We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place in town but okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Katse Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Katse Lodge
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The only place in town but okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel has several pieces to it - new rooms; old "flats" and a house or two I am told.

Built on top of a hill with amazing views of the Katse Dam it is the only place to stay in the village

It was origianllly the construction camp but ahs been looked after and added to.

Friendly staff and a fair plate of food and a wonderful big fireplace in the lounge for cold winter nights

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Alan

Thank you for your honest review of the Katse Lodge. We appreciate your kind words and agree with your statement about the fireplace. We do hope you will visit us again soon.

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Katse Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    34
    42
    17
    10
See reviews for
20
51
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Food was average, service is good, location is excellent
Drinks are quite expensive
The views are fantastic, Access to the Dam wall is only possibly with the day Tours,that was a bummer for us. The area is secure and clean.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with 4 men as we did, be sure to specify this so as to not get a double bed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikie692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Katse Lodge. We appreciate your kind words and will take some of the points you mentions for consideration. We thank you further for your suggestion when booking a stay with us-We will always accommodate groups and alter the rooms accordingly. We hope you will visit us again.

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Katse Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Knowing it was rated as only a three star hotel we were not expecting a lot but we were still disappointed.

Our room was comfortable for one night but it was sparsely furnished and the furniture old and tired. The fitted base sheet to the bed was torn but the linen seemed clean.

Long corridors with old linoleum flooring gave the feel of a school hostel rather than a hotel. There were swing doors just outside our room which did not close quietly or evenly so we were awake along with the first guest who was up and around.

The bar looks into the car park so not a place for a sundowner whilst admiring the view. A shabby stained carpet and ancient furniture didn't give the bar much of a homely feel. The bar staff were great however.

The Dinner buffet at R190 per person is steep but we opted for the al la carte menu and the food was great. The dining room is also shabby and worn.

Not having an option other than the breakfast buffet, which is R120 per person, we felt a little cheated as it was meagre for the fee charged with no sign of filter coffee but a large variety of teas were available.

All in all it wasn't a bad night's stopover but we won't be rushing back unless Orion gives this place a bit of a makeover.

If you do visit Katse, do yourself a favour and put aside some time to visit the botanical gardens. There are 17 hectares of beautiful indigenous plants as well as fantastic views of the dam.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balerno0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of Katse Lodge. Thank you for your kind words about the staff and the food -your compliments will be passed on to the applicable staff we also thank you for your suggestions about visitors viewing the Dam and Botanical Gardens. We are currently looking at upgrading the Lodge and hope to move forward on renovations shortly .We value your patronage and hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Katse Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
432 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Katse is quite a long (and windy) drive - along some beautiful scenery - so we decided to stay over.

We arrived around 3pm but the staff were very friendly when we asked if we could still have lunch (answer yes) and could we move a table outside to enjoy the sun and more surprisingly, no wind! (answer also yes).

The rooms themselves are a reasonable size and have a brand new large flat screen t.v.. However, that's where the modernisation has stopped - and the rooms look pretty tired albeit they were clean. The bed for instance could do with a new mattress (very lumpy) and the door lock had been punched out and replaced very badly and the bathrooms are very dated, but there is a very good supply of hot water for the shower (which is over the bath - so not great if you've got limited movement)

The public areas still look pretty tidy and dinner was unremarkable (sorry, it was two weeks ago now and I can't recall!) .. the bar service was very good and breakfast was a nice range of buffet food

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to here you enjoyed your visit to Lesotho and the beautiful scenery. We are currently renovating some of the rooms and hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Katse Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here on Christmas Eve. The first room we had when we got there had an issue with the shower, however the staff were very quick to move us to a new room once we notified them.

The room itself was a little dated and hostel-like, the sink was a bit stained and maintenance could be improved. Cookies, tea, coffee etc all available and a large television too.

The views from our room and from the dining room were superb, looking out across the reservoir.

We ate in the evening at the hotel, reasonably priced and decent food. The breakfast was really good with a large range of things to choose from (buffet style) including meats, cheese, cereals, cooked, pancakes, cakes, pastries etc.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie-and-Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Ollie and Jess

Thank you for your honest review and bringing some valid points to our attention which we will be dealing with shortly. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we cannot wait to have you and your partner at the lodge again.

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Katse Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
288 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were basic and the sink in the bathroom in our room was almost falling off the wall. On the other hand the staff were friendly and the dinner was reasonable. Could do with some more work to make it appear slightly less hospital like!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Grumpybrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your kind words on the dinner and staff. The good news is that a comprehensive renovation plan has just been approved for the lodge and we hope to see you back again soon to witness this project.

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Katse Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

With a stunning view on the Katse dam, the Lodge offers great comfort, lovely food, and a perfect and smiling service: this is a place to go and rest, enjoying the peace of the mountains amidst a very friendly people. The road from Leribe to Katse bridge and further, to Katse dam offers scenic landcapes. A beautiful trip.

Room Tip: The flats are better than the rooms in the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanfrancois_barral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, the lovely food and the service you received. We will pass your kinds words to our all our staff members.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warmest Regards
The Katse Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bokong
0.0 mi away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 9 in Maseru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 28 in Maseru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phomolo Guest House & Self Catering
0.0 mi away
Boikhethelo Guest House
Boikhethelo Guest House
#1 of 1 in Mokhotlong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katse Lodge

Property: Katse Lodge
Address: Katse Village, Bokong 333, Lesotho (Formerly Orion Katse Lodge)
Location: Lesotho > Thaba-Tseka District > Bokong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bokong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Katse Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katse Lodge is perfectly positioned atop a saddle, offering incredible panoramic views of the famous Katse Dam, with its surrounding mountains, rocky crags, sparse vegetation and landlocked lakes. The Lodge is an ideal starting point for travelers wishing to explore Lesotho’s mountain kingdom. For the adventurous, drive the robustly constructed alpine roads to Mohale Lodge, and experience the stark desolate landscape with traditional villages, untouched by time. Return to the lodge after a day of exploration and adventure dine in comfort, with unobstructed views of the glimmering waterscape, and then relax in front of the inviting fireplace. Katse Lodge offers genuine warmth and old-fashioned hospitality, making it one of Lesotho’s best-kept secrets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Katse Hotel Bokong
Katse Lodge Lesotho/Bokong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing