meals are superb as well. The Clive is not located inside Ludlow itself but about 3 miles away. Staff are always really helpful and friendly.

One minor problem was that the wireless broadband signal was patchy at best and it not explained well that they offer it.

  • Liked — restaurant and staff
  • Disliked — lack of internet
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tomg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2007

We had one night here, and it was very pleasant. The room was away from the busy road, and was obviously newly refurbished in a modern way, lovely bathroom, however the hardwood floor had not been swept. Bed was comfy, but light came in through the blinds. In fact, the whole room ambience would be better for curtains at the windows.
Food was delicious, and friendly staff. Recommend the smoked Gressingham duck!
Missed a sitting area to relax in.Nice walk over the road and through the forest.

  • Liked — food and bathroom
  • Disliked — ambience
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazza60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

We stayed in the Clive for one night on a trip further North and I do agree with all the reviews generally - it is good value for money, the rooms are very stylish and large with lovely beams, great bathrooms and very new and clean. We also enjoyed dinner at the restaurant which was handy and generally very good and of a high standard and the breakfast was lovely the next morning.

However despite this, my partner and I got a very poor nights sleep since we found the beds and pillows very hard and there were very bright spotlights outside the accomodation block which stayed on quite late and the blinds in the room allowed most of the light through. I think these are things which could be rectified and if so we might return one day. Obviously I also appreciate that bed firmness etc is a very personal thing and others (as appear to be the case from other reviews) may not have a problem with these things.

Location wise, we were surprised to find it located off a fairly major road although as the accomodation is at the back of the hotel the noise was not an issue. Liked our visit to the food centre nearby too.

  • Liked — modern look, food and value for money
  • Disliked — hard beds!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LyCx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Spent one night here, should have been longer. Will be next time. Beautiful large room in the Barn. Very comfortable. Lovely dinner. Excellent value for money all round

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulianandGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2007

I can only echo all the good points mentioned by previous reviewers. The rooms in the barn conversion are spacious and stylish and a real bonus - the whole place is non smoking.
Staying for a weekend we ate three nights running and the food was superb. One small gripe was having two menues - the bar menu (available in the bar only) and the restaurant menu (available in the bar and restaurant). As we had a fussy eater in our group we had to sit in the bar each night so they could have a snack while the rest of us ate off the restaurant menu, however it became clear that other guests were eating off the bar menu in the restaurant. On querying I was told this was not allowed, but it was clearly happening. A very minor point but it would have been nice to have been consistent on this.
Everything else could not be faulted. Rooms are heated with underfloor heating which could not be altered, so I would think in the middle of summier might be quite oppresive, but windows opened.
Overall a very enjoyable stay in a beautiful part of the countryside - we have planned our return trip already.

  • Liked — Spacious, stylish rooms
  • Disliked — Underfloor heating which you weren't able to regulate
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

We stayed here last week and had a wonderful room which was an ultra modern barn conversion. The bathroom was superb and we had a large seating area! The meal was first class, I had an excellent rack of lamb on cous cous which i'd highly recommend. the staff and service was faultless as was our delicious breakfast. We'd definatley stay here again.

  • Liked — The high quality of the hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnyLol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromfield
1.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.9 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 47 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#8 of 47 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clive

Property: The Clive
Address: Bromfield, Ludlow SY8 2JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow > Bromfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bromfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Clive 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 En-suite bedrooms situated in period outbuildings tastefully converted to provide contemporary accommodation. Bedrooms are very well equipped and some suitable for families. With an emphasis on fresh local produce the Clive Restaurant is renowned for locally sourced food, two AA Rosettes and entries in the Good Food and Michelin Guide. The Bar offers less formal dining and lighter menu. Located in Bromfield just 2 miles north of Ludlow with ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clive Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Bromfield
The Clive Ludlow/Bromfield, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing