We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay here again.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slumber Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Slumber Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in New Minas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would not stay here again.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Upon checking in the lady with the reddish hair was not very welcoming..first impressions are everything..and hers was one to be desired. We were left with no directions to find anything, and no information on anything your INN had to offer...once we got to the room it was nice. Expect for the pubic hair (sorry to be so real) in the bathroom...there was a drinking fest going on in the next room and he kept slamming his door which rattled our bed...the walls are paper thin. At 630 his alarm went off and then we enjoyed the lovely sound of him urinating first thing in the morning...in the morning the water temp was too hot even set cooler and burned me at one point...breakfast however was cute and was well enjoyed..and staff on the desk the next day were more friendly then when checking in...so if your looking for quite ask to be around no one...and I guess you'll be fine..as for the ants we hear so much about, guess its too early in the season..

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliceinwonderland30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annieweedo, Manager at Slumber Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Guest: Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay! There is not much one can do about the structural nature of the building. Upon occasion and particularly if one is a light sleeper, conversations or movements can be heard from the room next door. 90% of our clientele are contractors and awaken early, as early as 3:30 am onwards. Alarm clocks will sound or our automated wake up system will start at that time. Again, we would like to suggest that if you are a light sleeper to advise us of this when you make your reservation and we will certainly do our best to try and locate you to a quieter area of the hotel. Sometimes it is not always possible to do this depending upon how busy we are. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness we try to deliver! We feel this is partially why we are so busy yearround. And, the reason why our property has been nominated by customers in the past for a variety of business awards! I recognize that we are all human and sometimes something can be overlooked. Should any of our guests feel their room is not clean, this should be reported to the manager so that quick action can be taken to resolve the issue. As far as the greeting upon arrival, I'm not sure what to say other than to offer our most sincere apologies! All our front-line staff are trained to greet guests in a friendly polite manner and to spend a few minutes chatting about the day! During that time, they are to advise guests of the breakfast time and where breakfast will be set up as well as where to access our complimentary coffee bar. I will certainly remind all our team members of this very important dialogue. Where I spend many hours on site, I do h ear them regularly advising guests of our services so I feel this was an exception rather than the norm. In closing, I would sincerely like to thank you for sharing your experience. It is through customer feeback that we all learn to do better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    25
    22
    12
    14
See reviews for
23
26
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Minas, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here for almost 2 months while our house was being repaired via insurance. Love this place. All 6 of us eneded up wih the flu and were confined to 2 rooms. The maids were awsome and very helpfull. The kitchen upstairs was great.Other then a little walk it was just like being at home. My little girls 6 &8 made cookies one day for the staff and they loved it!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cubacrazy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annieweedo, Manager at Slumber Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Guest: So nice to hear from you! The type of experience you had at the Slumber Inn recently is exactly the type of experience we strive to give all our guests! We want our guests to feel "at home". Many of our guests come from other parts of the Maritimes, Upper/Western Canada and are here working for long periods of time! They are missing their loved ones for sure! We always try to make time for everyone no matter how hectic our day has been! I am truly sorry I missed the cookies!! I hear they were fantastic! Hats off to the two young chefs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and was very happy. Hotel is close to shopping and food as well as very close to the highway.
Staff was very nice and helpful.
The hotel was clean, not spotless, but clean however i felt very comfortable there.
Our room was on the first floor and the hallway stunk really bad of cigarette smoke. However our room did not smell bad at all so overall I was happy just think they should do something about the smoke smell in the hall.
Our room was a good size, VERY comfy bed and had a fridge and microwave.
Only 88$ a night cant go wrong

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coady90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Myself and 2 friends in our late twenties recently stayed at the Slumber Inn in New Minas for a wedding nearby. When we arrived the front desk staff were quite rude and unfriendly. Now there were other guests from the wedding staying at this hotel who found the front desk staff "delightful". They were, however ranging in age from middle-aged to seniors.... So, perhaps they are suspicious of younger people?? I did however find that the room was extremely clean and I really appreciated the fridge with small freezer and the microwave.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freddynurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annieweedo, Manager at Slumber Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Guest: Thank you for the feedback on your most recent stay! I must say that I am somewhat puzzled as I was on duty and frequented the desk often chatting with customers. At any point in time, I did not hear the staff addressing guests in a manner that was not acceptable but that doesn't mean it did not happen. And, you did point out that other wedding guests did find our team quiet friendly and courteous. I will remind our front line team how important it is to be aware of body language, tone of voice, etc as this can often be misinterpreted! I note your comment on our clean rooms! Cleanliness is of high priority at the Slumber Inn! We are not a 4 or 5 star hotel. However, we do work very hard to maintain the building with routine maintenance and our houskeeping department is second to none when it comes to achieving our standards of cleanliness! Thank you for choosing the Slumber Inn - New Minas and hope that you will return when your travels bring you back to the Annapolis Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Ok, we decided to stay here for a little weekend getaway out of the city. We arrived in our room, only to find it INFESTED with ANTS!!!! Like all over the floor, desk, bed, everything! I was so disgusted. I went to the front desk and was told, "Well that's typical for the valley."
Is that some kind of excuse?
Then, we were told that was the only room left and that there were no rooms available. To boot, there was a sporting event in town and every room in New Minas was booked. So, here we are, in New Minas, sitting in the lobby of the Slumber inn, trying to find somewhere else to stay using our cell phones (long distance) so we don't have to drive all the way back home at 9pm at night (after just driving there).
We tried for 2 hours to find a place to stay. Around midnight, the clerk offered a room to us after someone had not shown up. Perfect! However, our night was completely ruined sitting in the lobby with no where to go.
Then, upon checkout, they expected us to pay full price for that first night...are u kidding me? She gave me attitude as well. I got 10% discount off the room after arguing with her, and convienently the manager was 'not in'.
Avoid this place

Room Tip: Summer time travellers - expect ants according the the lady at the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annieweedo, Manager at Slumber Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear JR: Thank you for your comments. First let me say that we were very aware of our "ant" problem back in August 2011! We contract the services of Braemar Pest Control who start with a spray program in late March and continue to late October. Braemar makes a point of visiting us 2 -3 times every week during this time period because of this ongoing battle with ants. We couple this effort with our own program as well which is carried out by our own maintenance team. We also consult with the Kentville Agriculture Centre and Dept. of Natural Resources. We are sincerely and genuinely concerned which is why we put a lot of effort into controlling this problem. However, one must consider the location of the hotel itself which is completely surrounded by the farming community. The soil in itself is a large attraction to ants but when you add natural fertilizer to the land this compounds the ants. We are not trying to hide the problem as we keep a letter posted on the front desk regarding the ant situation for all to see. As well, this same letter is contained within the guest services directory in each and every room. Please be assured we are doing everything possible to rid and/or minimize this frustrating issue. We are usually very busy not only throughout the week but on the weekends from May to December! Please note, off season can also be extremely busy as well depending on what commercial projects are happening within a certain radius of the hotel. It is not uncommon for us to be sold out several nights in a row as well as weekends. From your comments, I believe that our front line team could have been more helpful in locating another option for you by contacting Check Ins Nova Scotia, a toll free reservation system for the Province of Nova Scotia. They have a good "handle" of what inventory is available in each region of the province. I will definately remind the team of this and encourage them to use it as we have always done! Again, thank you for your comments! I would like to suggest that if you have a problem with a particular hotel property in the future, your comments are needed almost immediately so that we can follow up with staff while the issue is fresh in everyone's minds. Four months after-the-fact is a long time lapse. Most hoteliers want to know if there is a problem immeidately so that corrective action can be taken instantly. Thank you for taking the time to comment as customer feedback is a critical step to improvment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Minas hotels

Riverview, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Slumber Inn in New Minas. The rooms are a great size, very clean and equiped with all that one needs. The Slumber Inn is well located with easy access to the New Minas and Kentville area. The staff are very friendly and do a great job! The beds are more than comfortable for a great nights sleep.The complimentary continental breakfast gives me the start I need for my day. I definately recommend the Slumber Inn!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelAP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annieweedo, Manager at Slumber Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear MichaelAP:

Thanks for your comments! So glad you had a great sleep and you found our beds comfortable. We pride ourselves on the quality of the box spring and mattress sets we put in our guest rooms. They are all from Simmons Canada which have a very good reputation for their quality products. We strive very hard to maintain a high level of cleanliness in our property. Where Limited Service Hotels do not have optional features such as swimming pools, dining rooms, games area, etc.; it is very important that we try to deliver the best possible accommodation product we can! We hope that you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

I recently stayed at the Slumber Inn, New Minas. It doesn’t have all the amenities of a full service hotel but they are very very clean and their beds are so comfortable! The housekeeping staff are wonderful and do a fantastic job! We forgot to bring a corkscrew and the housekeeper overheard our conversation and said she could get one for us. She left and was back instantly with a corkscrew and wine glasses! If you are looking for a friendly, super clean place to stay, I highly recommend the Slumber Inn!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annieweedo, Manager at Slumber Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments! We try very hard to think of the little things that are important to our guests such as having a corkscrew on hand when needed. Since we are a Limited Service hotel, the attention to detail is very important! We hope that you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Minas
3.5 mi away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
23.4 mi away
Aurora Inn
Aurora Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.9 mi away
Greensboro Inn
Greensboro Inn
#1 of 2 in New Minas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Super 8 Windsor NS
Super 8 Windsor NS
#1 of 2 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
5.2 mi away
Victoria's Historic Inn
Victoria's Historic Inn
#5 of 10 in Wolfville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
9.2 mi away
Beach Breeze Motel
Beach Breeze Motel
#1 of 1 in Grand Pre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slumber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slumber Inn

Property: Slumber Inn
Address: 5534 Prospect Rd, New Minas, Kentville, Nova Scotia B4N 3K8, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Kentville > New Minas
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in New Minas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Slumber Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slumber Inn situated in New Minas, Nova Scotia, has the perfect, affordable hotel room for you and your family. Slumber Inn offers you a warm, inviting atmosphere, where you'll feel welcome the moment you arrive. You'll love the relaxing feel and our friendly personal service during your next family getaway, weekend escape or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Slumber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slumber Hotel New Minas
Slumber Inn New Minas, Nova Scotia - Kentville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing